Google+

Call of Duty: Black Ops super review

Back to Article

132 comments

  • spideralex90 - November 9, 2010 5:19 p.m.

    Oh also does the Campaign continually spawn enemies until you move forward like in MW1, or is it a set amount of guys like in MW2, i could not beat MW1 on veteran because they just kept coming in the War Room level.
  • Pwns4you - November 9, 2010 5:19 p.m.

    I've got to say I've got high hopes for this one, mw2 was a pile of sh*t with it's damn 2 hour long singleplayer and horrible multiplayer, but I after how good world at war was, I expect more from treyarch and I'm really excited about this. Don't you screw me over like you did with last call of duty review gamesradar!
  • spideralex90 - November 9, 2010 5:16 p.m.

    I like some of the new stuff in this game, but it seriously is Modern Warfare 2 set in the cold war. I'm going to wait for it to go platinum hits or until i can get it used for cheap to buy it. This isn't worth $60 to me.
  • Crabhand - November 9, 2010 5:10 p.m.

    Interesting review, about what I would expect with Treyarch thrust into the limelight. Maybe I'll consider buying it used next year and trying out the single player. Until then, the literal storm of more interesting titles should keep me occupied.
  • Mamudo - November 9, 2010 5:04 p.m.

    Never really cared for COD's story anyway...so if it's not that great, I'm not surprised.
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - November 9, 2010 4:58 p.m.

    @JADENkOTOR It doesn't play worse than MW2, it's just at times there are moments when you go 'this again?'. Kill streaks are back, I'm afraid. from what I played they weren't game breaking but then I didn't get chance to play against the rest of the world - just several other men in the same room as me. I hear you about opening up the maps. Some do feel bigger - like the one in the jungle - but nowhere near the size of Battlefield. @Presc1ence It's hard to put everything that you'd like into a review without spoiling things. The game feels slightly tougher than MW2. There are a few moments when you think the enemy will never be pegged back, especially in the rooftop chase and the Vietnam bunker bits. And I'd say I completed it on Regular in about seven hours. @infected123 It's purely coincidental. Now, where's that envelope of cash that Activision sent me. Shit, did I just type that? And this? Whoops.
  • GamesRadarJoeMcNeilly - November 9, 2010 4:55 p.m.

    Yeah, they played JFK pretty straight (till Five anyhow) but I still LOL'd at his cameo. Couldn't help it...
  • Brutalicus - November 9, 2010 4:48 p.m.

    Damn man that is a good elcor voice.
  • infected123 - November 9, 2010 4:25 p.m.

    *in an elcor voice* sarcastically: i love how you managed to remain impartial despite the fact that you have giant advertisements for this game all over your wesbite.
  • Lionzest7 - November 9, 2010 4:17 p.m.

    seems like another typical FPS from Activision. Gonna pass this up like most of the others from this generation.
  • JADENkOTOR - November 9, 2010 4:08 p.m.

    @ Howetzer: There you go acting like a tool again... Good review even though I would have docked a couple more points for having regressive gameplay... It just can't play worse and get a high score. I was also wondering if they opened up the multiplayer maps a little bit, falling more in line with what DICE is doing? MW2 didn't have enough variety in this area and I was hoping for a change. And I think I should already know this, but it sounds like they brought back kill streaks? Please tell me Im wrong.
  • presc1ence - November 9, 2010 4:06 p.m.

    OK the multiplayer looks the same, and that was basically the same in MW1.Fell more bell and whistles but same engine same set up same game. Blah balh............... So can we have more detials (or a more detailed review) of the campaign please? How long/short/easy/hard, does it make any sense etc etc etc etc
  • icbacomingupwithapropername - November 9, 2010 3:59 p.m.

    Omg you Activision loving call of duty bedwetters how much did treyarch pay you bias bias bias, any way not I've gotten that out of the way . Black ops seems good but I probably won't get it for a while.
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - November 9, 2010 3:51 p.m.

    Hello there, I just thought I'd jump back in to answer a few questions. Feel free to ask me anything about Black Ops and I'll do my best to answer as many as possible. @Daedazrael The better Cold War game - in my honest opinion - is Snake Eater. There haven't been many games since MGS3 that have come close to what Kojima did with that classic. Woods is indeed a sort of Snake clone but I don't recall him having a David Hayter voice. @Haikufrenzy JFK's voice is played straight-laced through the story missions but once in Zombie mode he sounds a lot like 'Diamond' Joe Quimby. NanoElite666 I'm pretty sure that all the zombie maps come with the Prestige Edition of Black Ops. @Howetzer Believe it or not but some people don't play online games. And at no point did I dismiss the multiplayer side of things so I'm not sure where your argument stems from. There's literally nothing I could write about the modes that wasn't already in the articles we did earlier in the year. Suffice to say it's brilliant and Wager Modes are awesome but it would've been impossible to review that side when we weren't even playing on live servers with other people from around the world. @theBeaz Fixed the strap. Cheers for the tip-off. 'Amaze' is intentional. It lazily says something is amazing and is used commonly by the youth of today. As I'm 29 next week I'm doing what I can to stay 'down' wid dem.
  • FoxdenRacing - November 9, 2010 3:50 p.m.

    Another vote for the 'meh' camp. Tons of hype, a little tweak here or there, but from the sounds of it this barely qualifies as an incremental improvement, let alone revolutionary or even remotely interesting. I can't help but laugh at all the talk of 'zomg here come the Halo fanboys', yet there are at least 3 times as many shrieking CoD fanboys ranting about bias and that it wasn't given a 17/10...when chances are they haven't played it to the extent the reviewers have, even! Back in the day every FPS was considered a Doom clone. Nowadays, "pure" FPS games have 3 varieties: Halo clones, Medal of Battlefield Duty clones, and Gears clones. The entire genre has been stale for years, and the sooner fanboys of all stripes take off their rose-tinted glasses and realize they're waiting in line overnight and paying through the nose for 'special' editions [if every game has a special edition, are they still special?] for what's essentially the same game (similar gameplay, similar weapons/items/abilities, similar look and feel) with different maps, rearranging which character has how much stubble, and different voice actors, the sooner we'll stop getting bland, cookie-cutter games. If I sound like a cranky old fart...well, I am, but that's beside the point...for anyone else old enough to remember, think back to other points in time where something worked and then was shamelessly redone: the slew of games on the Quake engine, the deluge of WWII shooters after the original MoH [or CoD, I don't remember which came first], [insert *anything here] Tycoon games...the industry has a long history of shamelessly ripping off [wildly successful game] until gamers get bored with it; the sooner you guys quit this p***ing match of whether John 117 could beat up Marcus Fenix or Captain Price like a bunch of grade-schoolers arguing over whose father is tougher, the sooner you can get new and interesting games again instead of the same old tripe multiple times each year. Until publishers stop making money hand over fist by changing that sign's texture from 'Welcome to Moscow' to 'Welcome to [some other city]', retexturing some guns, and tweaking a couple character models, that's exactly what they're going to do. And until gamers stop insisting on getting a AAA game every single year [COD has come out in 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, and slated for another in 2011], they're not going to get AAA games...they're going to get last year's game with a little bit of crap tacked on, because that's all the devs have time to do.
  • n00b - November 9, 2010 3:48 p.m.

    hope the multiplayer doesn't turn into a mess like mw2.
  • bluscorp - November 9, 2010 3:19 p.m.

    I've just looked at the Metacritic User reviews, and i thought some of these comments was fanboyish, lol. Can anyone tell why people seem to hate a certain game, without even playing it. It's laughable and sad at the same time, no wander gamers are still classed as nerds and not took seriously.
  • crazyer - November 9, 2010 2:27 p.m.

    "meh" really not excited for this game i go to school with guys that all have xbox's and play nothing but call of duty, halo, and sports games so im gonna be hearing about this game all of the time
  • theBeaz - November 9, 2010 2:21 p.m.

    Who proofreads these articles? "Treyarch almost step out of the shadow of Infinity Ward " "the second half finds its feet and suddenly Black Ops is amaze." C'mon guys. Sloppy.
  • CoryRX8 - November 9, 2010 2:14 p.m.

    I feel like the review is on-point, but the score really doesn't seem to match the text of the review. With GR's inconsistency on scoring (the numbers seem rather off-the-cuff instead of based on more formal guidelines) I can't help but think that may GR should switch to an Ars Technica style Buy/Rent/Pass system. That seems to work well for them, and it stopped a lot of the fanboy ranting about games being overrated or underrated.

Showing 81-100 of 132 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (US)
Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: n-Space, Treyarch
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+