Google+

Fallout: New Vegas super review

Excellent
Back to Article

90 comments

  • Tardiff830 - May 15, 2011 6:09 p.m.

    I picked up this game yesterday after wanting to try it for a while, and I am so glad I did.I love this game! It sometimes freezes & crashes though, but other than that this game is terrific!
  • 360dopeBOY - December 4, 2010 7:07 p.m.

    this game is the shit. the graphics are awesome. love how you can play it in so many ways. already waisted 200+ hrs of my life playing:[, lol. like every1 else says the glitchs are a bitch, but the gameplay makes up for it.
  • pots555 - December 1, 2010 11:15 p.m.

    I think New Vegas is better than F3. The atmosphere and factions are great. Plus, the Strip and the gambling bring something new to this already awesome franchise.
  • zombieslayer3344ten - November 13, 2010 11:40 p.m.

    I love Fallout: New Vegas. For some reason though... I feel like somehow in fallout 3 I knew the character better, I decided what he was like when he grew up. Although, New vegas does have more options and more personality, it built upon the karma system on fallout 3 by adding reputation, but New Vegas is absolutely amazing.
  • Amatarasu - November 9, 2010 5:54 a.m.

    I personaly like New Vegas better than fallout 3, the bright, sunny atmosphere of the Mojave is...better than the bleak brownness of the CW also, i think their just trying to pull some stuff out their ass for the "We Hate" parts. those crashes existed in Fallout 3 too, turn auto save on, it may leave you scrambeling to find proof as to why you had boone shoot that girl because it autosaved on you, but it keeps you from loosing 10 hours gameplay, witch, these crashes only happend at 6+ hours anyway.
  • 6osslife - October 31, 2010 6:20 a.m.

    i think it deserves a 9. I love the game, im not finished with it but i plan on playing over again after i do. The only things i have problems with is the glitches, and with the music. I loved the music from fallout 3. the stuff is just annoying. i just think they should have made more control over certain factions, like you should be able to take them over and run them would have made it more fun. overall i love it.
  • lilspooky - October 25, 2010 6:46 p.m.

    I'm playing on the PC, and after the first few days and patches, its running like butter on my system! Already started modding the shit out of it. i <3 Fallout!
  • str8facekilla - October 25, 2010 3:15 p.m.

    i needed a 2nd opinion for this and now i got it, thanks GR
  • VMPSaberwolf - October 25, 2010 12:12 p.m.

    I bought the PC version from Steam. Decent game, Fallout 3 is better currently but then again FO3 has had years to patch and expansions to make it better. This game also has the capability to be something great given patches and time. Overall happy with the purchase, if a bit overwhelmed with the new mechanics, ammo, and other things.
  • Billiam101 - October 25, 2010 12:31 a.m.

    I can feel the rage from the comments. (gets knocked down) Wow, the rage from the comments just hit me in the face, better stay out of this one. Just walk away before it turns into a war, just walk away... (War never changes)-FTW!
  • CandiedJester - October 25, 2010 12:01 a.m.

    @Shuuvuia Please, don't call yourself a Fallout fan if that's how you think about the games. Fallout 3 was so far removed from Fallout it shouldn't really be considered a sequel but rather a Fallout-inspired separate game. Fallout is meant to be in the desert, in the south, not in a cold northern city. How long have you been playing New Vegas? How did you not find the mojave exciting?? It's full of life! And full of FALLOUT. And full of awesome. You have to be doing it wrong. And have you even played 1 and 2? Because if you played 1 and liked it how could you NOT appreciate all that they brought back into new vegas, and all the nods to the original game?! Fallout 1 is my all time favorite game, ever. There is no way I would ever choose Fallout 3 over New Vegas when New Vegas is so much closer to the real fallout feel. And btw, Fallout 3 is NOT the culmination of everything good about Fallout. It wasn't even funny at all, while New Vegas is hilarious and brought back the goofy, which makes me love it even more. And Fallout 3 had hardly any choices, good luck "staking out your own story" in that one, your path is chosen for you. Whereas New Vegas, you really DO get to stake out your own place in the world via the faction system, and the million ways you can get to the end. There's a mind-boggling amount of choice in New Vegas, which is one of the big reasons I love the hell out of it. And I don't see how Fallout 3 has any more satisfactory leveling and experience gaining, it's pretty much the same damn thing in that way. I don't know how anyone sees anything wrong with New Vegas, at all. Aside from the bugs of course. It's a DAMN fine game, and makes so many improvements if I went back to 3 I'd feel as if I were back in the stone age.
  • JADENkOTOR - October 24, 2010 10:17 p.m.

