Google+

Call of Duty: Black Ops super review

Excellent
Back to Article

133 comments

  • FoxdenRacing - November 9, 2010 8:32 p.m.

    @GR_Nathan: Doesn't make it any less heartbreaking (or hackle-raising), sadly. No one party is willing to blame, like you said; if nobody bought 'Game 2011: Now with a new number on the box!', they wouldn't make 'em. I suppose for all my talk about rose-tinted glasses, I'm very guilty of it myself...longing for the days before the Hollywood Mentality took over, when gamers weren't instantly averse to different things, so companies could go off the deep end and still have an honest chance at breaking even. Sure, for every Earthworm Jim there was a dozen Mystery Quests, even back then. I guess this is why I'd be a crappy 'modern' businessman; "Like [competitor] but..." strikes me as a stupid idea...to be remembered, to be the king of the heap, you want people compared to you, not the other way around. I blame where gaming is today at least partially on gaming going mainstream; not because it means games have to have a wider appeal [which has had at least one boon: it's gotten rid of a lot of the faux challenge of pixel-perfect precision], but because gaming still has a stigma; not nearly what it was 20 years ago, but it's still there. Now that many of us are in our late 20s, it's socially acceptable to do what used to be for dorks, dweebs, and nerds when we were 8-10...and I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of the push for raging biceps, razor-sharp stubble, and gore that'd make the Soldier of Fortune devs' stomachs turn comes from guys that (at least in the backs of their minds) think their masculinity is threatened by Kirby's very existence when in truth, it's not. Some of the Bratz games my 11 year old sister has, on the other hand... Granted, I'm the first to admit that I'm nothing if not opinionated; Justin Towell found that out the hard way when I took a rotten day out on one of his articles. If you happen to share an office, would you kindly offer my apologies? I put one in the comments of the article the next day, but would rather be sure he gets it.
  • SwampRock - November 9, 2010 8:21 p.m.

    I finished MW2's campaign in a day, it was OK but not great, maybe this campaign will take a day and a half. Now if they can put off releasing another CoD for 2-3 years and actually revitalize the series I think we'd all be grateful.
  • slowdrum13 - November 9, 2010 8:01 p.m.

    so its pretty much mw2 1/2 not getting
  • CancerMan - November 9, 2010 7:56 p.m.

    Hey Mr. Reviewer, you forgot to rate the campaign! How could I possibly know what you REALLY think!
  • Xleathery420X - November 9, 2010 7:56 p.m.

    its cuz its on tv and the dumb "cool kids" see and say cool and get there friends to say cool even if they dont really care for it cuz there ya know "cool" just like the shitty music on tv come on that shit is horrible and its like 20 bucks for a cd thats shit
  • Xleathery420X - November 9, 2010 7:46 p.m.

    im tired of call of duty time to take the dog out and shot it. BANG!
  • Tranquilbez34 - November 9, 2010 7:37 p.m.

    I'm so buying this
  • CAPST3R - November 9, 2010 7:01 p.m.

    How can you say that a game is a clone of it's predecessor, then go on to give it a 9? I'm disappointed in you GR, I thought you were better than this. 11 out of 14 of my online friends are playing this; I'm going to set my comment as an insult to Black Ops, and see how many people get angry with me, followed by me arguing with them for my own amusement, followed by me tallying up how many people I get bored of and block so they don't begin to irritate me. My record was 17, for MW2. And yes, this amuses me. I build up a friends list full of idiots before the release of any CoD, or CoD-like (i.e. crap) game, just so I have plenty of victims. It's a system I like to call 'bemuse, abuse, but never over-use'. Well, it has been since 14 seconds ago, anyway.
  • EpsilonSigmaMu - November 9, 2010 6:59 p.m.

    The game has went from a realistic first person shooter experience, to a terrible pile of 8 year old, dirty mouthed kids, white chocolate douche bags, crazed about either getting on an MLG team, or becoming a machinima.com director. Hack-crazed, stat-sucking, homophobic dumb-fucks.
  • Aletheon - November 9, 2010 6:58 p.m.

