Google+

Destiny review

Excellent
Back to Article

39 comments

  • sebastian-howells - September 21, 2014 8:47 a.m.

    I thought Destiny was brilliant, there really wasn't any flaws in my opinion, although many may disagree I rated it 5/5 on my blog http://epicgamerblog1.blogspot.co.uk/. I'm still not sure why some websites have rated Destiny so low, it has been one of my favourite games since I started playing it.
  • MikeJazzfaceTheDancingSquirrel - September 21, 2014 4:01 a.m.

    This game is 9/10 for me- absolutely incredible- so much fun so much satisfaction!
  • Shigeruken - September 20, 2014 5:26 p.m.

    Excellent review. Commenters be damned.
  • Crashdj - September 20, 2014 8:17 a.m.

    Most of the complaints I've been reading about Destiny is that it's repetitive, a slog, you shouldn't have to play this game for 15 hours before it becomes fun and blah blah blah. I starting playing Destiny during the beta and within hours after it officially became available on Sept. 9. Only last night, more than a week after the launch, I finally reached level 20, not because I suck, but because I wanted to take my time, really enjoy and explore this game. I've done the crucible, the story missions, many of the bounties and have spent a significant amount of time in patrol mode on the various planets just effing stuff up arcade style. I really love doing that. It's hardly felt repetitive at all, hardly a slog. The thing that I've really begun to appreciate about this game is that it truly shows what the PS4 is capable of and how responsive and much improved the PS4's controller is over that of the PS3. Having come from PC gaming to console gaming a little over a year ago, FPS's have been a challenge for me, especially using the PS3's way too sensitive controller. This is the first game I've played on the PS4 that truly shows just how good the PS4's controller is. Naw, not a slog at all. It's the only game I want to play right now and the only game most of the gamers I know are playing right now too. I think Bungie nailed it. I come at this game never having played Halo because, quite frankly, I will go to great lengths to avoid using any hardware of software made by Microshaft. I suspect this game will keep me interested for some time to come. It seems that I've just begun to scratch the surface of all that's available.
  • laughing_haina - September 20, 2014 4:15 p.m.

    I could not agree with you any more. As my first PS4 game it has definitely been a great investment and only of the best game I have played in a while
  • death4us - September 20, 2014 2:02 a.m.

    The truth be told is that most people will decide if they like a game after playing 3-5 hours of it. So if you can't capture someone into the game within that time you basically failed as a game maker. If you really think about it most fps campaigns don't last even 5 hours. I am not saying the game is bad in any words just saying why many people won't end up liking it.
  • Cruddi - September 20, 2014 1:45 a.m.

    I half agree, the game does come to life abit in end game BUT it shouldn't be a slog to get there and I felt like it was, I must admit I am enjoying it now I've hit light levels but again I shouldn't have to have waited this long. Also I STILL haven't come across a public event even after they supposedly increased the frequency of the events I spent about 2 hours straight running round mars on patrol and got nothing! They written a script for star wars and ended up acting it through finger puppets to paraphrase Ben "Yahtzee" Crowsaw
  • Magnumram8008 - September 19, 2014 8:08 p.m.

    My sentiments exactly. Honestly, if this game was bad, boring or or just ok i wouldnt say anything. I can hardly distinguish whether Destiny is a love it or hate it game because i cant see how anyone can hate it even if they did not have the time. Grinding is not necessary. Destiny allows you to choose your own leveling path. Yet people cannot just play thier own game anymore and will truly follow everyone elses strategy just to try and get a different color gun and or armor. its the same kind of person who watches walkthroughs before they play the game for themselves. then, will watch the walkthrough while playing the game mimicing every step, desicion and style. i think destiny exposed the sheeple mindset of people who take what reviewers say about a game as gospel.
  • Midnight_23 - September 19, 2014 4:28 p.m.

    Great review I thought. While reading the review, one thing kept appearing itself to me; this guy has a passion for games and knows how to enjoy them. All of the greatest points made as to what makes makes this game special, are my same points as to why I enjoy this game and can see myself enjoying it for some time to come!
  • winner2 - September 19, 2014 4:12 p.m.

    Something feels a bit off here.
  • Bloodstorm - September 19, 2014 3:49 p.m.

    Definitely agree with the review. Destiny is a great game, with amazing game play and worlds that are very intriguing. I feel like the derisiveness that we are seeing it due to misconceptions of what this was supposed to be. Destiny is like the love child of Halo, Diablo, and Guild Wars. Not quite an MMO, as I've never ran into groups larger than 4 or 5 outside of the Tower, which works as the social hub. I see the criticisms, as the story was weak. It left me wanting more. I want to learn more about this universe. When the story wrapped, I wasn't quite sure what I accomplished. However, I don't hate it for piquing my interest, quite the contrary, I want to experience so much more of the fantastic setting that I have only been permitted to scratch the surface of. Also, I suppose because I do not watch Game of Thrones and so I have no concept of the man, but I felt that Peter Dinklage's performance was fine. I actually quite liked Ghost. He is a contrast to say, Cortana, who was an AI based off a human. Ghost is something born from something very much not human and so he is not as excitable as Cortana could be in that sense. Lastly, I don't know why Bungie ousted Martin O'Donnell, and would really like to get some insight on that one day, because the music was as amazing as I expected it to be. The man was gifted and I really hope to get to hear him at his craft again one day.
  • pl4y4h - September 19, 2014 3:16 p.m.

    Gotta be honest, wasnt expecting a score that high
  • _--_ - September 19, 2014 2:43 p.m.

    --so --GR waits the longest to drop their review --and --they give it the 5th highest score of all 75 reviewers --a score that tallies up to 77(and gr gives it a 9?) -- --shakes and scratches head
  • NickFury90 - September 19, 2014 1:36 p.m.

    The way he was slurping this game like it God's gift to Earth in the diary, I was expecting a 11/10. Or at least a 10/10. Dude called the PvP a new golden age like Halo 2...
  • Space_Movies - September 21, 2014 1:42 p.m.

    "Dude called the PvP a new golden age like Halo 2..." Hahahhahahah yea right.
  • JunkerJorge - September 19, 2014 12:19 p.m.

    Merge this review with IGN's review and you have a complete review, in doing so you would bring IGN's up to the rightful score of 8.5 and this one down to fours stars.
  • Midnight_23 - September 19, 2014 4:12 p.m.

    Hahah wow that's pretty accurate. Both reviews I thought were respectable, but GR's reviewer obviously knows destiny down to the philosophy of the game mechanics and so I think this review is one of the best out there. It's my favorite that I've read, I'd wish to write the same thing if I were to give the game a review..
  • universaltofu - September 19, 2014 11:48 a.m.

    Is the game alright on ps3/360?
  • ZBOMb1029 - September 19, 2014 1:15 p.m.

    Yea it's actually pretty good
  • RedShirtTrekie - September 19, 2014 10:57 a.m.

    Thanks for your honest, and yet extremely fair review. You have pulled me over to games radar with this review my good sir and I thank you for it.

Showing 1-20 of 39 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 09 2014 - PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: MMO
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Bungie
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Animated Blood, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.