Google+

Dead Island review

Solid
Back to Article

102 comments

  • Limbo - September 6, 2011 12:21 a.m.

    Surprised this isn't a Super Review after all of the coverage you guys did on it. I find it ironic that after such a compelling trailer the story is supposedly quite average and unmoving (according to the IGN review). I was never really in it for the story though, just the idea of a giant RPG zombie island. Shame about the bugs, but hopefully they'll get mostly ironed out after a month or so like the Fallout: New Vegas ones did.
  • Yaro - September 5, 2011 11:59 p.m.

    Sounds great. The atmosphere and the unique premise alone are enough for me. And there is an insane shortage of decent survival horrors on current gen consoles. Great read, thank you.
  • slimjim792 - September 7, 2011 8:14 p.m.

    not sure it is a survivor horror....more like a FPS. but without an ample amount of guns.
  • CitizenWolfie - September 5, 2011 11:57 p.m.

    Given the sheer amount of quality games due out soon I'm afraid it was going to take more than a 7 to convince me to buy this. I was sceptical after that original trailer but this review has confirmed my suspicions. It's a shame really as there was a time I was looking forward to it. Maybe a demo would help.
  • ObliqueZombie - September 5, 2011 11:54 p.m.

    Fantastic review, Mr. Keast. I loved the tone and perspective you took since you played it before the game was released, alluding to all the bugs a day-one patch could fix. While it dampers my excitement a bit, I'm certainly going to play this game with vigor and focus on what it does right and how ambitious the team was. Yes, I could call myself a man who prefers polish, but every once in a while, I need to focus on the ideas that the developers do desperately want us to play, what with all the time and money they spent on the game. I wasn't expecting this to be on the mechanical level as Gears, Left 4 Dead, or Elder Scrolls, but rather an extremely enjoyable, extremely different take on zombies in the video game medium. And this seems to have confirmed my belief. If anything, I'll have Space Marine in my hands to play on the same day! :D Look forward to reading that review.
  • Yeager1122 - September 5, 2011 11:50 p.m.

    Sounds amzing cant wait to pick it up will be waitng for a price drop but only because of all the triple a games coming out.
  • JBizFoShiz - September 5, 2011 11:02 p.m.

    Sounds like a friggin' blast. However, I'm just gonna pull a New Vegas and wait an insane amount of time before they fix those bugs. I'm a bit of a hoarder (Blame Fallout and Borderlands). Still, I almost always end up enjoying games that are different from the norm, and this certainly was built up to be such a game.
  • cmdates2991 - September 5, 2011 9:29 p.m.

    Since when is a 7 a bad review anyway? I've always thought of it as good but not spectacular. And if anyone read the review they'd know it's mainly because of the bugs.
  • spencertucksen - September 6, 2011 12:59 a.m.

    It's bad because Skyrim, Batman, Uncharted, etc. are almost all guaranteed 9-10 level works, and it saves people money. It's bad compared to the amazingness soon to come.
  • RonnyLive19881 - September 5, 2011 9:26 p.m.

    This review was fantastic! Convinced me to buy it! This is the most in-depth review I have read since... well ever Lol Kind of reminded me of reading EGM back in the day!
  • SpadesSlick - September 5, 2011 9:19 p.m.

    I am sure the dead island guys are not amused at the fact that the copious amount of money they gave you guys only earned them a 7... But in all seriousness solid review, the game still seems worth playing even with all the glitches and bugs, I soldiered through new vegas after all....
  • Shanetexas - September 5, 2011 9:04 p.m.

    Sometimes I get happy with bad reviews for games, because these months tend to have a lot of games to plow through.
  • Grif - September 5, 2011 8:18 p.m.

    You gave it a 7! So I guess it's almost as good as Halo Reach, which was phenomenal at an 8. Stupid GamesRadar with their Sony bribes. I kid, I kid. I enjoyed the review and will be picking up this game this Christmas. It does sound great and hopefully more of the bugs will be patched by then, but college doesn't really fit well with co-op RPGs. I look forward to playing. Thanks Matt.
  • tacoman38 - September 6, 2011 10:05 a.m.

    lol. I was looking for a halo reach comment. can you believe it's almost be a year already?!!?
  • ibeberger - September 5, 2011 8:10 p.m.

    You didn't answer the most important question, does any character in the game say "I want to do drinking"?
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 5, 2011 8:06 p.m.

    As for "Outstays its welcome": It's twofold - one, as the game goes on, you realize the length sacrifices some of the quality. Two - the game starts to just drag on for the last few hours, with the final section being the least compelling environment and it introduces no new enemies to deal with. So you have this extra game time devoted to not much adding to the experience, yet all those development resources could have improved the polish for the better parts of the game.
  • Baron164 - September 5, 2011 7:56 p.m.

    Good review, sounds really compelling but some of those bugs would drive me up the well. I'll definitely pick this up but I'm gonna have to wait a bit and see if they patch some of the larger issues.
  • Jedipimp0712 - September 5, 2011 7:54 p.m.

    i was really hoping this would score amazing, ill just wait til its on steam for 7.50 and all the bugs are fixed like with Arkham Asylum.
  • jmcgrotty - September 6, 2011 2:43 a.m.

    If there is a god, Steam will be well out of business before that can happen. OK, I'm off-topic. I just get infuriated by any *big section of censoring*'ers who try to defend, justify or use Steam (or any of those POS services).
  • tacoman38 - September 6, 2011 10:06 a.m.

    somebody is a bit mad.

Showing 41-60 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 06 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Sep 09 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Deep Silver
Developed by: Techland
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.