Google+

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow super review

Excellent
Back to Article

67 comments

  • charlesnance - September 23, 2014 8:46 a.m.

    I feel so slow lol. Soon as I sent the message I found it lol
  • charlesnance - September 23, 2014 8:27 a.m.

    Omg! I have been stuck in the land of the dead 2 days trying to find the 2 rune pieces for to move on and it's driving me crazy! Help please! Lol
  • insidiousFox - September 6, 2011 12:31 p.m.

    Awesome review! Lords of Shadow has so much variety to it, mainly the combat, all the combos you can learn, the magic and how it interacts with your fighting, the bosses, of which there are many, the gorgeous environments, Patrick Stewart narrating and voicing one of the main characters... this is just an awesome, amazingly epic game. Seriously, this review didn't dwell on that enough: E.P.I.C. Epic was the first word I used to describe to my friend, whom I let borrow the game when I was done. It seemed like he doubted a lot of my praise for the game, but 2 weeks later, he was done with it, finished it quicker than I did and with a few more achievements than I got! I'm about to play through it again on the hardest difficulty, and will then move on to the DLC which will hopefully cost less by then... wish me luck, I might not make it through with my sanity intact.
  • insidiousFox - September 6, 2011 12:40 p.m.

    Forgot to add, if you still haven't played this and are a fan of: Castlevania, God of War (even though I never played it, but I've seen too many comparisons to ignore), Devil May Cry, or adventure games in general, you owe it to yourself and Konami and Mercury Steam to pick this up, ASAP. Even if you suck at 3D fighting games, play this on Easy and I guarantee you will get sucked in. Ignore any negative reviews. This game got more flak than it deserved, and I'm not sure why. Any genuine negative aspects to it are minor and easily forgotten, hell even the puzzles are entirely optional and you can skip them for a small cost. I really can't believe that much of the negative flak this game got was because "it's like God of War" - that is ridiculous. Why don't Call of Duty games consistently get bad reviews then, since each one is almost a carbon copy of the last, or since all FPS's borrow features freely from each other all the time? Besides, some people never played GoW. LoS is truly the best 3D Castlevania so far, and just an awesome game in general.
  • sharkey87 - April 20, 2011 7:18 p.m.

    I have to say I was really surprised by how good Castlevania Lords of Shadow was, I actually preferred it to God of War III. And the epic length of the campaign made it serious value for money. The gameplay was really diverse and stopped it being another button masher, plus the excellent soundtrack and voice acting added polish to the whole thing, easily a 9/10 and one of my favourite games from last year.
  • pots555 - December 1, 2010 11:26 p.m.

    Some of the most epic boss fights in my gaming experience.
  • malakai - October 16, 2010 6:11 a.m.

    there isnt a more bad ass way to kill werewolves than choking them with your bear hands (yes that mistake was intentional) thats like chuck norris level
  • stevengibson - October 11, 2010 6:42 a.m.

    castlevania has always struggled in the 3d department thank you Kojima 4 make a true epic 3d castlevania!
  • BruceTheSeventh - October 8, 2010 7:28 a.m.

    The first game which I played in NES was CV, The first game I got with my SNES was CV4, The reason why I bought a GBA was CV Circle of the Moon, the reason why I bought PS2 was CV Lament of Innocence, and at last I bought a PS3 for to play with CV Lords of Shadow!!! But I have to mention I'm a Nintendo fan! But PS is as good as N but for other audience. So back to CVLoS this is one of the greatest game ever (and franchise) between Mario, God of War, Resident Evil series. But I have to mention the greatest fighting game which is forgotten in these days... So this is Killer Instinct!!! Why is it dead? Why don't they rebirth it? Back to CVLoS this is amazing, wonderful, great, epic and in party with the GoW series. O.K. I have to say this is actually the best title to buy! Who don't have it I highly recommend just buy one as soon as it possible! This game is suitable for old fans and the new ones too!!!
  • dzedi - October 4, 2010 9:53 p.m.