    Not even a rental. I'll just borrow it.
  • EpsilonSigmaMu - November 9, 2010 6:55 p.m.

    I must say, i can't stand call of duty anymore. I have never heard more about one game today at school than any other game ever. It's turned into a total douche-fest. I keep hearing how "OH, call of duty Black ops is gonna be game of the year for sure. Yeah. On spike tv maybe. And the sad thing is all the douchebags who talk about this game all the time, have really never played any real GOOD game that wasn't on the 360, and wasn't a shooter. I am sick and tired of this CoD craze.
  • PaperLampHoles - November 9, 2010 6:49 p.m.

    Bunch of call of duty bed weters
  • matt588 - November 9, 2010 6:39 p.m.

    hard to tell if multiplayer is better in black ops, the point system is good that you pay for what you want, but you pay for everything! gear and perks have to be bought, so i felt a distinct disadvantage to those with a lead. the weapons list feels stunted, since shotguns are now primary and there are no machine pistols the secondary is only pistols, launchers, and special(the balistic knife/crossbow), meaning the only way to get range is kill someone for their gun or undermount the shotgun. I do feel the killstreaks are more fun, since killstreaks don't add to killstreaks there is no longer the ussue of predator-harrier-AC130. the RC XD makes people jump on tables like they saw a rat, and it's very satisfying to coordinate with your dogs to hunt down the enemy. personally i feel the SMG is too powerful; as i have never won a SMG LMG battle
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - November 9, 2010 6:28 p.m.

    @FoxdenRacing Really enjoyed reading your comment and I can totally see where you're coming from. I reckon deep down we all want that game that feels like a complete breath of fresh air but they're big business now and as long as people queue around the block until midnight to purchase such incremental changes then I can't see it changing. Games that try new stuff like Okami can scare a company away from new IPs. It's a sad but very true state of affairs. Your assumption is correct. All eyes will be on 2011's CoD. @Presc1ence I can't see it happening soon. But that said, if they announced it tomorrow it wouldn't surprise me. Any chance to squeeze some more pennies out of the punter is always going to be an avenue of interest.
  • DustyRooster - November 9, 2010 6:21 p.m.

    Wasn't Alex Mason the name of the guy in Red Faction? I swear there is a pool of names that Devs and film makers have to pull from. "We will call this planet Pandora! And the main character will have a shaved head and be call Alex Mason, or Mercer or something" They should have more characters named Barry. Yeah, Barry.
  • xXxBLACKHALOxXx - November 9, 2010 6:21 p.m.

    It Got A Nine What The Hell Is Everyone Bitching About
  • presc1ence - November 9, 2010 6:02 p.m.

    Re: GamesRadar_NathanIrvine I know, lol! Thanks for that, really apprecitated! Was just after a bit more info on camaign as thats what'll sell it to me. I have a feeling I already know how most of the MP plays.lol! I do wonder about all this pay to play runbbish the luverly mr koetic mentioned though?
  • Darkhawk - November 9, 2010 5:45 p.m.

    Thanks for the profanity-laced review. I realise the game is M-rated, but you don't see reviews of R-rated movies that look like this. This is in very poor taste, GR. Maybe a parental warning for the site is in order?
  • sternparez - November 9, 2010 5:41 p.m.

    waitaminute...this scored higher than Clive Barker's Jericho. BIAS!!!!!
  • FoxdenRacing - November 9, 2010 5:24 p.m.

    @GR_Nathan: Thanks for jumping in on the comments; paints a better picture than the review alone did (I might be a crotchety old fart, but that's because games are a lifelong obsession, 25 years and counting...to the point I expect AAA games to be AAA, not gobs of hype riding on the back of past successes). If I'm reading you right, another 'Just for you, Metacritic' line might be: "By no means a bad game, but sadly it's more of the same; The series has gotten stuck in a rut." Am I right in that assumption?

Showing 61-80 of 133 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (US)
Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: n-Space, Treyarch
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.