Google+

El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron review

Back to Article

26 comments

  • Craza - August 20, 2011 4:23 a.m.

    This is a pretty odd game, but I would like to check it out.
  • coleswanson - August 18, 2011 1:44 p.m.

    Am I the only one who sees the word "metatron" and makes the Zone of Enders connection? Then it makes me sad because they need to come out with a ZOE3.
  • snipes101 - August 17, 2011 9:59 p.m.

    I don't understand why they chose to release this game in August. July or Juno would have been better because it is just going to be crowded out of the way by bigger games. This is by far the most gorgeous game I have ever played ever though. The art style is just so mind blowingly gorgeous that I stopped and just stared on occasion. I never do that in games (gritty realism bores me in terms of visuals, even if the game is great).
  • Vincemaster - August 17, 2011 6:09 p.m.

    Yay. Way better review than IGN, and I'm not just saying that because the score is higher. Clearly you guys actually know how to play games. Nice review.
  • avantguardian - August 17, 2011 9:53 a.m.

    this WOULD be like okami, if it had the same charm, depth, controls, and polish. based on the demo, i would say i experienced none of these. still, i love the style (the trees are especially amazing), i'll pick it up on the cheap or maybe an LSD trip/rental@o@
  • santaclouse37 - August 17, 2011 4:01 a.m.

    I want this so hard just to be able to play it while on... um... certain... things that aren't illegal to grow and consume....
  • Thequestion 121 - August 17, 2011 3:56 a.m.

    I want this game
  • einhazard - August 17, 2011 3:35 a.m.

    I'm digging this game. Like the said, Platforming is a little sketchy, but overall, it's fun. Honestly, it's a game I bought for its looks, not its personality.
  • ObliqueZombie - August 17, 2011 3:06 a.m.

    This looks AWESOME, but with no replay value, I'll wait for the price to shoot down. And I HATE waiting.
  • ZiegZeon - August 17, 2011 2:10 a.m.

    Its awesome. And so is Shadows of the Damned and Child of Eden. Okami is still one of my favorite purchases ever as well.
  • BladedFalcon - August 16, 2011 11:39 p.m.

    Screw the demo, I'm gonna get this anyway. Demos are hardly a good indicator of a game's actual quality anyway. Bullet storm is another iconic example of that
  • GR_HenryGilbert - August 16, 2011 11:19 p.m.

    I was a little turned off by the demo too, but in the flow of the real game the pace and controls work much better
  • MySistersMenstruationTastesFunny - August 16, 2011 10:55 p.m.

    God I hated the demo.
  • 510BrotherPanda - August 16, 2011 10:53 p.m.

    ...I guess the world is just going to stick with the Gears of War, CoD, etc... I'd get this, but I still don't have the money to buy the system on which to play it...
  • Draijan - August 16, 2011 9:49 p.m.

    I loved Okami, but the demo for this I didn't like one bit :s
  • Spybreak8 - August 16, 2011 9:49 p.m.

    Interesting
  • Darkmessiah24 - August 16, 2011 9:44 p.m.

    Might get it as the demo was pretty nifty but the lack of a dodge mechanic kinda annoyed me.
  • JKami - August 16, 2011 9:44 p.m.

    ill buy this game but not sure when ill be able to with so many other games i NEES to buy already:/
  • DualWieldingIsNotFeasible - August 16, 2011 9:43 p.m.

    Like everybody else, I'm too poor to add this to the massive list of games that I'm buying over the next few months. I already blew my "buy the unique game, just to support artistic expression" money on Shadows of the Damned.
  • Hydrohs - August 16, 2011 9:43 p.m.

    I'll definitely be getting this at some point. I've always thought it looked interesting, glad to see it plays well too.

Showing 1-20 of 26 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 16 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Sep 09 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Published by: Ignition Entertainment
Developed by: Ignition Entertainment
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes