Google+

Call of Duty: Black Ops super review

Back to Article

132 comments

  • Visual217 - November 10, 2010 2:13 a.m.

    This is a review, not a forum, no one cares if you were getting annoyed that you pumped like 10 SMG rounds into someone's chest and didn't die, thats always been COD, but you are very biased, Reach got a 7 while this got a 9 and this has been commented way more than Reach was, and in my opinion, they both are really good badass games...
  • TuckInYourPwner - November 10, 2010 2:07 a.m.

    9!?!?!??!?!?!? BIAS BIAS BIAS!!! CODY BLOPS IS WORSE THAT REACH BY FAR. DIDN'T MENTION THE HORRIBLE GRAPHICS
  • thecomplicatedwizard - November 10, 2010 2:02 a.m.

    the graphics seem a little uneven sometimes. still an intense, high quality shooter with addicting mutltiplayer nonetheless. and what could be more legit than fidel castro blastin away zombies with a shotgun?
  • jordanlacroix95 - November 10, 2010 1:59 a.m.

    well . not every CoD can be perfect , no reason to not get it , i mean it IS a new call of duty so i mine as well get it
  • HardMetalManiac - November 10, 2010 1:47 a.m.

    Personally I find the action more exciting with the greater stroy and the more interesting characters. I find it better then MW2 even.
  • lukespencer - November 10, 2010 1 a.m.

    88TH! I hate call of duty. Not because "I'm pissed because this owned halo". which it didn't. I tried call of duty modern warfare(more like call of the wild, modern WHOREFARE) a few years before i tried halo, and i thought it was boring. How the hell is sluggish controls, boring combat and near-identical weapons better than halo? I play games to escape reality, not embrace it. Sure, call me a halo fan boy. That's who i am.
  • SideOfBeef - November 10, 2010 12:44 a.m.

    I'm curious about this supposed napakm-to-stop-spawning-dudes section. I just finished the game, and I don't recall even encountering a situation where I had to do that, let alone getting stuck at it.
  • sleepy92ismypsn - November 10, 2010 12:39 a.m.

    Stop saying, "so your saying it's better than Halo Reach?" Of course it's better than Reach and Nathan Irvine is not Charlie barrat you dumb fucks. But...So Nathan, your saying Black Ops is just as good as Red Dead Redemption? No fucking way. RDR is the best game of this generation. WTF were you thinking giving RDR a 9? I give that game a 300/300. That's how many hours I played it and the number of hours I enjoyed the fuck out of it. Anyways, I picked up COD: Black Ops hardened edition and class can't get out soon enough.
  • Syncmaster - November 10, 2010 12:22 a.m.

    no comments on offline multiplayer, its missing then?
  • barrage7667 - November 10, 2010 12:15 a.m.

    YAY i havent faced any trur noob tubers yet but people are way to hard to kill if i shoot sum1 in the chest 4 times and they still find aay to get away for me to recover and kill me...something is very wrong
  • wedgie - November 10, 2010 12:05 a.m.

    I am surprised in the comparison to other games, Meal of Honor Modern Warfare or whatever was not compared. I would imagine these two being very similar. I am still on the fence about this one though. MW2 still left a bad taste in my mouth and I am getting tired of all of the Call of Duties, but they are still fun (just wish they were not every year).
  • fallenink - November 9, 2010 11:14 p.m.

    reading all your comments.... just wow.. :S calm down.. its only a recycled game!
  • Spybreak8 - November 9, 2010 10:21 p.m.

    I bet it's tough reviewing a memorable single player experience without mentioning spoilers. That said it is odd you didn't split the single and multiplayer up in your review with concluding scores. I might pick this one up eventually.
  • JimmyCooldaddy - November 9, 2010 10:05 p.m.

    did they still put the sterioscopic 3d in it?
  • Sully8764 - November 9, 2010 9:54 p.m.

    @ nathan: would I be right in saying that this game is a 9/10 based on the CoD series instead of "this as a game" 9/10. I think that would make more sense... and keep halo fanboys from shitting their pants! Either way I'll pick this up before the year is out. Good review, Nathan!
  • SumthingStupid - November 9, 2010 9:48 p.m.

    oh man looks like that MW2 but a little shinier what is the point to by a clone of the game you bought last year and it will probably have the same problems but for some reason people still love it
  • sid440 - November 9, 2010 9:27 p.m.

    @ deputy326 Ah but one could say the same exact thing for any franchise with over 3 games...IE CoD, i mean i love both of them but the fan base of both games are equally bad. i don't know whats worse a million loud mouth 14 year olds or half a million loud mouth 14 year olds and another half million kids who apparently can only say "fag" and "noob" or have a temper tantrum and quit when they get a negative K/D ratio, honestly games are supposed to be fun, all fanboys can go suck a chode i dont care what game you like.
  • crazyqazqaz - November 9, 2010 9:13 p.m.

    Ahh the old Kennedy, Macnamara zombie cliche. They're sooo unoriginal! tut! Soo getting this game now. Thought id get assassins creed first but looks like its gonna have to wait till christmas.
  • batmanboy11 - November 9, 2010 8:45 p.m.

    Too bad I won't have money for a few weeks...
  • FoxdenRacing - November 9, 2010 8:32 p.m.

    @GR_Nathan: Doesn't make it any less heartbreaking (or hackle-raising), sadly. No one party is willing to blame, like you said; if nobody bought 'Game 2011: Now with a new number on the box!', they wouldn't make 'em. I suppose for all my talk about rose-tinted glasses, I'm very guilty of it myself...longing for the days before the Hollywood Mentality took over, when gamers weren't instantly averse to different things, so companies could go off the deep end and still have an honest chance at breaking even. Sure, for every Earthworm Jim there was a dozen Mystery Quests, even back then. I guess this is why I'd be a crappy 'modern' businessman; "Like [competitor] but..." strikes me as a stupid idea...to be remembered, to be the king of the heap, you want people compared to you, not the other way around. I blame where gaming is today at least partially on gaming going mainstream; not because it means games have to have a wider appeal [which has had at least one boon: it's gotten rid of a lot of the faux challenge of pixel-perfect precision], but because gaming still has a stigma; not nearly what it was 20 years ago, but it's still there. Now that many of us are in our late 20s, it's socially acceptable to do what used to be for dorks, dweebs, and nerds when we were 8-10...and I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of the push for raging biceps, razor-sharp stubble, and gore that'd make the Soldier of Fortune devs' stomachs turn comes from guys that (at least in the backs of their minds) think their masculinity is threatened by Kirby's very existence when in truth, it's not. Some of the Bratz games my 11 year old sister has, on the other hand... Granted, I'm the first to admit that I'm nothing if not opinionated; Justin Towell found that out the hard way when I took a rotten day out on one of his articles. If you happen to share an office, would you kindly offer my apologies? I put one in the comments of the article the next day, but would rather be sure he gets it.

Showing 41-60 of 132 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (US)
Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: n-Space, Treyarch
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.