Google+

CNN's expert 3DS reviewer has no idea what he's talking about, 'grew up on Halo'

If you want an opinion on the 3DS, would you trust a kid who thinks that there hasn't been a portable device which used a stylus since the days of Palm Pilots, the last system to use cartridge games was the Game Boy Advance, and that the 3DS design belongs in the 1990s? Apparently, it's good enough for the organization that calls itself "the most trusted name in news."

JP Mangalindan, a gamer who says he grew up on Halo, provided the official 3DS review for CNN.com, and although he seems to do a pretty good job reading off the teleprompter, he clearly doesn't know a lot about video games.

Comparing it to the iPad and iPod Touch, Mangalindan said it was "funny to come across the 3DS, which does one thing." Of course, we all know that down the road it will be able to play 3D movies, browse the Internet, and download future upgrades for new features.

Mangalindan also slammed the 3DS for using cartridges, saying that's "something we haven't seen since the last Game Boy, pretty much." Either he's talking about the DSi, which wouldn't be that big of a deal ("Wow, we haven't seen this kind of technology since, well, the thing that's on the market right now"), or he's actually referring to the Game Boy Advance.

Then, he exclaims, "To add insult to injury, it also features a stylus, something we haven't seen since the Palm devices of the early 2000s." We'd like to point out that the entire DS family of systems, on the market from 2004 - 2011, uses a stylus, and has sold 47 million units in the US alone.

He finished the review saying, "With the iPhone and iPod Touch, will it sell as well as other Nintendo devices?" That is a good question, except the 3DS has already garnered more than twice the amount of pre-orders as the Nintendo Wii in the UK, and people are waiting in line as much as five days to get one in the US. Doesn't sound like the kind of device where we have to be wondering if it'll sell.

It's almost as if Mangalindan believes Nintendo was just in a black hole for the last seven years. So if you're curious as to why cable news is going down the gutters these days, here's a taste.

Mar 25, 2011

Topics

Nintendo

100 comments

  • Fiirestorm21 - March 31, 2011 10:53 p.m.

    The classic setup: While Fox News is blatantly right-wing, and MSNBC blatantly leftist, and CNN just sucks at its job.
  • lovinmyps3 - March 30, 2011 9:01 p.m.

    A hardcore gamer that grew up on Halo. LOL!
  • inSovietRussiaDatesRecallBrettElston - March 29, 2011 9:06 p.m.

    "no ability to download games means the grassrootts developers can't make games for the system" BULLSHIT
  • StriderHoang - March 28, 2011 9:19 p.m.

    The first half was pretty straight forward. Then the latter half came and I thought I was listening to a WWII veteran talk about how he loves this new-fangled AOL internets.
  • shnazzyone - March 28, 2011 4:58 a.m.

    That guy is pretty lucky that his videos don't allow comments. What an idiot.
  • Ravenbom - March 27, 2011 4:20 a.m.

    Surprise, surprise! Regular news outlets don't care and are completely uninformed about a game device! Who would have thought?
  • SumthingStupid - March 26, 2011 9:02 p.m.

    he always talks about the gameboy, does he not know that the Ds exists?
  • wrx20l - March 26, 2011 4:39 p.m.

    Anyone going to CNN for accurate news and solid reporting is a simpleton to who deserves to be led astray. To keep the impact of CNN as an entity, keep in mind that none of its programs rank in the top 25 on cable, a list topped by the likes of Jersey Shore and WWE. So fret not, chances are high that no one with a brain saw this review.
  • Ryozaku - March 26, 2011 2:05 p.m.

    Wait.... Who the HELL watches CNN for gaming news? Actually what kid actually watches the new period? Chances are any kid won't see this, and if they're already aboard the hype train, chances are this won't shift public opinon
  • gumbyx84 - March 26, 2011 12:44 p.m.

    "...a mobile Game Boy-Like device...". ??? 3D on or off only: He does mention you can adjust the 3D effects in the first 30 seconds of the review. Not sure where you heard him say it was on or off only. Graphics: Did he say "poke-dated graphics"? What the hell does that mean? Also for those complaining about him comparing it to the PS3, remember that he is talking to the uninformed. They have no other benchmark. Downloadable content: Dude has no idea what he is talking about. ATM there is no online store, but that will be fixed in a few months. If he did his research, he would know this. The guy is biased as all hell, especially assuming it will only sell because its made by Nintendo. I can say the same thing about i* products. CNN and most "professional" news outlets focused on business (CNN Money after all) worship at the alter that is Apple and the i* product line. I'm not surprised by his biased review, but I am disturbed by it. Sadly, I doubt anything will come of our complaints. Best we could hope for is maybe an apology from CNN on its blog and that is pushing it. The only reason we got an apology for Mass Effect (and that wasn't much) is because it was a national phenomena. A review of the 3DS isn't going to affect anyone but true gamers, and its only going to annoy us. PS Is it me or does he sound like he hasn't hit puberty yet?
  • jmcgrotty - March 26, 2011 9:50 a.m.

    Bad example, TheHowetzer. Mainstream media was 100% right about Obama.
  • NanoElite666 - March 26, 2011 8:05 a.m.

    Too bad for you buddy, none of Apple's iThingamajigs are, you know, actual DEDICATED GAMING DEVICES. You sad, strange little man...
  • Shatgan - March 26, 2011 5 a.m.

    That reporter just pisses me off! lol
  • GarbagePlate - March 26, 2011 4:23 a.m.

    "Make believe, I guess". LMAO!
  • Imgema - March 26, 2011 4:19 a.m.

    wait... CNN.com? lol, nevermind :p
  • Imgema - March 26, 2011 4:11 a.m.

    Haha, TV is useless anyway. We have the internet, so who cares? TVs are only good for movies and console gaming. That's it.
  • keltar93 - March 26, 2011 3:33 a.m.

    "That research me look on box back" Not even that
  • JBizFoShiz - March 26, 2011 3:02 a.m.

    so much deserved hatred. it's delicious. this man speaks on cnn, definitely a wide-reaching network, and BLASTS the 3ds. non-gamers are automatically going to think it's a crap system for crap people ("non-hardcore gamers"), while people who own ipads and iphones can revel in their angry birds, knowing they have a superior "gaming system." no mention of the DSi or PSP seems fishy. also, only gamers who actually know ANYTHING about the last 7 years of gaming are aware enough to call BS on his review. everybody else that watches cnn? probably dont care unless nintendo's stock value is mentioned. bottom line: apple is the be-all, end-all of consumer electronics. nintendo can only hope to play catch-up with its stupid technology and wanna-be ps3 graphics. what the hell is microsoft? if you were born before the late 90s, you didn't grow up on halo. you are not hardcore.
  • Felixthecat - March 26, 2011 1:04 a.m.

    THANKS FOR STEALING MY LINK OFF OF THE FORUMS GAMESRADAR
  • Overlord153 - March 26, 2011 12:30 a.m.

    Oh Crap what i'm i going to do. I never played Halo. I'M NOT HARDCORE. DOES ANYTHING ELSE MATTER!

Showing 1-20 of 100 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.