Google+

Far Cry 4 review

Back to Article

35 comments

  • Divine Paladin - November 14, 2014 8:12 a.m.

    So Bayonetta 2 is GotY, then, it seems. Good to see Far Cry 4 will please fans. I'm not touching it because I've been Boycotting Ubisoft since AC Revelations was announced. Seriously, I knew something like Unity's awful launch would happen the moment they confirmed annualization (since Brotherhood could've just been a quick sequel for fanservice rather than the first in annualization). Given, that means I've missed games I wanted ZombiU and Rayman Legends, but they're farther down my backlog anyway. Under, for example, Bayonetta 1+2
  • GOD - November 14, 2014 8:45 p.m.

    Nah, Dark Souls II GotY! Also despite Unity's bad launch, I have a coworker who got both new ACs and after giving up on Unity til it's patched he said he's really been enjoying Rogue.
  • Divine Paladin - November 15, 2014 12:26 a.m.

    DSII is cursed by the fact that it came out so early in the year that most people forgot about it. Had a rerelease been shown by now or a big DLC hit then I would probably agree, but somehow Bayo2 exceeded all expectations (it got a perfect GameSpot score!) and came out at the sweet spot before it's too late to be considered but not too early to be forgotten (like Infinite was last year*). But yeah, oddly enough Rogue is doing pretty well. I expected it to be hot garbage, honestly. Good to see for once last-gen gamers didn't get shafted. Still ain't touching it though. *Infinite was also just third in overall quality last year, but I believe had something as overhyped as TLoU launched that early it would've lost too, at least when faced with GTA as competition.
  • GOD - November 15, 2014 12:41 a.m.

    Welllll big DLC did hit for DSII. There was DLC once a month for the past three months and they were each really unique areas and thoroughly reminded me why it's my GotY. I'll probably get Bayonetta 2 this holiday and the only other standout to me personally would probably be Smash Bros. All the major releases have been delayed until next year so 2015 will be far more competitive with which great game stands above the rest. I'm personally dying for Bloodborne and although I haven't played the Arkham games, Knight looks to follow the same level of quality and will probably do really well unless something goes horribly wrong. The Order could be hit or miss.
  • winner2 - November 14, 2014 7:28 a.m.

    Ugh, not a single 5/5 game so far. I was hoping for at least one to be a must have.
  • Mastanvx - November 14, 2014 9:12 a.m.

    This is why I hate review scores and the people who take them literally, "Ugh 4 stars out of 5? Must be a terrible game."
  • aguering - November 14, 2014 9:29 a.m.

    Maybe its because review sites tends to give higher scores then the game actually deserves (it's often a letdown when you decide to buy a game based in a review), then people will start to naturally expect nearly perfect scores, otherwise it's just a regular game.
  • Jasp - November 14, 2014 9:57 a.m.

    Agreed why do people do this? 4 out of 5 is a very good score. It seems that the reviewers main problem was the lack of story with weak characters. Well that's most games, Its a rare game that has both compelling characters and story. with co-op and gyro copters It looks like a fun playground of destruction to me.
  • winner2 - November 14, 2014 10:54 a.m.

    You all misinterpreted what I said. I'm saying I'm disappointed that not a single game has been so irrevocably good on some level that reviewers give it a 5/5. Is farcry 4 a bad game? No, I never said it would be bad off a 4. You made the wrong assumption. Once again, just so I don't hurt your feelings : I am perfectly fine with farcry 4 being a 4/5, but I would have been MORE excited if it had gotten a 5/5. I would have said "Wow, this game probably did something really great to be a 5/5, I'm gonna check this out soon." Next time, try asking yourself "Did he mean this, or that? Maybe he meant this!" And then, after asking yourself that and if you'd like to comment on it to find out, ask politely. I'd be more than happy to explain and clear your confusion. Blindly attacking people without even bothering to clarify a potentially unclear situation is stupid, to put it simply.
  • tuomotaivainen - November 14, 2014 11:32 a.m.

    Perhaps you yourself should also look at what you type and think "Is what I'm about to say going to be taken out of context?" It goes both ways ;)
  • winner2 - November 14, 2014 11:50 a.m.

    Are you implying that it's my responsibility to plan for the easily rectifiable shortcomings of other people? That it's my job to tip toe around other peoples' bad habits on a public forum? If so, that's a pitifully poor argument. I made a statement insinuating nothing toward anyone, and other people misinterpreted it. That is objectively not my fault, other peoples' behavior is not my responsibility. So you might want to believe that it goes both ways, and that would be convenient, but in this case it doesn't. Here, it was simple negligence on the part of someone other than myself. Here, it went one way.
  • GOD - November 14, 2014 8:43 p.m.

    If it makes you feel any better, I knew exactly what you meant.
  • winner2 - November 14, 2014 11:15 p.m.

    Thank you GOD.
  • rocspin - November 14, 2014 7:06 a.m.

    Have you played Far Cry 3 recently? The story and protagonist in that were terrible too but it was still a enjoyable game
  • jsty3105 - November 14, 2014 5:57 p.m.

    I'm struggling through it as the gameplay is pretty uninspiring in the early stages. I just rescued my first friend though so maybe things will get more fun but the first few hours have felt like a drag. It doesn't help that interactions feel completely scripted too and inhabitants are lifeless. The island is a long long way from feeling alive for me.
  • rocspin - November 16, 2014 5:08 a.m.

    I know what you mean, I picked it up on sale not knowing anything about it, I played it for 2 or 3 days and got bored pretty quick and left it. Only a few months later I started playing again as I'd ran out of games to play and trust me I'm so glad I did, It's definitely worth persevering with
  • homestar99 - November 14, 2014 6:58 a.m.

    Sounds like what I expected. It's almost as if Ubisoft has a main character mad libs for creating stupid, generic protagonists.

Showing 21-35 of 35 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 18 2014 - PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Nov 20 2014 - PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Franchise: Far Cry
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.