Google+

Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition review

Great
Back to Article

23 comments

  • Orion4 - August 18, 2014 12:56 p.m.

    The D3 and ROS games are based on doing the same thing over and over and over and over and over and over and over. You get the idea. So not a lot new here - 1 character and 1 act 40 bucks? Really? Every employee of Blizzard writes at leas 8 reviews - so any review of D3 is skewed - player satisfaction is much lower than advertised. The core problems still exist: My pants are stronger than my entire character. Too heavily equipment dependent. Linear game. All difficulties are the same everything. Not so much of a social game. Do exactly what Blizzard says and you will be ok. Total Big Brother type of management. But the graphics are cool. That's about it. But most people I played with left. Then I did. It's just a game. Play it and move on.
  • pl4y4h - August 12, 2014 4:29 p.m.

    Another season, another Diablo 3 review
  • styx1969 - March 29, 2014 11:26 a.m.

    After buying diablo3 and not liking the game due to AH (worse thing ever in a diablo game) and some other little things that made me regret buying it, i wasn t considering buying this expansion, BUT i saw my brother play and bought it because of that. Why? Cause crusaders are incredibly fun to play, to me the most fun class in game, adventure mode makes grinding for gear enjoyable and loot 2.0 plus market going off is awesome. Diablo is now where it should have been at launch and oh god it would have made it straight in best games ever to have been made. If i m happy with the price? Well should have been cheaper but tell me the name of a really good game that was released in the last couple of years, mmo rpg wise that is. Yes i recommend buying Diablo reapers of soul
  • Makie8d - March 28, 2014 6:17 p.m.

    I see the tinfoil hats have already plagued the comments of this review. The Crusader is a lot of fun, playing him as I write this (level 23 so far). I can use Adventure Mode to level him from 1-70, no restrictions. My other characters are thoroughly enjoying Adventure Mode and rifts as well. The problem with peoples negativity is that they were either too young, or too forgetful to remember that Diablo 2 was this same way. Diablo 2, while great, was nothing spectacular without the expansion. This is very similar, and should be without surprise. If you are still on the fence about whether or not this redeems Diablo 3, don't base it on people who either haven't even given it a chance, or played for an hour and still hold a grudge. The game is far better with this expansion, hands down. This is where it needs to be, and to continue forward. (incoming accusations by crazy asses of being paid, employee, etc.)
  • jerm1974 - March 28, 2014 6:17 a.m.

    This expansion is boring and too short. It is obvious that some of those praising comments came from blizzard employees themselves disguising as satisfied players.
  • Makie8d - March 28, 2014 6:19 p.m.

    It's so damn hard for you to believe that someone out there is actually satisfied with how they turned things around, isn't it? So what if it costed an extra $40 to get to that point? At least it's there finally.
  • voododoll - March 26, 2014 6:44 a.m.

    Just to add something. Malthael doesn't see the humanity as scourge upon creation! He sees the Nephelim (the children of Ithrael and Lilith) as taint, which always ends in death. So he takes this as a chance to stop the war between heaven and hell. But he gets power dazed and slips the line between good and Evil. This is possibly why he spared Tyrael. El'ddruin's blade passes through him, cause it can't hurt those with pure intents. Oooor because he is death itself. The expansion is great. It took me 6+ hours for full single clear on hard difficulty.
  • lvl1201 - March 25, 2014 12:01 p.m.

    The asking price is laughable. I bought a broken game 2 years ago out of the box the installer didnt work. Many features werent delivered and so on and on. It took almost 2 years to fix the loot system, drop rate and get ridd of the cash grab (RMAH). And then they come with a stright face and ask THAT kind of money for that tiny new content? Lucas Sullivan i hope you buy nice stuff with that blizzard check.
  • ObliqueZombie - March 25, 2014 1:25 p.m.

    It's a tad steep, yes, but typical. But Diablo games are about replay and randomization, so one chapter should be enough for fans. Also, Blizzard wouldn't pay someone for an 8. This isn't IGN.
  • chriszewski - March 25, 2014 4:24 p.m.

    Lord of Destruction was $39.99 way back when it released in mid 2001 and this seems to be similar in content , minus a playable class. <i>release</i> LoD mind, not post patch(es). The price is fine.
  • Effinae - March 25, 2014 7:03 p.m.

    So you're saying the game is now fixed but you're still heartbroken? Got it.
  • SirNinja - March 25, 2014 11:56 a.m.

    It's worth it for Adventure Mode alone. No lousy story, no restrictions on where you can go...just endless, highly-randomized dungeon crawling. It's incredibly fun, challenging, and constantly surprising - much more than I can possibly describe here - and I will likely be enjoying it years from now. Kudos to Blizzard for not only fixing Diablo III (with the VERY-aptly-named patch 2.0), but realizing what made the series so fun and addictive in the first place.
  • sinkheadhxc - March 25, 2014 9:47 a.m.

    a short expansion that only provides one Act and replayability with multiple quests(missions)..... hmmm, sounds a lot like Ground Zeroes. but i guess Blizzard can get away selling an expansion (or DLC, depending on how you purchase it) for $40. but GZ......."THEY SOLD OUT NOT BUYING FUCK METAL GEAR!"
  • Temperance11 - March 25, 2014 9:45 a.m.

    Here's hoping the rest of the potential expansions aren't $40. I'm super excited about Reaper and I had it pre-ordered, but that price tag hurt a little.
  • hoofhearted4 - March 25, 2014 7:38 a.m.

    i have it on my PS3. me and my gf play it all the time. i started with a Monk because it was as close to a paladin type that they have. now they have one and im dieing to play that class. except theres no mention of it even coming to PS3. they might skip it all together, which will really really suck. ill get a PS4 eventually. but i dont want to have to rebuy the game (unless my characters save over, then it wont be so bad). still even if it comes out on PS3 it isnt going to be any time soon. by then me and my gf will probably be bored of the game. we are on our second play through with new characters already.
  • ObliqueZombie - March 25, 2014 1:24 p.m.

    I should carry over, most games do. ... I think? Anyway, it would be silly not to. And you probably (hopefully) would only have to pay the $10 for the upgrade.
  • Longnuts - March 25, 2014 6:41 a.m.

    All I want to know is when it is coming to consoles. Somebody at blizzard needs to spill the beans already dammit.
  • universaltofu - March 25, 2014 9:56 a.m.

    Yeah, I just started up the 360 version, and I'm down for more.
  • Effinae - March 25, 2014 7:05 p.m.

    As soon as PC gets GTA5 ;)
  • ObliqueZombie - March 25, 2014 6:03 a.m.

    That damn class alone makes me want it--and I don't own Diablo III, not yet. Blizz's art style is top notch. This is good news for Diablo fans and "fans" alike.

Showing 1-20 of 23 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 19 2014 - Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, PS4
Mar 25 2014 - Mac, PC (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, PS4, Mac, PC
Genre: Action RPG
Franchise: Diablo
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.