Google+

Dead Island review

Solid
Back to Article

102 comments

  • Jedipimp0712 - September 5, 2011 7:54 p.m.

    i was really hoping this would score amazing, ill just wait til its on steam for 7.50 and all the bugs are fixed like with Arkham Asylum.
  • jmcgrotty - September 6, 2011 2:43 a.m.

    If there is a god, Steam will be well out of business before that can happen. OK, I'm off-topic. I just get infuriated by any *big section of censoring*'ers who try to defend, justify or use Steam (or any of those POS services).
  • insidiousFox - September 6, 2011 11:51 a.m.

    I would say that Steam is (or should be) the one exception for hate for this type of service. Steam is actually pretty decent and super convenient for patching and stuff, not to mention the insanely great deals I've gotten on games through there, literally incomparable to other shops. Any negative aspects to it are super minor, especially compared to other similar services (like Origin... shudder). I'd be interested to hear your justifications for your hatred of Steam.
  • Jedipimp0712 - September 6, 2011 12:57 p.m.

    wow, what bug crawled up your arse? please, justify to me why steam is bad, because i actually am going to school to be an animator to work at valve some day.
  • ZDrummer731 - September 5, 2011 7:49 p.m.

    Holy crap. Sam B., the blunt weapons expert has my same name. O.o
  • ChiChiRocket - September 5, 2011 7:48 p.m.

    A game mechanic that punishes you for sucking? Sounds like the games of yesteryear. Challenge accepted.
  • ChiChiRocket - September 5, 2011 7:51 p.m.

    Not that I am implying that you suck, Mr. Keast.
  • RoeTaKa - September 5, 2011 7:37 p.m.

    Sounds like an awesome experience. I'm sure it will do well especially before the onslaught of AAA titles come, I hope it does because I wasn't a fan of Dead Rising so this is right up my alley. I'm pretty sure had the game been explored more and with the day 1 patch it would have got maybe an 8. I remember the Fallout games had some dodgy turns but that didn't stop me enjoying them.
  • Lucas - September 5, 2011 7:23 p.m.

    Well, if the main things that it needed to be better is some polish then delay that sheet and make it better. Gabe Newell did that with HL3 and look at what an amazing game we had.
  • insidiousFox - September 6, 2011 11:48 a.m.

    HL3? WTF? Is your name John Titor?!
  • MadMan - September 5, 2011 7:23 p.m.

    Ok, this looks decent... Now where is the review of Driver: SF, I need it to decide which one i'm buying tomorrow.
  • cardrey - September 5, 2011 7:18 p.m.

    Good review. Much appreciated, Mr. Keast.
  • thatwonkid - September 5, 2011 7:06 p.m.

    i dont really base the how i pick games based off of reviews....one person per site reviews the games amounting to maybe 100+ people in total out of millions of gamers...i watch videos of it and if it looks fun to me (because i'm the one playing it) then ill pick it up...plus a 7 isnt bad at all
  • doublekillz - September 5, 2011 6:57 p.m.

    It ain't a bad review, like they said they will have a day 1 patch to fix some problems, but not all of them. Hopefully the developers will keep doing little tweaks here and there over the course of time. 7 is a perfectly reasonable score. I've seen some reviews that gave it a 6. Still pretty hyped for tomorrow!
  • EnigmaSpirit - September 5, 2011 6:52 p.m.

    All of the promotions and ads you guys did for a 7 game?
  • gamingfreak - September 5, 2011 6:51 p.m.

    Excellent review Mr. Keast!
  • D0CCON - September 5, 2011 6:49 p.m.

    I wonder if there are any Easter Eggs related to Gamesradar's vids. That would be fantastic.
  • ibeberger - September 5, 2011 8:08 p.m.

    Nothing would make me happier than this.
  • Lolwarf - September 5, 2011 6:42 p.m.

    Interesting. I might get it, if I have time for it.
  • Blasto - September 5, 2011 6:41 p.m.

    Even though I really don't care for zombies, dead island seems pretty cool. Ugh, it's gonna be hard to choose between this and Resistance 3.
  • Lando81 - September 5, 2011 6:32 p.m.

    Outstays it's welcome? What the hell does that even mean?
  • 435 - September 5, 2011 6:40 p.m.

    Probably that it could have been pared down a in length bit to make the game flow better.

Showing 61-80 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 06 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Sep 09 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Deep Silver
Developed by: Techland
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.