Google+

Crackdown 2 super review

Back to Article

48 comments

  • Bloodstorm - July 5, 2010 1:52 p.m.

    I played the first game to death and when I played the demo I felt like I had just stuck Crackdown into my xbox. I liked Crackdown, and I will get Crackdown 2 eventually, but I'm not paying 60 bucks for an almost identical sequel.
  • dugfinger - July 5, 2010 1:45 p.m.

    To be honest, the way you were talking about this in the review, I thought it would get a 5 or 6. A 7 is actually way better than you make it sound like it deserves. Didn't like he original enough to buy an expensive replica.
  • crumbdunky - July 5, 2010 1:45 p.m.

    Onyx-big games, big exclusives like Crackdown2 rarely if EVER score below a seven though-so how can we accurately judge by it's score? The sad fact here is it seems like more of a 1.5 sequel than a full one and maybe that's keeping the score down alongside the way all the faults of the first game(and there WERE faults) have not been addressed. My point is i played inFAMOUS who GR have often said they didn't really like much(but which got 7/10) and thought it was better than it's score while quite a lot of other 7/10 games on GR I've found average at best-the "safe seven" is a lottery across the nets, imho, and one of the reasons(alongside tacit pressure from devs and publishers to keep their meta scores above the 7/10 mark and the fact different sittes use different systems and different parts of the range of scores available)thast I think scores are now irreleevant as a useful shorthand for gamers in a hurry. Read the words and see if the faults are what annoys you personally in games or if the good bits really appeal to you. the words tell you the important details whereas the score, often as not, is a vague guide and generally squeezed in between 7 and 9 for bug games and exclusives. Not that I'm accusing Brett or even GR in general but more the way scores have been devalued across the board and as a fellow writer I'm sure any reviewer worth their salt gets frustrated when people concentrate on the score rather than the words anyway. A 7/10 game can be average at some sites or from some writers or a really good game from others-or even a bad game given a score to avoid controversy if the writer or site happen to be weak(see what happened with Gerstmanngate). Ignore the scores-I've learned to by using mainly the same reviewers that tend to share my tastes and hates about games-and read the words, read the words. As for C2? Looks to me like they dropped the ball as it's a bugbear of mine if glaring issues from the first game aren't even dealt with properly let alone if they remain unchecked. Sad thing is that I LOVED the first game-but it didn't stay fun for very long(also my issue with the L4D games on 360 where the quality wasn't as high as PC and there were no mods to keep it exciting and fresh)-and felt the series still had tons of untapped potential through the faults but they don't look like they solved much. Without a Halo beta key to give away how will this omne get on sales wise? Needs some much more glowing reviews than this one I reckon.
  • TheElephantManchurianCandidate - July 5, 2010 1:32 p.m.

    Unless a lot of my good friends get this game I think I'll give it a miss. Great review btw.
  • ColonelKc - July 5, 2010 1:16 p.m.

    I guess im not playing this after all......
  • OnyxOblivion - July 5, 2010 1:09 p.m.

    7 isn't bad at all. Fun with friends, and a glider? Sign me up. Seriously, though...I feel bad for all the people who'll think this game is "bad" just because it's a 7. That said, 7 sounds about right. No one was expecting Crackdown 2 to be the next Okami, after all.
  • vinicusg.t.guedes - July 5, 2010 1:09 p.m.

    I expected more from this game...I had plans to buy a 360 by the end of the year but to be honest I'm not that sure anymore. The only reason I can find to buy it is Mass Effect 2, and that's all.
  • Wriggly - July 5, 2010 1:06 p.m.

    If only Realtime Worlds had scrapped their mess of an MMO to go make this instead, it might have been at least an 8.

Showing 41-48 of 48 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Ruffian Games
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending