Google+

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 review

Decent
Back to Article

111 comments

  • Vonter - February 25, 2014 12:20 a.m.

    ... Well at least Tropical Freeze made me happy. Time to get the hands dirty... I'll have to prepare some countermeasures to not break like with RE 6.
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2014 12:25 a.m.

    Yeeeah... this makes me fucking sad, specially because you of all people saw how frigging hyped I was for this game. Still gonna play it, but man has all of these reviews dampened my spirits quite a bit >>;
  • shawksta - February 25, 2014 10 a.m.

    There there buddy. Hey who knows, you'll probably like the game better than how bad you initially thought it would be. Others are going to do the same and others including me are still gonna be playing Theif because we want a stealth game. While its a minority, there are places that gave the game an 8 and even a 9, sometimes you just have to go with it and maybe itll shine for you. If i last recall a lot of people seemed to dislike Lords of Shadows despite all the average reviews but later down the line loved it. We can only hope things can get better and with varying opinions sometimes you'll find that one game you'll never understand why people hate, like how ill never understand the grudge GR has for DK64.
  • Vonter - February 25, 2014 12:46 p.m.

    DK 64 is like GTA: San Andreas just an example of excess. Too much of a good thing can also be very bad for you.
  • shawksta - February 25, 2014 1:21 p.m.

    Fair enough, I still disagree but that's only because that game was my childhood.
  • GOD - February 25, 2014 12:14 a.m.

    That's a shame... for me personally I just wanted to get my hands on something like the first one, but without a fixed camera. I played the demo for the first, and that fixed camera just felt to too uncomfortable for me. Maybe the next 3D Castlevania will be the one for me....
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2014 12:10 a.m.

    ...Wow... I did NOT see that coming, and every other review that has come up seems to mirror this one. That's a crushing disappointment :/ Shame too, because the demo really did feel very promising, so having the rest of the game not hold up as well is unfortunate. ...But fuck it, I'm already invested in the story and the series, so I'm getting and playing as soon as I can, if only to see where it all went wrong.
  • Tyrlanae - February 25, 2014 12:55 a.m.

    From the GameTrailers review: "However, once you can distance yourself from the exposition and get the chance to explore and fight monsters, things begin to improve. Even the story eventually manages to redeem itself, providing great fan service moments and delving into such concepts as the castle being a realization of Dracula's own mind." That was from Daniel Bloodworth, one of the more trusted reviewers over there. The excerpt is enough to get me to see it through and form my own opinion. I'm not saying it redeems the entire game, but it does intrigue me. I took tomorrow off just to play this so... we'll see!
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2014 8:53 a.m.

    Problem is that even he had to introduce a caveat to his argument, which is "Once you can distance yourself..." When even the more positive opinions and reviews come with that much warning, you know something went really wrong >>; Don't worry though, I'm playing it anyway as soon as I can, and form an opinion for myself. It's just a shame that after looking so promising, the reception has been so lackluster. That, and I AM positive that the stealth sections are gonna suck... This is giving me horrible Shadow of Rome flashbacks, another game with tons of potential, awesome combat and setting... but marred by dreadful and unnecessary stealth sections.
  • TheGreyWizard - February 25, 2014 7:25 a.m.

    The demo felt promising you say? It had the same awkwardness of the first game to me... Its visuals still look great, and I'm definately going to play it, but there's absolutely no rush.
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2014 9:27 a.m.

    To each their own, I suppose. Specially if you didn't like the combat of the first game. But for those that did, what was shown in the demo definitely felt like a step in the right direction.
  • TheGreyWizard - February 25, 2014 1:07 p.m.

    Nah, the combat was ok. It was the visuals that won me over in the first LOS. Something that I don't see happening to the same extent with 2.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - February 25, 2014 12:04 a.m.

    Wow REALLY!? I was having high hopes WELP, THIEF IS DEAD AND CASTLEVANIA IS DED, ALL HAIL DONKEY KONG AND STRIDER.
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2014 12:12 a.m.

    Yeah, this sucks. But indeed, at least strider is awesome, just beat it today, probably gonna try and speed run it to get the last trophy I'm missing from it.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - February 25, 2014 12:40 a.m.

    Same here This whole moment sucks, but ill consider getting it but im just not sure given the first game was better but I wasn't even close to that game nor played it.
  • Redeater - February 25, 2014 2:45 a.m.

    I'm still going to give Thief a shot. I have a feeling it's going to end with me being very upset but I'm willing to keep an open mind until I can actually try it. After all, ZombieU had some pretty bad reviews and I ended up playing through it 3 times. You never know.
  • Vonter - February 25, 2014 8:16 p.m.

    You can always add extra points to a review because some people can brush aside things that others didn't like or plainly couldn't stand. I mean some people really love FF XIII. And also Zombi U played well, my issue with that game is only the lack of personality, but that's common fare in "realistic" games.
  • Outofmanyone - February 24, 2014 7:50 p.m.

    I thought the demo was awesome, the controls felt butter smooth and how about that frame rate? Everything looks very detailed so you can tell Mercury Steam put their all into it. I'm still about half-way through FF:Lightning Returns but.. I think I can put that on hold a little bit and start on LoS2 tomorrow, heh.
  • EmiyaLightbringer - February 24, 2014 5:08 p.m.

    The wait is literally killing me (for both the game's release AND the Review). Tonight there's no sleep... XD
  • shawksta - February 24, 2014 3:50 p.m.

    So both this and Garden Warfare's reviews will be up at the same time!? AW DAMN Cant wait to see your review David
  • wiitard07 - February 24, 2014 3:14 p.m.

    Game informer's review made me sad... Hopefully you can change my mind, but I've already decided on thief, as I'm a gameplay over all else kinda guy.
  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 8:14 p.m.

    Lol, Game Informer.
  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 2:18 p.m.

    Man.. the thing that depresses me about this, is that i am almost positive that I won't get to play the game tomorrow, or maybe even in the next few days... Because I have to wait for a retail copy to arrive to my local brick and mortar store, and even when i ask for the game beforehand, it always takes a couple of days if not weeks for it to get here >.< The wait is gonna become more unbearable knowing that the game is technically out, but I STLL can't play it ): Anyway, super excited for the game and also the review, specially if you're the one reviewing it Mr. Hougthon! ^^ You seem to have a good grasp of what made the first game good, and I trust your opinion on this one, be it good or bad.
  • universaltofu - February 24, 2014 3:23 p.m.

    I'm alright waiting a bit more, doing some grinding in bravely default.

Showing 61-80 of 111 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 25 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Konami
Developed by: MercurySteam
Franchise: Castlevania
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Nudity

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.