Google+

Batman: Arkham City review

Back to Article

118 comments

  • Mezolitik - October 14, 2011 9:53 a.m.

    Still delayed on PC though, I bet? The only thing that annoys me about this is the DLC-heavy approach to content. Yet another questionable bonus was added today, to the Green Lantern DVD. Otherwise, great! Though, what did you want thugs to say to Catwoman? "Ello dearie, fancy a cuppa?"
  • Evanesco - October 14, 2011 10:21 a.m.

    That wasn't today.
  • TriforcePlayer - October 14, 2011 9:52 a.m.

    Incredible!
  • inkyspot - October 14, 2011 9:44 a.m.

    IS it better than Gears of War, storywise. Yes I know they are different types of games. I'll be getting this on Tuesday anyway.
  • BladedFalcon - October 14, 2011 10:02 a.m.

    Um... are you joking? You have to be, I think. I'll bite, anyway. Changes are that yes, this game is better than GoW 3's story. Haven't played either game yet, but basing on the previous games of both franchises alone, Arkham asylum had a much better story overall,and a ton of extra info and extra story that was just delicious, arguably better than the main plot. And from the reviews I've read, everyone is unanimously praising the story in this one, even the ending, which was probably the weakest link in the first game's plot. GoW However, while it had an enjoyable storyline, both the first and the second, neither story is incredibly deep or complex, though usually well paced. And in this third installment, it's been pointed that the story isn't nearly as good, which very predictable moments and cliches. So, the way I see is, it's like asking which movie has a better story: The Dark knight, or the Expendables.
  • larkan - October 14, 2011 10:07 a.m.

    Gears of War has always been "go to point B and destroy baddies" with a little bit of Dom zombie wife thrown in...I think Minecraft has a better storyline than Gears. Well written review!
  • V22Dreamcast - October 14, 2011 9:33 a.m.

    First-day buy for me. Glad that Batman: Arkham city tops the excellent Batman: Arkham Asylum.
  • XanderGC - October 14, 2011 9:32 a.m.

    Fantastic review, well written and highlights the pros and ver little cons wonderfully. No spoilers to be had either, which is a bonus. From what I played of Arkham Asylum I was impressed and very much happy to play a good superhero game, so I am of course even more excited to play this one. I enjoyed Web of Shadows, but I do hope that the other devs out there can learn a thing or two from Bats and Rocksteady.
  • therawski - October 14, 2011 9:24 a.m.

    Because I've both followed GamesRadar and TalkRadar for so long, I basically just saw these words go by my screen: Charlie Barrett, 10, Pre-Order Now, Order Confirmed. I'll still actually read the review when I have some time, but I know I can trust this opinion.
  • n00b - October 14, 2011 9:06 a.m.

    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has the most retarded hacking I've done in any game. As long as i don't have to hack anything, or the hacking isn't necessary i think batman wins
  • EnragedTortoise1 - October 14, 2011 9:20 a.m.

    Ever played Alpha Protocol?
  • patbateman17 - October 14, 2011 8:26 a.m.

    Thanks GR for having the balls to give this a 10/10. I read other reviews on other sites and a lot of them balk at minor points just to give the game a 9.5 instead of the "all-coveted but increasingly ridiculous" score of 10. You guys are the best and the Super Reviews were a big reason for me switching primarily from Gamespot/IGN to GR.
  • larkan - October 14, 2011 10:09 a.m.

    IGN sucks, has for quite a while. They are sloppy with their reviews, often times leaving grammatical errors that would be considered inexcusable anywhere else. I love this site for it's intelligent and often times sarcastic/funny reviews and articles.
  • patbateman17 - October 17, 2011 9:30 a.m.

    Yeah I mean, I still go to IGN and I'm not one for bashing other sites, but I just appreciate when a site has the nuts to give a proper score. Also I'm biased because I seem to lean towards GR's scores inline with my own...except Castlevania:LoS...that game bored me to no end, although, not liking God of War, I probably should have known better and can definitely appreciate excellent games that fall outside my tastes. Currently smashing Mass Effect 2 (why is it so hard to recruit Morinth?!?!?!?) and then moving on to Deus Ex:HR which I'm super psyched about.
  • codystovall - October 14, 2011 8:11 a.m.

    Is this review spoiler safe anyone? All I can say is you lucky sob and yay 10
  • ZiltoidTheOmniscient - October 14, 2011 8:32 a.m.

    Completely spoiler safe. Don't worry. So glad I pre-ordered this now it's going to be AMAZING XD
  • MeabhieD - October 14, 2011 7:53 a.m.

    I won't be able to get this until Christmas... *dies a little inside*
  • Xtapolapopotamus - October 14, 2011 7:51 a.m.

    All the reviews have pretty different estimations on the game's length, which is kind of a moot point. I know I'm going to get lost in this game's atmosphere and world, so I can't wait to easily put 25+ hours into this. Should EASILY keep me busy until Skyrim, AC:R and so on. And I don't even really like Batman!
  • GhostbustTyler - October 14, 2011 7:48 a.m.

    God damn it Charlie! The wait for this game was bad enough and after reading this review I want it to be Tuesday right now even more! As soon as I get this game , my friends and teachers aren't going to hear from me for at least a few weeks.
  • taokaka - October 14, 2011 7:45 a.m.

    Good to know, I preordered it months ago and don't regret it one bit. But I'm still upset about no scarecrow for Arkham city.

Showing 81-100 of 118 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 18 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Oct 21 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: Rocksteady Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco, Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending