Google+

Disney Epic Mickey review

Back to Article

85 comments

  • HumorTumor - November 25, 2010 4:37 p.m.

    May finally have a reason to get a Wii. I'm by no means a Disney fan (mostly because their recent work). But this seems to have a reverence for the source material, so hopefully it will rekindle the love.
  • Maxstats69 - November 25, 2010 4:29 p.m.

    Just read the review. No thanks. I don't agree with anything said. That platforming is generic and boring, level design is a joke and accidentally making a crucial decision is just a quick A button press away. This games pace is like rolling a hexagonal ball up a hill. 95% of quests will have you going here to get this item to take to this person to get another item to go give to this person who gives you another item to go back and give to the first guy. The camera is horrible. You certainly won't be running around spraying enemies with paint with the greatest of ease, you'll be running around trying to position your camera so you can see what you need to shoot while trying not to walk into a corner or fall through the floor or off the edge. I've never disagreed with a review more in my life.
  • Maxstats69 - November 25, 2010 4:18 p.m.

    I didn't even bother to read the review. Chris is a die hard Disney fanboy so his opinion was already made before he even booted this game up. I got this game about a week ago and it's horrible. I can't see anyone wasting $50 on buying this. I wouldn't even justify taking up a rental spot on Gamefly with all the good games that are out now.
  • hanktherapper - November 25, 2010 3:46 p.m.

    I think I will pick this up. I've been itching to play a platformer lately.
  • Tenfey - November 25, 2010 3:07 p.m.

    Sounds epic.
  • Cyberninja - November 25, 2010 2:19 p.m.

    Chris i will buy this eventally.
  • NightCrawler_358 - November 25, 2010 1:16 p.m.

    So i'm guessing you dont like Kingdom Hearts 2... I'll still have to play Epic Mickey, I freakin love anything crossover, so all my old favourite Disney characters all dark and twisted? yes please. Is Goofy in it by any chance?
  • Clovin64 - November 25, 2010 12:09 p.m.

    I just want to clarify that I would buy this on release day...if IO actually owned a Wii. Along with Mario Glaxy and Monster Hunter Tri, I feel like I'm missing out on something by not having a Wii.
  • Psylockerules - November 25, 2010 11:50 a.m.

    The greatest 3D platformer of the year? consider me SOLD!
  • austinthebookworm - November 25, 2010 10:48 a.m.

    Looks fantastic, although I doubt it's as good as Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  • ThePigHostage - November 25, 2010 10:14 a.m.

    I am a huge fan of classic Disney animation, so I'll be buying this day one. I'm really glad it turned out so well! recaptcha: grew taintly (I think I have a new favorite)
  • infernox - November 25, 2010 9:57 a.m.

    y did they show a picture of mass effect and not deus ex, ie the game warren spector co created that had similar mechanics as mass effect/epic mickey.
  • CH3BURASHKA - November 25, 2010 9:53 a.m.

    Wow, I didn't realize today was Epic Mickey Review Day - I kind of lost track of it. For some reason, I'm still not getting the mechanic - I guess I need to see it action, and in contextual situations, to understand the purpose behind using the Paint/Thinner. As for the story and the world, this review finally clicked - I remember Antista talking about the world as a refuge for forgotten characters, but I guess it didn't completely resonate with me until now. I think that the picture of Oswald accusing Mickey kind of opened my eyes. I was simply interested in this game before, now I'm actively excited. And yeah, the review feels a little short, especially after the shitload of hype Antista poured into my earholes every Friday.
  • garnsr - November 25, 2010 8:46 a.m.

    I've recently been watching all the Disney movies that Netflix has, chronologically, and wouldn't mind playing this game on PS3. I've loved Ratchet and Clank since the beginning,and this sounds not dissimilar. Also, I got a shirt from my girlfriend's sister that has Wallace on it, but I didn't know who it was until info about this game started getting out. This review doesn't seem very much like a real critical review, it seems like the opinions of the target audience for the game, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Disney fans like Chris will like it, others may want to look at a few other reviews if they need help deciding to buy it or not.
  • elpurplemonkey - November 25, 2010 8:42 a.m.

    While I'm a fan of animation and platformers, my purchase of this game would mostly be due to Chris's overwhelming enthusiasm about it. And that video actually added a lot to the review- you know, the part where you click on it and it works properly. Ah what a difference having a good video player makes.
  • Piccadillio - November 25, 2010 8:40 a.m.

    I appreciate the disclaimer, and it's great for people who are similarly invested in the game to be able to read a review that they'll enjoy. But in the wider context, this review is only really going to apply to people who, like Chris, have been excited about it since it was announced. So even though the disclaimer is there, somebody else should have reviewed it either instead of Chris or alongside him. We might as well ask Warren Spector or Walt Disney's frozen head to review it, really.
  • Kage_No_Shi - November 25, 2010 8:21 a.m.

    *adds to the list of Wii games to get, if he ever gets a Wii* recapcha - hunwang tenth (there is a first?)
  • zer0hvk - November 25, 2010 7:48 a.m.

    I was already hyped about this, now with this review, I reeeally want to play Epic Mickey. I thought you'd go into even more detail about all the Disney lore on your review, Chris, but I can't wait to hear next week's podcast to hear you gush about it, must be a very interesting listen. Awesome read, great review, I hope the game does well!!
  • Mueti - November 25, 2010 7:45 a.m.

    Only a 9 from Chris? So, am I correct in assuming the game is a pile of shit then?
  • Outlander - November 25, 2010 7:22 a.m.

    I would definitely play this if it was on 360. I remember an old Mickey game on super nintendo "Mickey Mania: The Timeless Adventures of Mickey Mouse" I used to play that all the time. Kinds tempted to hook up my Snes and playthrough it again.

Showing 41-60 of 85 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 30 2010 - Wii (US)
Nov 26 2010 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Disney Interactive Studios
Developed by: Junction Point
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
3+