Google+

Destiny review

Back to Article

46 comments

  • nick-christoforo - October 14, 2014 5:38 p.m.

    I seriously hope the writer of this review looses his job because he's obviously pretty bad at it.
  • nick-christoforo - October 14, 2014 5:30 p.m.

    This game is nothing but a mediocre cash crop. Way overrated. This is why people prefer GameSpot for there reviews.
  • litaljohn - October 3, 2014 10:40 p.m.

    I honestly have to scratch my head at what gamesradar is actually reviewing here. They are reviewing this game as they include future possibilities and a "ten year plan" the problem however is we already know that the bigger chunks of content are paid expansion packs coming out, which I would assume would be reviewed on their own and not as part of the main game's "promise" of pumping out additions. To credit the game with the idea of a ten year plan is also terribly misleading. Bungie has a ten year plan for the IP, NOT this game. Bungie is contractually obligated to release a sequel every other year as per released court documents that have become public knowledge. To review the game with the mindset of a ten year plan is simply impossible. The PvP, while potentially fun, also is not very balanced, for one, early character levels are put at a huge disadvantage to the point where for instance you may be stuck with a single jump as a hunter, while a player who is decked out can triple jump as the same class. Furthermore, by having PvP weapons tied to your character has equipped also puts gamers at a disadvantage from players who had better luck and got a weapon with better base stats. I understand bungie wants us to feel more engaged and connected to our characters, but that connection should not come at the expense of fairness. It's hard to consider the crucible a "competitive" multiplayer when a portion of how well you can be is tied to pure luck of getting a good base weapon pickup. Forced matchmaking in some strikes and the lack of matchmaking in raids is another poorly thought out plan. Yes strikes are easier with a group, but outside of weekly strikes we don't even get the chance to challenge ourselves and go at it solo. Meanwhile raids have no matchmaking to speak of. People can argue that raids need teamwork and so that the raids have no matchmaking to encourage you to play with friends and communicate but compared to the alternative it is simply unacceptable. I beg of anyone to explain why having to attempt the raid with less than six people is better than adding random players. How is having more help shooting enemies a bad thing if you don't intimately know them? There is simply no logic to it, any help is better than none. "However often you replay a scenario, or new, more challenging variants of it, you’ll always find that something has always changed, " I really wish the reviewer expanded upon this comment as I simply have no idea what they are talking about. The only change I have ever experienced in replaying anything is slightly stronger enemies that behave the same way on higher difficulties and that the time of day/night may change. That's about it that I have seen however. I am open to being wrong, but I don't know what I am apparently missing. That's not to say even with these issues the game is not fun. It looks great, handles well, and has interesting setting and enemies. But even reading the review I don't see how they justify the score. I'm not going to be like the fools who rate the game due to the hype it failed to live up to, but I'm not going to pretend it does not have multiple shortcomings. Personally I'd give it a 7/10 it's sort of a jack of all trades master of none.
  • condor21 - September 29, 2014 11:53 a.m.

    For a 10 year game in the making, it is not worth the cash, IMHO. I expected more. And I think gamers should expect more from these gaming companies. If you want real fun and some new action, go play PlanetSide 2. It's not perfect but a lot more fun then this garbage!
  • Thestoebz - September 23, 2014 7:11 a.m.

    Great review yet again and I agree wholeheartedly. I have popped 70 hours into this game since release and still loving it. Gives me a reason to get off league of legends. I know where I'll be coming for reviews, when I barely ever read them. This site has some of the most intelligent and honest reviewers around. Not swayed by the corporate turds like ign and gamespot.
  • MikeJazzfaceTheDancingSquirrel - September 21, 2014 4:01 a.m.

    This game is 9/10 for me- absolutely incredible- so much fun so much satisfaction!
  • Shigeruken - September 20, 2014 5:26 p.m.

    Excellent review. Commenters be damned.
  • Crashdj - September 20, 2014 8:17 a.m.

    Most of the complaints I've been reading about Destiny is that it's repetitive, a slog, you shouldn't have to play this game for 15 hours before it becomes fun and blah blah blah. I starting playing Destiny during the beta and within hours after it officially became available on Sept. 9. Only last night, more than a week after the launch, I finally reached level 20, not because I suck, but because I wanted to take my time, really enjoy and explore this game. I've done the crucible, the story missions, many of the bounties and have spent a significant amount of time in patrol mode on the various planets just effing stuff up arcade style. I really love doing that. It's hardly felt repetitive at all, hardly a slog. The thing that I've really begun to appreciate about this game is that it truly shows what the PS4 is capable of and how responsive and much improved the PS4's controller is over that of the PS3. Having come from PC gaming to console gaming a little over a year ago, FPS's have been a challenge for me, especially using the PS3's way too sensitive controller. This is the first game I've played on the PS4 that truly shows just how good the PS4's controller is. Naw, not a slog at all. It's the only game I want to play right now and the only game most of the gamers I know are playing right now too. I think Bungie nailed it. I come at this game never having played Halo because, quite frankly, I will go to great lengths to avoid using any hardware of software made by Microshaft. I suspect this game will keep me interested for some time to come. It seems that I've just begun to scratch the surface of all that's available.
  • laughing_haina - September 20, 2014 4:15 p.m.

    I could not agree with you any more. As my first PS4 game it has definitely been a great investment and only of the best game I have played in a while
  • death4us - September 20, 2014 2:02 a.m.

    The truth be told is that most people will decide if they like a game after playing 3-5 hours of it. So if you can't capture someone into the game within that time you basically failed as a game maker. If you really think about it most fps campaigns don't last even 5 hours. I am not saying the game is bad in any words just saying why many people won't end up liking it.
  • jacob-sicola - October 8, 2014 2:23 a.m.

    I completely agree with you and think that people who play a game need to be more patient to see what is all in store. I generally give a game about a week to ten days before I start making up my mind.
  • Cruddi - September 20, 2014 1:45 a.m.

    I half agree, the game does come to life abit in end game BUT it shouldn't be a slog to get there and I felt like it was, I must admit I am enjoying it now I've hit light levels but again I shouldn't have to have waited this long. Also I STILL haven't come across a public event even after they supposedly increased the frequency of the events I spent about 2 hours straight running round mars on patrol and got nothing! They written a script for star wars and ended up acting it through finger puppets to paraphrase Ben "Yahtzee" Crowsaw
  • Magnumram8008 - September 19, 2014 8:08 p.m.

    My sentiments exactly. Honestly, if this game was bad, boring or or just ok i wouldnt say anything. I can hardly distinguish whether Destiny is a love it or hate it game because i cant see how anyone can hate it even if they did not have the time. Grinding is not necessary. Destiny allows you to choose your own leveling path. Yet people cannot just play thier own game anymore and will truly follow everyone elses strategy just to try and get a different color gun and or armor. its the same kind of person who watches walkthroughs before they play the game for themselves. then, will watch the walkthrough while playing the game mimicing every step, desicion and style. i think destiny exposed the sheeple mindset of people who take what reviewers say about a game as gospel.
  • Midnight_23 - September 19, 2014 4:28 p.m.

    Great review I thought. While reading the review, one thing kept appearing itself to me; this guy has a passion for games and knows how to enjoy them. All of the greatest points made as to what makes makes this game special, are my same points as to why I enjoy this game and can see myself enjoying it for some time to come!
  • winner2 - September 19, 2014 4:12 p.m.

    Something feels a bit off here.
  • Bloodstorm - September 19, 2014 3:49 p.m.

    Definitely agree with the review. Destiny is a great game, with amazing game play and worlds that are very intriguing. I feel like the derisiveness that we are seeing it due to misconceptions of what this was supposed to be. Destiny is like the love child of Halo, Diablo, and Guild Wars. Not quite an MMO, as I've never ran into groups larger than 4 or 5 outside of the Tower, which works as the social hub. I see the criticisms, as the story was weak. It left me wanting more. I want to learn more about this universe. When the story wrapped, I wasn't quite sure what I accomplished. However, I don't hate it for piquing my interest, quite the contrary, I want to experience so much more of the fantastic setting that I have only been permitted to scratch the surface of. Also, I suppose because I do not watch Game of Thrones and so I have no concept of the man, but I felt that Peter Dinklage's performance was fine. I actually quite liked Ghost. He is a contrast to say, Cortana, who was an AI based off a human. Ghost is something born from something very much not human and so he is not as excitable as Cortana could be in that sense. Lastly, I don't know why Bungie ousted Martin O'Donnell, and would really like to get some insight on that one day, because the music was as amazing as I expected it to be. The man was gifted and I really hope to get to hear him at his craft again one day.
  • pl4y4h - September 19, 2014 3:16 p.m.

    Gotta be honest, wasnt expecting a score that high
  • _--_ - September 19, 2014 2:43 p.m.

    --so --GR waits the longest to drop their review --and --they give it the 5th highest score of all 75 reviewers --a score that tallies up to 77(and gr gives it a 9?) -- --shakes and scratches head
  • rob-moir - September 24, 2014 1:35 a.m.

    Frankly it feels like this review was bought and paid for by bungie or written by someone with no critical ability at all.

Showing 1-20 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 09 2014 - PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: MMO
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Bungie
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Animated Blood, Violence