Google+

Fire Emblem: Awakening review

Excellent
Back to Article

31 comments

  • universaltofu - August 17, 2013 8:54 p.m.

    I still feel like the battle animations leave a little to be desired in terms of badassitude (I mean the crit animations on the gba still go hard), but otherwise this is my favorite FE hands down, and made for the perfect vacation game just like the gba one did for me almost a decade ago.
  • LOZ4EVAH - March 8, 2013 9:03 p.m.

    This game is gooood. . .23 hours in so far and I'm loving it. Let some characters die cuz I didn't like them haha. That's the beauty of it. . . but Chrom married Sully. Something I didn't like. Lol.
  • Redeater - January 31, 2013 12:12 p.m.

    Great. I wasn't interested in this at all until I played the demo. Now this review comes out telling me I have to get this. I'm still god only knows where in Xenogears! Between work, my social life and other hobbies....I'm going to have to learn to game in my sleep.
  • Redeater - January 31, 2013 12:48 p.m.

    Make that Xenoblade.
  • Squirrel - January 31, 2013 9:16 a.m.

    This game is garnering some stellar reviews. I must say after playing the demo I'm definitely picking up Awakening. I've never been the biggest Fire Emblem fan, but the new option to turn off perma-death is a immediate incentive for me to jump back in. Noe I have to decide, do I want a boxed copy or should I just download from the eShop so i can always have Fire Emblem with me??
  • winner2 - January 30, 2013 8:06 p.m.

    EVERYTHING is an RPG now, face it peeps. We are playing as things that are not ourselves, hence RPG. Literalism! It pained me to type that. I'm not sure if I trust myself on that one.
  • n00b - January 30, 2013 4:31 p.m.

    Oh, well, um... guess we got a problem then. So, lemme introduce myself. Name's Resetti. Mr. Resetti. On behalf of the family, I'd like to show youse... I mean show YOU, uh... Uh, show you... Aw, forget it! How's a mole supposed to remember this garbage? HUH? Let's cut to the chase. Ever hear of Animal Crossing? Yeah? Well that's where I'm from. I'm the guy who stops cheaters from cheatin'. The no-resettin' policy enforcer, ya follow? You break the rules, you gotta deal with the mole in charge here. I'm like the... how you say... conscience of Animal Crossing. And, uh, I ain't one to toot my own horn or nothin', but I'm a big deal. I'm the most popular-- What's that? You ain't got time for this? You wanna know what it is I'm doin' here? You ain't heard a word I said, that it? You got potatoes in your ears, punk? HUH? This is Super Smash somethin' or other, ain't it? Yeah? Then quit complainin'. I'm SUPPOSED to be here. I'm the star of the show, twerp! Huh? What's that? I'm in the way? Ya can't see the screen? KEEP CRYIN', PUNK! I got a little news fer ya! It don't matter if you're resettin' anything, OK? I'm gonna be poppin' up now an' again, an' you better be ready for your daily dose of mole! It ain't like this is all earthworms and mudbaths for me, pal. I'm just followin' orders. We clear? SCRAM!
  • slimjim441 - January 30, 2013 1:27 p.m.

    Intense difficulty? Not a problem. Cheesy, forced humor? Too be expected; it's still a JRPG at heart. Somewhat on the shorter side? A little disappointing, but at the same time, quite welcome. I love how long Radant Dawn's story is (around 50+ hours), but it makes replaying the game to try out different characters and build different relationships kind of a pain. And yes, I did only read the 'You'll love...' and 'You'll hate...' sections along with the big words. I'm too excited to dig into this article right now and I know I'll love it anyway. There hasn't been a FE title that I didn't love. Well, Sacred Stones was notably less than the rest, but I still beat it like 4 times.
  • BladedFalcon - January 30, 2013 3:51 p.m.

    The reviewer didn't seem to take into account the absurd amount of upcoming SpotPass and DLC support coming for the game, both in the form of extra characters and extra chapters and sidequests when it comes to the overall length of the game. Of course, I realize that being additional content, free or otherwise, probably shouldn't qualify in the review of the overall game, but I still feel it should be pointed out. At least in Japan, there seems to be a whooping total of 120 extra characters you could potentially recruit from other games, and all of them free, same with some sidequests. So that probably will extend the lifetime for a wee bit more?
  • shawksta - January 30, 2013 5:06 p.m.

