Google+

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 review

It Boots Up
AT A GLANCE
  • Hogwarts Castle
  • Turning the game off
  • Getting your money back
  • Crappy Third-person shooter mechanics
  • Crappy Voice acting
  • Crappy game

With the final installment of the much lauded Harry Potter series now in theaters, gamers are again treated to another licensed game. Another unreasonably awful, obnoxiously bad game. EA Bright Light seems to have truly outdone itself this time. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 is a soulless monstrosity that could only have been birthed from the darkest of incantations.

Gameplay-wise, our review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 basically covers it: “Deathly Hallows is more or less an amateur-hour Harry Potter mod for Gears of War.” It didn’t work then and it sure as hell doesn’t work now. You spend the majority of your time squatting behind cover firing off spells at the same three Death Eater character models copy-pasted to infinity. Once again, the spells you use aren’t really spells at all; they’re guns in disguise. Stupefy is your pistol, Expulso is a machine gun, Confringo is a homing missile, etc. Both the friendly and enemy NPCs still display subhuman intellect (both Ron and Hermione will wander aimlessly around the battlefield doing absolutely nothing while the 14 Death Eaters you’re up against will target you and only you) and the game’s miserable auto-lock feature makes it impossible to hit a moving target.

One of the most awkward shortcomings of this game is just how terribly the story is portrayed. You would think that this is one aspect that Deathly Hallows 2 would get right considering it’s a f%&$ing direct adaptation of the movie, but you would be underestimating just how crappy this game is. Unless you’ve read the books or seen the film, you’ll be hard-pressed to understand just what the hell is going on. The game jumps from one cutscene to the next without any sort of narrative cohesion. One minute, you’ll be battling against Snape as Harry; the next, you’ll be defending the bridge into Hogwarts as Professor McGonagall single-handedly. Why’s she there by herself? Where’s everybody else? Why can’t she use different spells from the teenagers she’s been teaching for nearly a decade? Who cares? Likewise, the voice work is lackluster at best. The majority of the voice actors come across as overzealous Harry Potter fans attempting terrible English accents.


Above: “Stupid! Err....Stupefy!”

While the PS3 version still supports Move, the 360’s Kinect compatibility is gone. The shitty stealth sections from Part 1 have also been removed; however, that just means the entire game is played as a confused, half-baked third-person shooter with absolutely nothing to break up the pacing. There’s no added co-op, minigames or anything. There is the addition of a Challenge Mode that’s unlocked by finding hidden collectibles throughout each stage, but each “challenge” is simply a time-trial which tracks player speed runs through each level with online leaderboards.

The total run time of Deathly Hallows Part 2 can last anywhere between four to six hours. We took about five hours only because we ended up taking a nap in the middle of our playthrough. Seriously. We literally fell unconscious during one of the loading screens because we were so bored.


Above: Finally you can play as Mrs. Weasley

The only thing that this travesty gets right is the look of Hogwarts Castle, but that’s not enough. Haunting stone archways and nifty rotating staircases don’t make up for just how lazy this game is. With its tedious gameplay and laughable presentation, playing through Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 is more painful than taking a Cruciatus Curse fired directly from You-Know-Who. This is the absolute nadir of the series. Harry Potter has finally devolved into a total cash-in and we can’t score it low enough. Honestly, if you’re a fan of the movies, avoid this and just go to the theater. Don’t spoil the end for yourself with this half-baked mess.

Jul 22, 2011

More Info

Release date: Jul 12 2011 - PC, PS3, Wii, DS (US)
Jul 12 2011 - PC, PS3, Wii, DS (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3, Wii, DS
Genre: Adventure
Franchise: Harry Potter
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Fantasy Violence

We Recommend By ZergNet

45 comments

  • pottyaboutpotter1 - August 10, 2011 5:50 p.m.

    @RandomIdoit People mean an RPG like Oblivion or Fallout not like Dragon Age.
  • pottyaboutpotter1 - August 9, 2011 4:49 p.m.

    Uhhh, Have you even played this game GR? I have it and you do not fight Snape as Harry anywhere in the game. You fight him as McGonagall. And there is two whole levels between the SNape boss and the bridge battle. I played this game and enjoyed it. It's worth at least a six. Don't post a bad review of a game you haven't even played GR.
  • rockbottom - August 1, 2011 4:26 p.m.

    Occulous repairo! Strange, my wand must be broke cos this still looks like shit.
  • alphafour - July 25, 2011 2:49 p.m.

    lol @ "You'll love : getting your money back"
  • philipshaw - July 24, 2011 5:40 p.m.

    Where is the FAP for this game
  • Yeager1122 - July 24, 2011 2:29 p.m.

    Wow a 1 dont even remeber seeing one of these you think this being the last game they might have tried a little harder.
  • Axcleblade - July 24, 2011 2:28 a.m.

    Fr1st!
  • RandomIdoit - July 24, 2011 1:18 a.m.

    You guys said it wasn't even "deserving" of a 1, so why not have a 0:Dead? to all of you demanding an FAP, do you really feel the need to torture these poor people? What have they ever done to you to deserve THAT horrible fate? although I like the idea of character customization, I don't think a Harry Potter RPG would work out, after all, you would ALWAYS have a full team of basically mages and that will never be balanced. BTW I do not like Harry Potter at all, I just wanted to read another 1 review.
  • SolarPoweredShitMachine - July 23, 2011 9:40 p.m.

    Wow. Rereleases of original GameBoy games, being judged on their merit today, are getting better scores.
  • santaclouse37 - July 23, 2011 8:55 p.m.

    This review made for a fantastic read! Also, if you can't score it low enough, how come it didn't receive a zero (which was recently confirmed as an official number in the gdar scoring system on a recent talkradar)?
  • ObliqueZombie - July 23, 2011 7:08 p.m.

    I'm a huge fan of the series, but damn... I almost want to see if it's a justifiable one or not, but I canNOT bring myself to pay money for this. Move tie-in? A 1/10? Dumbing down Harry Potter into a third person shooter? I think I'd rather give my money to a con artist selling penis pills than to this.
  • Plan10FromOuterSpace - July 23, 2011 5:39 p.m.

    Wow, lowest score ive seen from GamesRadar so far, the game does sound fucking awful though...
  • Cleanser247 - July 23, 2011 4:25 p.m.

    Yes GamesRadar, I too would love a FAP of this game!
  • Clovin64 - July 23, 2011 1:10 p.m.

    Should've gotten a Zero. That would have been hilarious. Also yes, please FAP this!
  • RizqIbnLaALtair - July 23, 2011 11:51 a.m.

    why the hell did EAgames destroy this brilliant game
  • Crabhand - July 23, 2011 7:21 a.m.

    Awesome score. Given the poor feedback from Part 1 I'm hardly surprised it got worse.
  • JSayonara - July 23, 2011 6:47 a.m.

    Yep, total shit. It's a shame, the earlier games were pretty entertaining. I quite enjoyed wandering around the Potter universe.
  • archnite - July 23, 2011 5:09 a.m.

    so not as good as Halo Reach?
  • RonnyLive19881 - July 23, 2011 5:06 a.m.

    WTF, the movie was fantastic and the game was a nice detour from your typical shoot monster/reload/repeat games. It defiantly wasn't "good" by any means it was strictly average but it defiantly wasn't a 1, Deathly Hallows part 1 was a "2" imo(I give part 2 a solid 6 it improved on 1 in every way! Much more action, no gay side quests and it was better looking... but it was just way to frakin short... yall said 4 to 6 hours... did you even play it, I took my sweet time and beat it in just over 2 and a half hours, that is crazy short Lmao). I'm guessing the review is a hater, he went to see the last movie and it made him cry(hell I did but I'm a huge fan, Alan Rickman and Danial both played their parts well near the end) so he lashed out on the game for making him feel human...
  • thelazymackenzie - November 26, 2011 5:44 p.m.

    Your comment made me shit myself. How could you even defend this?

Showing 1-20 of 45 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.