    @Kit07 I'll go and grab a cup with you.
  • Shuuvuia - October 24, 2010 6:46 p.m.

    I like New Vegas so far. I don't think it's as good as Fallout 3, nor do I think it is better than one or two, but it is still really good. The Wasteland just isn't as exciting to me as the Capital Wasteland. While I'm probably going to get some mean looks, here is my ranking of the Fallout series: Fallout 3 > Fallout2 > Fallout > Fallout: New Vegas. Fallout 3 gets knocked around alot for being "different" from the originals, but it is, in a lot of ways, the culmination of everything that is good about Fallout. A great sense of (dark) humor, action, the satisfaction of leveling up and gaining experience, and staking out your own story in the world.
  • JosefMotley - October 24, 2010 3:45 p.m.

    wow this page is now drowning in spam. well, finally played it... and here's my verdict. i can't be arsed with a game that expects you to spend 45% of your playtime slowly "running" across an oversized map, 45% deciding what to drop from your inventory due to pointless weight system, and about 10% actually playing a game. i'd need to be on a LOT of drugs to make that in any way entertaining. didn't play it long enough to see any crashes or glitches, but that's cause after about half an hour i was so bored i decided to uninstall it and spend my time playing something that's actually fun
  • Eliath - October 24, 2010 12:45 p.m.

    @N1kc Yes, definitely. There are so many other things that I could or should be doing that when a big game like FO:NV comes out I want it to be as good as it can get so I can sit down and lose myself in it for 50 hours or so. ReCaptcha: declare ohness Oh yeah!!! (in the koolaid man's voice from Family Guy)
  • CandiedJester - October 24, 2010 8:59 a.m.

    @Jose33 I agree with everything you just said. Well put.
  • N1kc - October 24, 2010 7:31 a.m.

    For all the people who want tested games, are you willing to wait a few more months?
  • Jose33 - October 24, 2010 4:07 a.m.

    I'm only a few hours through, but damn this game is the shit. There's tons and TONS of side quests, (Fallout 3 only had about 30, while Vegas has about 80) its hilarious, the companion system is far more developed, and the main quest has loads of variations and depth. The bugs become so unnoticeable the more you become immersed that complaining about them becomes useless. DEFINITELY superior to F3.
  • kit07 - October 24, 2010 4:05 a.m.

    @brettelston i didn't mean to offend you guys, as i respect and agree with pretty much every single review you guys write up. but i haved played TES4 and FO3 and i know how much of a buggy mess those games can be (im talking ps3 here) so i can only imagine that FONV is the same if not worse. (reading from the comments alone there seems to be a bunch of issues already with it. for me, if this is such a problem then i dont believe the game should get that high of a score. with a score like that im to believe that when i pick this up and sit down with it, it should run smoothly. not crash, not freeze, nothing. but of course it will and i will swear out loud. and this is why i accused you guys. sorry i love this sight and trust ur reviews all the time, just this one i couldn't stand by. maybe sites should start doing two reviews. one right before launch and one a couple months later when patches have been put in. @thevoid your pretty cool man. coffee sometime?
  • taylornolfi - October 24, 2010 3:34 a.m.

    too bad there are glitches, won't be getting this until there is a game of the year/ updated version. I loved fallout 3 and im sad that the new developer made the same exact mistakes as the bethesda. With gamecrashing bugs. WHY

Showing 1-20 of 90 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Bethesda
Developed by: Obsidian
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Use of Drugs, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.