    Huh, I forgot the game had DLC. Its good news when an already satisfying game is getting even more satisfying DLC, even better that its free, instead of feeling stripped.
  • BladedFalcon - January 30, 2013 6:30 p.m.

    Not ALL of it is free though, only the spot pass stuff, there's also gonna be paid DLC for extra chapters and characters.
  • shawksta - January 30, 2013 9:53 p.m.

    I heard something like "The first two weeks" or something is Free, either way, as long as it doesnt feel stripped or worse, On-Disk
  • slimjim441 - January 30, 2013 10:53 p.m.

    120 extra characters on top of the original cast? FML, dude. There'll be a lot of commingling to do. I also forgot about all that DLC, too. As long as they fit in the story fine or don't have stupid specifications like Shadow Dragon's gaiden chapters. It took me like two years to accept that it was okay for people to die for the greater good of opening more levels.
  • GoldenEagle1476 - January 30, 2013 12:38 p.m.

    Defnitely looking forward to this, it's been far too long since I've played a Fire Emblem. Or any other turn based strategy game, for that matter.
  • BladedFalcon - January 30, 2013 9:44 a.m.

    How many times- IT'S A TURN BASED STRATEGY GAME NOT AN RPG Nitpicking aside, I already knew I was getting this game, but it's always encouraging to see that the reviews back up what I already knew was going to be an amazing experience. Also, complaining about dying a lot in a FE game is like complaining that there's a lot of jumping on enemies in a core Super Mario game.
  • BladedFalcon - January 30, 2013 9:51 a.m.

    ...What the hell. This has to be the third time in the last week in which I make a post with clearly separated paragraphs, and when posted, everything is shown clustered together. What's going on? ._.
  • shawksta - January 30, 2013 10:01 a.m.

    Whoever reviewed this (Kathryn Bailey), and anyone in general can mistake this as an RPG considering the exp system, and character enhancements, especially when partnered. Besides, almost everybody and their mom is calling almost everything an RPG because of simple reasons even though their not. I also, and probably everybody else is having the paragraph problem, itll eventually get fixed.
  • Froyton - January 30, 2013 1:41 p.m.

    Genres can definitely be tricky. Castlevania SotN is called an "Action RPG" by some people even though I feel it is definitely NOT an RPG. With Fire Emblem, however, I personally think it falls under the "Tactical RPG" sub-genre just because it does have several (i.e. not just one or two) RPG elements in it. But then someone could call me out and say "but SotN has several - not just one or two - RPG elements too" and we would reach an impasse.... I dunno. Fire Emblem feels like a type of RPG to me but I can understand why others would say it isn't.
  • GR HollanderCooper - January 30, 2013 2:59 p.m.

    So, wait, Final Fantasy X, which is turn-based and no one moves, is an RPG, and Final Fantasy XIII is an RPG even though you run around tapping X to do stuff, but a game with a grid isn't? You level up, you equip items, it's turn based--this is an RPG. An SRPG, sure, but still an RPG.
  • BladedFalcon - January 30, 2013 3:45 p.m.

    I will agree that the RPG genre itself is becoming harder and harder to define as more games adopt RPG elements to other genres and gameplay styles. (As I believe you yourself pointed it out in an article.) The strategy genre, however, at least to me, tends to have very defined gameplay and feel to them in general, be it RTS or TBS. Story or narrative is seldom the big focus, and there is virtually no real exploration of a world. You have battlefields, and at most a map in which you select stages. Battles are the main focus of the experience and these tend to be pretty damn long, and last way, WAY longer than any RPG battle real time or otherwise usually lasts. Sure, you level up, you equips items. But does that automatically makes it an RPG? If so, then you might as well call Far Cry 3 an RPG as well, and not a shooter or a sandbox game >_> That, and look at the strap-line of the review, does it even say it's an SPRG?

Showing 1-20 of 31 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 04 2013 - 3DS (US)
Apr 19 2013 - 3DS (UK)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Nintendo
Franchise: Fire Emblem
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.