Google+

Duke Nukem Forever review

Decent
Back to Article

109 comments

  • Darkbiochains - June 13, 2013 5:42 p.m.

    I loved the game I hope they make another Duke Nukem. I think they should ether make a longer one with more girls in it. or upgread all the old ones and put them all on one dics.
  • mothbanquet - April 21, 2012 6:50 a.m.

    Played the demo, hated it. Bought the full game for an amount that I'd buy anything for and y'know what? I'm having a fucking blast. It's old-school tough, some of the gags are hilarious and a lot of it's surprisingly well put together. Just go into the game expecting the worst and you'll find yourself pleasantly surprised is all I'll say.
  • raptorak - July 10, 2011 3:30 a.m.

    You are all making the same mistake of playing it on a console - try the PC version if you can, load times are short and the game plays a LOT better.
  • lhjwamangoo - July 1, 2011 7:09 a.m.

    I'm playing on xbox 360. Except loading time it's awesome as fuck. Duke deserves at least 7 or 8. If bullshit like crysis2 got 8, duke should get 9 or 10.
  • v8ninety - June 20, 2011 8:08 a.m.

    DNF was always going to be up against 12 years of hype and expectations, I think we should be happy that the game finally got released and that we got a chance to play as Duke one last time maybe. Sure the game is not great but I'm still going to play through as I've waited so long for this.
  • CRASH - June 18, 2011 2:13 a.m.

    Great game. Problem is not the game but the people buying it. Games come out now so fast and so frequent that people expect something new every title. I was good with the game play and graphics. It felt like it was supposed to. A trip thru friggin town stompin alien asses with the King. Hail to the king baby.
  • bigpig47 - June 17, 2011 10:59 p.m.

    you wanna know the problem about this? THEY REVIEWED IT ON THE 360!!! If you want to play the real good kind of duke you need to play it on his kind of battleground and you wanna know what that fellow gamers? well you guessed it, it is the pc obviously.
  • KainStrider - June 17, 2011 7:47 a.m.

    Seems to me like you had too high of expectations for a product that spent a decade and a half in development hell.
  • hughesta - June 17, 2011 3:05 a.m.

    Well I personally loved this game, and think it deserves at least an 8 out of 10.
  • HowdyCowboyCheesesBurger0911 - June 16, 2011 5:41 p.m.

    1up it an F. Fuck 1up
  • DrRock - June 16, 2011 3:52 p.m.

    Mikel's review reads exactly how I feel about the game. Lazy game design. Shitty game mechanics. Grade school humor and it wasn't even funny. If I was reviewing it I would've given it a 4 maybe a 5 just to be generous. I really only played this game for the achievements and luckily most were easy enough to get. The horrible attempt at pinball and air hockey are utter garbage. I can only imagine the amount of time it took to program that stuff in just for it to be shit. Good review anyways.
  • nomnom52 - June 16, 2011 7:34 a.m.

    So, it's kind of similar to the GT5 situation?
  • jasoncarter - June 16, 2011 5:11 a.m.

    Bought it, am loving it, what else can I say. I've lost faith in reviews. Excuse me while I go give someone else the finger.
  • lilspooky - June 16, 2011 5:04 a.m.

    I'll get it when its on sale on steam...a six, ouch!
  • LIKEUCARE - June 16, 2011 4:35 a.m.

    The game is disappointing, yes... but its not abyssmaly bad though. My biggest gripes with this game is first... the highly consolized feel of the game. Second gripe, only two weapons carry-able which is a huge fail considering for an old school game. Third gripe, regenerating health... seriously, can't this shitty mechanic simply vanish? It's pathetic and lazy of developers! Fourth gripe, checkpoints... no quick-save/quick-load. 'Nuff said! Fifth gripe, no openness game play style like the good old Duke 3d, DOOM and even Quake 1. These games weren't badly linear like today's game... you could backtrack in the same level before advancing to the next. This Duke game lacks that... way too linear. So... 12-14 years for this... disappointing, very... but I still bought that Balls of Steel Edition just to own that piece of history. Hopefully, I'll be able to have some good fun with it for a little while... until Serious Sam 3 comes out. ...and I'm all out of gum...
  • radcliff007 - June 16, 2011 1:12 a.m.

    i'm kinda ejoying it......must be the nostalgia.the loading times truly do suck though
  • super0sonic - June 15, 2011 9:54 p.m.

    le sigh. I miss the vaporware DNF already :<
  • aaron171 - June 15, 2011 9:17 p.m.

    i saw this coming. when a site (or in this case, sites)hype up a game, even a game that's been in development for fourteen years, its pretty safe to say that the game is not going to be great, or that the game is going to get a mediocre review. look at Brink. they hyped that game up so much (maybe in thinking IGN...whatever still the same concept) then when they reviewed it they gave it a mediocre review. im not saying that this game sucks, i havent gotten the chance to play it yet, but im sure its better than what some reviews say
  • Turbonutter - June 15, 2011 9:03 p.m.

    I think this game is getting the raw deal by reviewers. Regurgitated junk like Cawadoody #1749 gets 9's across the board, but Duke gets 4's and 6's? It's far from perfect, but c'mon...
  • mahajinx - June 15, 2011 5:41 p.m.

    Wow, people really 'ripped this game's head off and sh**ted on its neck'... Honestly, not what I expected. I still can't speak for myself, so far I've only played the PC demo (and it was entertaining enough), but in spite of all the horrible reviews, I'm still giving it a shot. I played the original Duke back in the day, and I remember him as a wise-cracking steroid-pumped sexist macho guy with adolescent charm and silly one-liners. And if that's what this game delivers, then mission accomplished. Also, as CitizenWolfie stated (and I agree), Gearbox probably just 'wrapped it up', for the sake of finishing the damn thing already and putting it out of its development misery. And if they continue the series on their own terms and from ground up, I'm sure the next game(s) will be much better. As for the long loading times, blurry textures and popups, bad models and lip sync, I'm sure all of that is annoying (if you're that nitpicky, that is), but I comfort myself with the idea that the game is after all running on a heavily modified Unreal 2 (yes, TWO) engine, and given how dated that engine is nowadays, I think it all turned out satisfying enough. Anyway, since I often tend to skip playing games due to other obligations, and even whole years pass until I finally get around to them (in which case I really don't care about the 'dated graphics' anymore), I'll just pretend that this new Duke WAS completed AND published 10 years ago, I just didn't have the time to play it! ;) So - hail to the King, baby! :)

Showing 1-20 of 109 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 14 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Jun 10 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: 3D Realms, Gearbox
Franchise: Duke Nukem
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.