Google+

Crysis 2 review

Great
Back to Article

57 comments

  • CoktorBloktopus - March 23, 2011 4:50 a.m.

    going to have to rent this one should be a fun day or two of play time.
  • ApplePieHitlerStevenson - March 23, 2011 4:14 a.m.

    yup played a couple of hours and its awesome, and hey GR u guys are mentioned on the box back!
  • RebornKusabi - March 23, 2011 4:07 a.m.

    I've played the game for a couple of hours now and... yeah, this is a heavy contender in my book for "Game of the Year (So Far)". The gameplay is highly enjoyable, the A.I. (contrary to what the review kind of states) is extremely intelligent with the only spotty A.I. being, ironically in a meta-sense, the aliens. It's also f*cking GORGEOUS to watch and play and the music, as a Hans Zimmer fanboy, is very Inception/The Dark Knight sounding which is always a good thing in my book. So I would have personally given this game a 10/10 from what I've played so far. Then again, I haven't beaten the game or played the multiplayer yet so it stands to be seen how the rest of the so-far phenomenal game ends up.
  • Myko - March 23, 2011 3:20 a.m.

    Awww Failsys. SeriousSean speaks da truf.
  • Yarok - March 23, 2011 2:07 a.m.

    I have to say that the first Crysis' multiplayer was a lot more enjoyable. In the sequel it simply feels like CoD with a nanosuit and a lot of bloom. The original, however, felt like it offered a lot more freedom in SP with the open jungle, and MP had sprawling maps and a Counter Strike system for weapons and vehicles. I can't officially say anything on the SP since I haven't played it myself, but the moment it was announced it was in NYC I was dismayed. I really enjoyed throwing Koreans off of cliffs. Udharah tergy? I guess so.
  • FOZ - March 23, 2011 1:40 a.m.

    I think the reCAPTCHA is to get rid of those stupid spam bots who insist on telling us "summer is here" in December that invaded a bunch of sites a while back. And it worked, because you don't even see those anymore, and there used to be as many as 4 of them within like, 10 minutes of a feature or review appearing. I think it is a bit odd that Alcatraz says nothing at all. At least Nomad had some pretty obvious comments that showed he wasn't a mute (I THINK THESE GUYS HAVE NANOSUITS), but from what I've seen of the single player, it just looks awkward. Why not just have Prophet as the main character?
  • SYSTEME - March 23, 2011 1:17 a.m.

    So, what's that guy on the left doing? Looking for change? Tying his shoe? Still hung-over? HI-larious. This is why I love GR. Anyway been quite excited about this cos I wasn't able to play the original, hope it satisfies my waiting, enjoyed the demo, can't wait til Friday Yeah the reCAPTCHA is a load of balls, what is it used for? Security? Anyway, HTML tags aren't allowed.
  • Jamahl - March 23, 2011 12:38 a.m.

    And I know talking about Reach is getting old, but the main character actually talked during some cutscenes wether you were male or female. Though they didn't talk much. I think it made it feel less wierd, though.
  • jayajaya415 - March 23, 2011 12:36 a.m.

    I want to pick this up, but I am worried that it might not be supported well on PS3. The demo didn't work on the PS3, and I think this could be a bad sign about the support in the future (for the PS3 anyway). Can someone please prove me wrong.
  • ceronepop - March 23, 2011 12:15 a.m.

    p.s. I'm usually very shrewd when it comes to buying games, but EA pulled out a great "con" in their emphases of being able to "Kill With Skill" malarkey. I definitely got caught up in the hype and fell for it!?
  • ceronepop - March 23, 2011 12:10 a.m.

    I had Bulletstorm for two weeks before trading it in for something else. Reasons are because I found the uniqueness and freshness of Bulletstorm wear thin half way through the campaign mode. After the single player is completed, I was already bored of finding different ways of killing foes. Plus the multi player is gimmicky at best after a few plays. So to say in your review that Bulletstorm is a better game than Crysis 2, might put me off buying Crysis 2 completely!?
  • PIZZAKING92 - March 22, 2011 11:17 p.m.

    @Foz Wow. What crawled up your ass?
  • FOZ - March 22, 2011 11 p.m.

    What did I just say? An 8800GT, which was a BUDGET CARD three years ago, plays most games at high settings. I didn't buy a PC to play the same games at a higher resolution and I don't think I need 4x AA to play games at all. I put together a PC to play PC games as well as any multiplatform games. The idea that you need to upgrade "every year" is, once again, utter shit. Only hardcore PC builders do that. Games do not progress fast enough to require a new video card every year. Since you haven't offered anything whatsoever to support that, all I can do is repeat that you, like many people looking for a terrible, overplayed reason to not buy a PC, are full of shit. What games have come out that push PC's at all? Very, very few, if any at all games more demanding than Crysis have come out, the only one coming to mind being Shogun 2, which came out a week ago. Unless you're one of those rich people who refuses to play a game without 16x AA and DX11 mode, you don't need to upgrade even close to every year. So are you going to repeat yourself with no new information, like you just did?
  • RebornKusabi - March 22, 2011 10:56 p.m.

    I just picked this up so I can not add anything to the review since I physically have never played it but I can see why it got an 8, but the only negative to me which personally WOULD have made me personally lower the review score is the automatic, and vulgar, trashtalking. Just because people do it already with mics doesn't mean the game itself should do it for them. That trashtalking shit is exactly why I have my Xbox Live profile set to only hear friends. Aside from Aeshir on this sites forums, the only (real) people I care to hear talking to me in my games are my own friends, students and my coworkers.
  • slowdrum13 - March 22, 2011 10:56 p.m.

    seriously, what's with your love affair with bulletstorm? I bought it based on your 10/10 review, and while the single player is fun a few times through, the lack of real multiplayer is a huge dissapointment; it feels like half a game. And great spin with the "bulletstorm makes a daring statement by tossing aside traditional multiplayer". more like "bulletstorm rips you off by not giving you the second half of the experience that's expected of any top tier piece of software." you guys could seriously work for fox news.
  • Thequestion 121 - March 22, 2011 9:59 p.m.

    After reading the review, I was very impressed. I want this game now. Only I need more hard drive space for the PS3...
  • cart00n - March 22, 2011 9:33 p.m.

    I thought the demo was okay, but after playing thru Bulletstorm, normal FPSs just don't do it for me anymore. It IS very pretty, tho... Oh, and the reason Gordon Freeman gets away with being mute is not just because the other characters are terrific, it's also how they react to your silence. Thru off the cuff remarks like "you don't say much, do you?", they acknowledge the fact that Gordon's silence is a little weird and sometimes off-putting, but since Gordon is such a badass willing to sacrifice himself for the betterment of mankind, they simply accept him for the hero he is.
  • garnsr - March 22, 2011 9:33 p.m.

    I can't imagine having to buy new bits to add to my computer just to play one game, then have to do it again for the next big game. That's not finding ways to make better games, it's just pushing you to buy more junk to add on. You don't get the sense of generations getting better and better on PC that you get on consoles.
  • Hdfisise - March 22, 2011 9:31 p.m.

    Everyone tends to forget that PCs can be used for a lot more than just playing games in the whole consoles vs pc debate :(
  • afrowarrior350 - March 22, 2011 9:26 p.m.

    SeriousSean shut up

Showing 21-40 of 57 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 22 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Mar 25 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Developed by: Crytek
Franchise: Crysis
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.