Google+

Borderlands 2 review

Great
Back to Article

30 comments

  • doominatorx6 - September 18, 2012 12:19 a.m.

    I ordered this on a whim, but I was bored to tears playing through the first one. Does playing it in co-op really make that much of a difference? Because from what I've heard, it does. Also, split-screen coop?
  • Bloodstorm - September 18, 2012 7:03 a.m.

    Borderlands is the most boring, insufferable game when you play it alone. That said, I've beat it 2 times with friends and had a blast. It makes all the difference.
  • Redeater - September 18, 2012 12:09 a.m.

    "Feels artificially long and bloated Side quests are uneven" Ugh, I had the exact same complaints about Darksiders 2. I ended up enjoying it in the long run so I may give this a try tomorrow as well.
  • patbateman17 - September 18, 2012 7:27 a.m.

    I'm glad you mentioned Darksiders 2, I'm playing through now and just got into the City of the Dead, I feel like the missions are becoming super repetitive and am not sure if I can stomach a second play-through or a collectable hunt (of which there are a million collectables). I did preorder BL2 though on a whim...so let's see how that goes :)
  • jackthemenace - September 18, 2012 10:05 a.m.

    Finished Darksiders 2 a little while ago, and, I don't know if you'll be different, but I just have no compulsion to play through it again, which is the same drawback the first one had. It's a pity, too. I went through once I'd finished and collected all 40 Book of the Dead pages, and I haven't touched it since.
  • patbateman17 - September 19, 2012 2:27 p.m.

    Whew, yeah I don't know if I can even do the collectable (sic?) hunting, there's just so much with the pages, relics, stones, etc. I wish they appeared on the map after you beat the game once, maybe they do - but I doubt it. I don't like having to slowly go through each and every area all over again just to find these things. I'm currently on the Rod of Arafel mission and may just need to take a break, of course I've put in 15 hours, so that's not bad :) It's just getting a bit samey.
  • Redeater - September 18, 2012 12:09 p.m.

    Sadly I don't think I will ever do a second play through. I'm glad I bought it to show support but I think it would have been better if they had shortened it up and given better side quests. Lets face it, bout 90% of the side quests all revolve around you collection 100 of something. Funny that you should mention City of the Dead......that is EXACTLY how I felt when I hit that point in the game.
  • patbateman17 - September 19, 2012 2:30 p.m.

    I definitely agree. I swear, if I have to collect three more of something in order to get to the actual objective of the mission... it's almost a given that you have to do it. Also, a few side missions had me traveling to one location, then another, then another, which then resulted in finishing the side quest...totally pointless. Also, screw the side quests to collect relics and stonebites, I mean really, unless you can purchase from Vulgrim or something the ability to have them on your map, it's ridiculous. The levels don't flow well enough for me to want to jump in and find these obscure items. Just beat City of the Dead and am about to jump into the Rod of Arafel, which I'm pretty sure means you have to collect 3 pieces only to get to the real objective, only to go back to the Archon and get your initial objective...only to be sent across the map to collect something else. I like this game, I really do (15 hours in) but I might just need a break. Good thing I have Borderlands 2 hahaha, ah well. Still a decent game, a solid 7 or 8 though.
  • MadMan - September 17, 2012 10:06 p.m.

    Short and sweet review, I like it. This game is already a definite buy for me and this makes me feel better about my purchase.
  • shawksta - September 17, 2012 9:46 p.m.

    NICE, great to hear it improves from the original, Im kind of a fan of Treasure Hunting/Collectathons so this pleases me.

Showing 21-30 of 30 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 18 2012 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Gearbox
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.