Google+

Gears of War 3 review

Back to Article

89 comments

  • fadedlinevigil - September 15, 2011 9:29 a.m.

    The second line in the whole review clearly states 'The campaign is epic...'. Then the headline on the second page, citing problems with the game is called 'A Not So Epic Campaign'...? Pretty much everything on page 2 contradicts everything on page 1. Another example of the just plain sloppy, juvenile writing on this site - a glaring lack of focus and consistency.
  • PavlenkoD - September 15, 2011 9:44 a.m.

    Im afraid thats just standard writing of and expressing an opinion. Tells you the author is open and not blinded by fanboyism. Id rather have that then complete and total blind submission and the inability to see the faults in something. I prefer to take this site's more down to earth with a typical gamer over IGN any day.
  • fadedlinevigil - September 15, 2011 10:03 a.m.

    What you're 'saying' has nothing to do with what I'm pointing out. I'm saying that the author contradicted himself openly and foolishly. You're talking about opinions and expressions, which I am not.
  • g4m3rk1dd - September 15, 2011 3:58 p.m.

    "The second line in the whole review clearly states 'The campaign is epic...'. Then the headline on the second page, citing problems with the game is called 'A Not So Epic Campaign'...?" so what you are saying is that the campaign can be good but not too good? its fine the way it is :|
  • mothbanquet - September 15, 2011 10:01 a.m.

    So don't read it.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - September 15, 2011 10:44 a.m.

    Fadedlinevigil is one of our oldest and most devoted fans. He loves us far too much to ignore anything we write.
  • fadedlinevigil - September 15, 2011 11 a.m.

    It's true. Most know of my long-time love of train wrecks, reality TV and Gamesradar...I just can't look away!
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - September 15, 2011 11:12 a.m.

    Reality TV shows about train wrecks (both literal and figurative) are some of my very favorite forms of entertainment, so I consider that high praise.
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - September 15, 2011 11:13 a.m.

    Until the inevitable day they air a reality TV show about train wrecks, I'm glad we can entertain you.
  • IAmJohnGalt - September 15, 2011 12:04 p.m.

    This why I come to this sight. Perfectly used sarcasm.
  • IAmJohnGalt - September 15, 2011 12:05 p.m.

    Also apparently so I can use the wrong form of "site"
  • Hobogonigal - September 15, 2011 4:50 p.m.

    Its called creative journalism. The titles are there to show what was epic in the campaign and what wasn't as great. Then again, they could only talk about the positives if you like and give the game an 11/10. Finally, if you don't like this site why don't you stop visiting and go somewhere else instead of leaving unfounded criticisms like you do on a common basis.
  • Money - September 15, 2011 9:26 a.m.

    If I wanted a story i'd get Red Dead or even the books, but face it, when you play games like Gears you just want mindless fun with brilliant set-pieces. Can't wait for Tuesday. Also nice review, maybe a tad predictable, it made the ending a little bit underwhelming. Also Bulletstorm is better than this?!!??! I joke.
  • garnsr - September 15, 2011 9:22 a.m.

    I hope you're willing to compare Uncharted 3 to this when it comes out, though. The two top third person shooters absolutely deserve comparison. I've never liked Gears' heavy feeling, I prefer the light, athletic feeling of Uncharted, and I don't remember anyone saying a game looks better than Uncharted 2 since it came out. Hopefully both are good, but shying away from comparing two games that really need to be compared would be sad.
  • Money - September 15, 2011 9:46 a.m.

    I'm on the other side I like the heavy feeling, it never seems like my bullet actually do any damage to enemies. And I much rather face locust than _____________. (after playing the fist two UC games, I still have no idea what or who I fought.)
  • g4m3rk1dd - September 15, 2011 9:07 a.m.

    ill play through once on easy...then ill rip insane to shreds...multiple times...
  • dizzzydragon - September 15, 2011 8:55 a.m.

    Wait a minute.... are u saying this is better than HAlO REACH!?!?! lol jk, Gears FTW!
  • CaptCOMMANDO - September 15, 2011 8:50 a.m.

    This review is crap. Gears of War is the only reason I have an xbox and probably the only reason I still breath today. Screw your Halo and CoD. This is my Messiah. My savior. No more college for me. From now on its Gears online 24/7. I WILL be the best. Go to hell you Charlie Bearet.
  • TheCakeIsaPie - September 15, 2011 10:39 a.m.

    Your comment doesn't say why this review is crap, and for that reason your comment is crap. I'm pretty sure the only reason you still breathe today is that your caretaker reminds you every five seconds. "Halo" and "CoD" are good games, with aggregated scores in the 80s/90s. Calling a game your messiah is a tad hyperbolic. I think more college would be a good idea for you, considering you can't spell "breathe." If you stay awake 24 hours a day, you will die after two weeks. I won't attend your funeral. You can't be the best when you've died from sleep deprivation. *Charlie Barratt
  • ExileOnMainStreet - September 16, 2011 3:54 a.m.

    I don't think he was being serious
  • TheoneandonlyPym - September 15, 2011 12:05 p.m.

    Troll much?

Showing 41-60 of 89 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 20 2011 - Xbox 360 (US)
Sep 20 2011 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Epic Games
Franchise: Gears of War
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.