Google+

Crackdown 2 super review

Solid
Back to Article

48 comments

  • infestedandy - July 6, 2010 1:36 a.m.

    @Felixthecat Couldn't have said it better.
  • jimsmells - July 5, 2010 9:12 p.m.

    Hmmm, i might just rent this game now then, i was worried by the previews anyway. And yes where is your Singularity review!! i hear it's quite a good game might get that.
  • wastedspace - July 5, 2010 8:44 p.m.

    @GodogPS314 and big0jeff Because when you do something for a second time it's not as fun as the first, and the only market for this game are people who have played or are interested in crackdown 1.
  • oryandymackie - July 5, 2010 8:27 p.m.

    This actually angers me. The original Crackdown had an amazing idea - however the setting and story seemed a little impersonal. As you said, GR, the inhabitants of Pacific City were little more than cannon fodder. There was so much more to add - yet they've overlooked it. Ah well, at least there's a 'copter.
  • sharkins - July 5, 2010 7:35 p.m.

    Wasn't to excited about this game before, definitely now now.
  • KingArchie55 - July 5, 2010 7:26 p.m.

    I was wondering if the first crackdown was good a few weeks ago. And why was everyone so hyped for this one. Yeah, I'm so enthusiastic when I say I don't want this game.
  • Bloodstorm - July 5, 2010 6:54 p.m.

    @Big0jeff and GodofPS314 Reviews are based in periods of time. Crackdown one came out 3 years ago. It could have been an 8 then, but now it wouldn't hold up as well. Review scores aren't time-proof. So yes, a game that got an 8 3 and a half years ago can be worse than a game that got a 7 this year.
  • TheWebSwinger - July 5, 2010 6:44 p.m.

    This is disappointing, but altogether unsurprising. Great headline image, btw.
  • GodofPS314 - July 5, 2010 6:44 p.m.

    You gave Crackdown 1 an 8 and this one a 7 yet this one is better? Okay well first Xbox fail of the year.
  • StickyLungs - July 5, 2010 6:09 p.m.

    Rental.
  • Wazzle - July 5, 2010 5:26 p.m.

    To quote Marcus "AAAAAGGGHHHH SHIT!" This was THE game I had on my radar this summer and now, I'm not so sure. I very recently replayed the first one and don't know if I can do it again with a new coat of paint so soon. I had some seriously high hopes for Crackdown 2.
  • BillyBrush - July 5, 2010 4:51 p.m.

    Crackdown is very addictive....i like games which throw plot out of the window and just let you play, worked for the first one, works for just cause, worked for bad company...you can just play and play...i guess it'll be too unfocussed for some
  • JADENkOTOR - July 5, 2010 4:20 p.m.

    The only difference between this and the original is that the graphics are WORSE in this game. How is that even possible? They somehow took the original and painted over everything with a mud brush. I couldn't believe it. The gameplay however is exactly the same... this is great if you like not being able to aim for shit. Im not sure how, but after 3 or 4 years they managed to not do a damn thing. My only other beef with the game is that when i played the 30 minute demo I had already leveled my agility and guns to 4. From what I could tell there are only 6 levels. Give me a fucking break.
  • ObliqueZombie - July 5, 2010 4:09 p.m.

    I agree with Bloodstorm. I felt that when I played the demo, the lack of polish and loss of the "upgraded" feel of a sequal really turned me off. But since this game pretty much blew (from an original Crackdown-player's standpoint), can we move on and finally review Singularity? Because that game f***ing rocked.
  • thor0997 - July 5, 2010 4:05 p.m.

    I only played the demo of the origional so I will grab this for shure.
  • big0jeff - July 5, 2010 3:33 p.m.

    How do you say that it's better than crackdown 1 but still give it a lower score??? Also, are you guys sure that you didn't look at the original crackdown with rose tinted glasses when it first came out? Just think about. The first Crackdown came with the Halo 3 beta so many people brought it just for that. But once it turn out that Crackdown wasn't a piece of maybe you guys and many others were so surprise that you overlooked many of the game short comings. Almost all of you negatives are exactly the same negatives that the first one had so why does it get a lower score? Could it be that the first one wasn't as good as you remember? If it's just because the original did it first does that really make it a worse game?
  • Felixthecat - July 5, 2010 3:09 p.m.

    I played the demo, and the aiming is absolutely abysmal along with not enough variation for my money I think, so no thanks.
  • Mechamorbo - July 5, 2010 2:53 p.m.

    Aw, that's unfortunate. I played the demo and wasn't impressed with the lack of change, but was hoping that they had kept the better parts for the full game. That would have been a really stupid move on their part, but still.
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - July 5, 2010 2:22 p.m.

    This seems like a very reluctant 7
  • RebornKusabi - July 5, 2010 1:54 p.m.

    Hmm... I think I'll just GameFly this then after I finish Mortal Kombat: Deception and Thief 3: Deadly Shadows.

Showing 21-40 of 48 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Ruffian Games
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.