Google+

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 review

Back to Article

111 comments

  • EmiyaLightbringer - February 25, 2014 6:04 a.m.

    This kind of reviews make me double think getting/play a game but like many have said so far it's a matter of opinions and even a game with a half note can shine. I love Castlevania and even with all this opinions I'll tear this game limb by limb...
  • Untamed - February 25, 2014 7:03 p.m.

    It's awesome Im glad I don't go by reviews . I love cv los 2 better then I hoped for real. I bought it on steam 2 days ago . Then I started reading reviews and thank god I have it . Had I listened to them I would have missed out on the best game so far this year . ( I know that's not saying much lol) also I have thief and that's sitting in my ps4 because I can't put cv los 2 down
  • EmiyaLightbringer - February 26, 2014 11:32 a.m.

    Wise decision, my friend. My wife was telling me not pay attention to others opinion and forge one myself. And let me tell you, I was *THIS* close to skip out work today just to keep playing it! :D
  • winner2 - February 25, 2014 5:15 a.m.

    OUCH!
  • isaiah-reed - February 25, 2014 5 a.m.

    So you people are really going to let a fresh review sway your feelings about a game? So you're assuming the people reviewing are 100% correct about the game? It's just their opinions. Look I'm getting the game because I love castlevania. If it were cod people would blindly buy it even though cod hasn't been great since mw2
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2014 7:54 a.m.

    I'd agree with you if this was only one review, but seeing that almost unanimously, everyone has given it a middling score at best, it's hard to not let that get to one's enthusiasm. Specially when the complaints all match up to the same problems. And I mean, a good chunk of people here are still getting the game out of their love to the franchise, myself included. Mainly because I want to see how it fares for myself. But to begin with, if you visited this review and others, you did it because you care about what other people said, even if just a little.
  • gilgamesh310 - February 25, 2014 11:26 a.m.

    It's gotten lots of mediocre scores. David Houghton also loved the first game, and I enjoyed it a good deal too, so I trust him on this.
  • mafyooz - February 25, 2014 4 a.m.

    Man the first game is great and I've just finished playing through it again in preparation for the sequel, because I figured it would be at least as good if not better. So far the reviews I'm seeing are giving it a resounding "meh", which I'm gutted about. I'll still be getting it but a while down the line when the price drops a bit, I'm not going to be rushing for it like I thought I would be...
  • Rhymenocerous - February 25, 2014 2:39 a.m.

    Nooooooo! So how's the soundtrack? I think it was only mentioned in the "At a Glance" Section. Does it have the wonderfully melancholic tone of the original LoS? Also, does Zobek feature heavily in this sequel, or can you not mention him much due to spoilers?
  • Redeater - February 25, 2014 2:29 a.m.

    "Its plot is as muddled as its gameplay, full of seemingly important but ultimately disposable characters and plot-points, with an inconclusive ending that withers when it should resolve. " This is a complete deal breaker for me. LOS had one of the best surprise endings in gaming. I was incredibly excited at the prospect of picking up where the first left off. I could deal with shoddy gameplay mechanics but if the story is as poorly written as all the reviews are making it out to be......guess I'll give this a chance in the bargain bin. Let's all hold our breath for Second Son.
  • Redeater - February 25, 2014 2:41 a.m.

    Many other reviews are complaining about the piss poor stealth segments. It's 20-goddamn-14. Why are developers still insisting on shoehorning in unnecessary stealth segments??
  • Vonter - February 25, 2014 2:28 p.m.

    Because they still can't figure how to do escort missions or underwater segments. :P
  • Vonter - February 25, 2014 2:34 p.m.

    Also Batman has shown stealth sections can be done with finesse.
  • Tyrlanae - February 25, 2014 12:49 a.m.

    Well, shit. I didn't see that coming. I was seriously excited for this. Especially coming off of the original LoS, which was phenomenal. I also greatly enjoyed the demo, and felt it ran very nicely and that the free-camera was a welcome addition to the combat. Unfortunately, I can see how it would cause an issue in narrow areas or against ranged opponents. I'm still going to give this a go, however. I'm invested in the lore and I continue to believe that it has potential. Part of me wants to hope that because LoS was so good this game was over hyped and has thus failed to live up to its expectations. Hopefully it isn't as awful as all that and is more of a disappointment against the hype than a truly bad game. The reviews are discouraging (I expected to open this to at least 4 stars), but like all things it's a matter of taste. I might still think this game is amazing. Still, what a sour note to start the year on. Lightning Returns, Thief and LoS2 all seemed to underwhelm. Are we getting overly critical of games or are they really just that bad? =/
  • TheGreyWizard - February 25, 2014 7:35 a.m.

    Concerning your last paragraph, I think it's just 2013 that spoiled us rotten. Maybe things are going to pick up with Ground Zeroes, let's wait and see.
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2014 9:32 a.m.

    Well, I never was very convinced by lighting returns to begin with, but yeah, there has been a lot of duds right now... Then again, maybe it's the time of the year? Last year this was also the time where Dead Space 3, Aliens: Colonial Marines and Sim City came out, all with high hopes and expectations, and all terrible duds as well. The first quarter of the year is cursed I tell you! :O
  • Vonter - February 25, 2014 8:12 p.m.

    Kind of funny how two of those games were space related, kinda like Mass Effect the year before. Anyway I hope this year brings quality new IPs to the spolight since it seems new blood is more needed than ever before in this industry.
  • BladedFalcon - February 26, 2014 12:37 a.m.

    I'm sure there will be, but i suspect most of these will come from the indie and kickstarter scene, no the AAA industry, whose's signs of sinking are becoming increasingly more apparent, just as I and many others started predicting a couple years ago.
  • gilgamesh310 - February 25, 2014 11:27 a.m.

    Well, Strider was at least very good. It was a pleasant surprise for me.
  • BladedFalcon - February 26, 2014 12:20 a.m.

    Agreed, even in my highest of hopes, I didn't expect Strider to be as good as it turned out. I'm specially blown away by how despite being structured like a metroidvania in it's exploration, the actual gameplay, pace and combat feels completely fresh and different from other arguably "similar" games out there. Specially the speed, Man does this game make a great job in making you feel like you are a true agile ninja death machine zipping all over the damn place.
  • gilgamesh310 - February 26, 2014 1:12 a.m.

    I felt the metroidvania aspect could have been handled a little better. It was very hand holdy in that regard. But then I discovered that the previous games in the series didn't even have metroidvania, so the fact that it has it as well as very good combat with satisfying and responsive controls is still an accomplishment. I must play Shadow Complex some time soon. I hear that's meant to do metroidvania very well. It's probably better than most big budget games around now as well.

Showing 21-40 of 111 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 25 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Konami
Developed by: MercurySteam
Franchise: Castlevania
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Nudity

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.