    Great review (really reflects the score btw) man, am I glad this came out so good. now, to get this in my 360
  • philipshaw - October 1, 2010 12:19 p.m.

    This game looks awesome, at least you take the game for what it is unlike the IGN review which gave it a 7.5 for not being like old castlevania games
  • texasgoldrush - September 30, 2010 6:44 a.m.

    @newgames128 God of War III's story pales in comparison to the first game. While the first game had a decent told story, the third game devolves into killing every enemy as brutal as possible one by one, with Pandora's story poorly thrown in. The first game had a point, this game is torture porn. GOW III is the very definition of style over substance. If it is the "last game" than they should have gave us the world. Expectations have been risen. There is no excuse for not finishing the game. Thats what happens when you rush a game, it hurts the product. Not all great games are necessarly polished...the Black Isle games such as Fallout and Planescape Torment wasn't. Deus Ex wasn't. But they are great games because of their scope and substance. Gametrailers, IGN, and Gamespot are the only reviews that gave this game less than an 8. IGN and Gamespots reviews have come under heavy criticism for how they reviewed the game. Both felt very unprofessional.
  • TearsofLaughter - September 30, 2010 3:01 a.m.

    man im totally getting this cant wait to kick some vampire ass
  • c1nd3rcell - September 29, 2010 11:17 p.m.

    Great review! A nice new start to the series, I may just pick this one up.
  • newgames128 - September 29, 2010 9:47 p.m.

    @ texasgoldrush: Castlevania sounds like it is different than GoW 3, not better. Watch the video review I posted- http://www.gametrailers.com/video/review-castlevania-lords/705391?castlevania It really makes this Gamesradar review look a bit overrated itself. The game tries a few fairly ambitious things as far as design and gameplay but right at the start, even just watching the character move through the environments, it doesn't look nearly as polished as GoW 3. It's funny how people think God of War 3 was overrated; most likely because it was the "last" game and they were expecting the world from it, on a tight development schedule and new hardware. GoW 3's story is on par with 1 or 2's, and mainly people seem to dislike the ending, even though it was an entirely fitting end to the trilogy. Not as elaborate as Jaffe's perhaps but far from "atrocious". The gameplay was also better than the first two, from combat to puzzles; although 2 had the best platforming unless 3's titan sequences are counted. 3's ending bossfight was also supposed to have taken place on Gaia but they didn't have enough time to fit it. It also had as much substance as the first two games, making your comment on that sound highly subjective. Could it have been better? Yeah of course, but so could the first two. So could every game. GoW 3 capped off the trilogy pretty well, considering all the new challenges the team faced and the titan-sized expectations many people seem to have been swept up in.
  • newgames128 - September 29, 2010 9:15 p.m.

    Hmmm, this review is quite a bit more praising than one that is accompanied by video footage- http://www.gametrailers.com/video/review-castlevania-lords/705391?castlevania Still it looks like a cool game to try if it's at least as good as Lament of Innocence.
  • Bitchslapthehomeless - September 29, 2010 5:46 p.m.

    For those wondering about whether to buy this or Enslaved, wait just one more week (October 10 - 16). I have it on good authority that Toys R Us is doing their buy 2 get 1 free that week, and I'll be getting this, Enslaved and Dead Rising 2 all at once.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 29, 2010 5:12 p.m.

    As I said before, I couldn't see any difference between PS3 and 360. As for the bosses, yes they have checkpoints so you don't have to slog all the way through each part of the boss.
  • FinnishTurska87 - September 29, 2010 4:41 p.m.

    @KaiokenKid: Same problem here, PS3 or 360?...hmm well just have wait out and see what people say...there is always somebody doing a comparison between both versions
  • KaiokenKid - September 29, 2010 7:08 a.m.

    Great, now I just need to decide which version to go with. Ah, the struggle fo being a multiconsole owner. Normaly I would think go 360 since it tends to get teh better version, but I dont know about this since its supposedly using PS3 as lead SKU.

Showing 1-20 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 05 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Oct 08 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Konami
Developed by: MercurySteam
Franchise: Castlevania
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Nudity, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.