Google+

Gone Home review

Back to Article

45 comments

  • pl4y4h - August 15, 2013 8:47 p.m.

    This review sure is grinding some gears for some reason
  • BladedFalcon - August 16, 2013 7:29 a.m.

    Because people are apparently unable to comprehend that lenght =/= quality.
  • talleyXIV - August 16, 2013 11:29 a.m.

    I feel like there is a huge double standard in the industry right now. For some reason indie games are immune to any criticism of their amount of content and length, but AAA games are constantly judged by this. Pikmin 3 just came out and one of the biggest topics surrounding it was it's playtime. The game could easily be totally completed in around 10-15 hours but also had co-op modes and multiplayer. Yet reviewers still used this as their biggest gripe and consequently the game's score was much lower than it could have been. It just doesn't make sense to me why reviewers can completely ignore the fact that the game is 2 hours long for $15 but a AAA game with 20 hours of gameplay for $60 is not enough, especially since most AAA games have a good amount of replay value and this apparently does not. You have to use this as a standard for everything or for nothing because saying a 2 hour game is worth the money and a 20 hour one is not just doesn't make any sense.
  • BladedFalcon - August 16, 2013 1:03 p.m.

    You're just butthurt about any criticism concerning Pikmin, let's face it :P With that out of the way though, I agree when reviewers complain about the short length of a game IF the content that's there is consistently good and doesn't feel like it's padded out. And even though I haven't played it, I'll agree that complaining that pikmin is "too short" at 15 hours is ridiculous. Because as I've stated before, games like Portal 2 and Vanquish were both under 8 hours in length, but I feel they are all the fucking better for it. So what I'm saying is that in general, both reviewers and users should stop bitching about a game's length, and instead judge the whole package on their own merits. There are a ton of games that don't need, or even shouldn't be 20+ hours long.
  • awesomesauce - August 17, 2013 6:29 p.m.

    I kinda agree with what you're saying that some games that don't need to last so long, but i also see Talley's point, if this game sold for $60 that would be ludicrous. I think in a review you still need to take into account last-ability for you money's worth. For example something like BulletStorm got a 5/5 and it lasted a decent amount of time but wasn't all about the story. I think the fact is how much fun will the general audience have for how much they paid. MineCraft (4.5/5) is another example it had endless replay-ability but no story and if it sold for $60 initially i don't think it would have got the start it needed to be considered as great as it is today.
  • talleyXIV - August 18, 2013 5:26 p.m.

    Yes I am a huge Pikmin fan and I'll admit that but still, far too many games get criticisms surrounding their play time and then boom, crazy indie game comes out that last 45 minutes and we all totally forgot about playtime. I think that is the one thing Portal 2 gets criticisms for and that's a little ridiculous since it's such a stellar game and to me it has a ton of replay, probably the only thing that stopped it from getting perfect scores from everyone, but did the absolutely ludicrously short play time of Gone Home stop it from getting a perfect score? One way or another, double standards have got to stop. This AAA game is short 4/5! This Indie game is short but that doesn't matter 5/5!
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - August 15, 2013 6:53 p.m.

    Having just finished this, I can without any hesitation say this is very much worth a 5/5. About two hours worth of playtime for the asking price is, with an experience like this, very much worth it. You're welcome to disagree with the review score, but try actually playing it before doing so.
  • RSQViper - August 16, 2013 7:07 a.m.

    2 hours for $15? I can't get behind that when games like Binding of Isaac and Esther are cheaper and/or have longer play time. 2 hours means you get enough to get into the game, then it's over. :/
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - August 16, 2013 7:24 a.m.

    It boils down to how you view a game. If you see it as a dollars-per-hour thing, ten yes, I mainly agree. If you're more about getting new/moving/interesting experiances from a game though, I'd say you need to play this. An aside, but do you mean Dear Esther? 'cause thats a game I enjoyed for many of the same reasons as Gone Home. If you enjoyed that, perhaps just wait for a sale for this. I'd think you'd enjoy it. As Henry mentioned on Twitter though, you want to go into it with little-to-no background.
  • RSQViper - August 16, 2013 7:34 a.m.

    Yeah, Dear Esther. It was cheaper and about the same amount of playtime. I am behind waiting for a sale (did for Esther). Since money is pretty much a 'thing' for lots of gamers, the less time you get per $, the less value a title is regardless of score/originality.
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - August 16, 2013 7:40 a.m.

    Totally here you there. I don't mind plonking down, say, someyhing less than $20 on something like this if an outlet I trust says its worth your time. I understand that for lots of people, though, thats pretty difficult to rationalize when you can pick up a Skyrim/Fallout/Crusader Kings 2 sort of thing. If you do end up grabbing it on sale sometime, I hope you like it as much as I did :)
  • winner2 - August 15, 2013 5:06 p.m.

    This is one 5/5 I will NEVER play but I'm glad it'll be enjoyable for people. It's always nice seeing a 5/5 on this site.
  • TwinHallow - August 15, 2013 4:52 p.m.

    A 5 out of 5 that sounds crazy, but i wont go and bash the review since I have not played the game. It sounds interesting I guess but to get a 5 out of 5 I should be getting some sort of Video Game Orgasm by the time I finish it.
  • Cyberninja - August 15, 2013 3:48 p.m.

    So this game got a 5 from someone who isn't even a known writer for the site, so why should I care exactly? unless you are really telling me that a no name writer can say something is better almost every other game save a few exceptions like Bioshock or Last of Us, if this isn't game of the month then the perfect score is dead to GR.
  • BladedFalcon - August 15, 2013 4:09 p.m.

    Giancarlo Saldana has written several reviews for GR, actually. He's probably a freelancer, sure, but it's rather unfair to claim he has no name or credibility whatsoever. Also, great job for being yet another person that completely misses the point of a 5/5 or 10 or 100% review. You're yet one of the millions of idiots out there that don't understand that a full score doesn't mean the game is perfect. Just that it's really good, or made a huge impact.
  • Cyberninja - August 15, 2013 5:09 p.m.

    I never stated 5 out of 5 makes a game perfect you are reading that bias into a statement I never made, I said that it makes a game better then almost everything else with few exceptions. Also if you don't recognize someone's name immediately would you trust what they say as much as someone you are a lot more familiar with especially if they are going to give something the highest possible honor?
  • BladedFalcon - August 15, 2013 5:54 p.m.

    If it's on a site I generally trust? yes, because I would expect any and all reviewers to hold some kind of similar standard. And again, if you don't recognize Saldana's name, then it's your fault for not paying enough attention, specially since this is straight up his area, look a little bit around the site, and you'd know he reviews mostly Indie or PC games.
  • GR_TomMagrino - August 15, 2013 4:09 p.m.

    So first of all, Giancarlo has written a dozen or more reviews for GamesRadar. That said, we were also skeptical of it being a 5/5, and because it was short, tasked one Henry Gilbert, of hEneregy fame, to play it. He did, confirmed the score, and here we are.
  • Cyberninja - August 15, 2013 5:15 p.m.

    Ok I just checked out the review list and he has written a good number of reviews, most of which I haven't read since games covered didn't interest me or were smaller releases but fair enough I was wrong on that point and if the game is 5/5 for more then one person then I can respect that.
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - August 15, 2013 7:06 p.m.

    Henry is what did it for me, and so glad I took his advice.

Showing 21-40 of 45 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 15 2013 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PC
Genre: Adventure