Google+

Batman: Arkham City review

Back to Article

118 comments

  • danger.to.others - October 14, 2011 12:19 p.m.

    Talking about what they'd like to do with Catwoman if they caught her isn't lazy writing, it's understandable thoughts. I'm guilty of at least once thinking the same thing. I'm not one to look with lust at pixels, but Rocksteady's Catwoman is...well, someone really had an eye for detail with her. And calling her bitch, these are the bad guys. And bad guys do tend to call women bitches. Even in the real world. But that's just more motivation for you to enjoy beating them unconscious. To think, those were your only negatives. I can't wait for my pre-order to show. Good review. I've read others and all are praising it, but this one touched on things I wanted to hear about. So thanks for that!
  • cosmicshambles - October 14, 2011 1:31 p.m.

    Yep. I hate sexism but it does exist, even in the real world as you say. Even if that wasn't the case, this is an artistic work of fiction - and a comic book one at that. Barratt's assertion that Rocksteady's portrayal of sexism is 'sad' and 'lazy writing' is pathetic. Lazy thinking. Reading that passage made me really angry. Anyway, great game by the looks. Peace.
  • profile0000 - October 14, 2011 12:02 p.m.

    Wow, a ten? Holy crap! I really liked Arkham Asylum, I guess I have to give this one a go as well. I would pick it up ASAP, but Rage and Dark Souls are taking up my free time.
  • KungFoo - October 14, 2011 11:47 a.m.

    Pre-ordered and, rather sadly, have booked the day off work to play it. I'm quite annoyed with Gamesradar if I'm honest. Today I was thinking how much I was looking forward to this game next Friday, now after this review, I want it even more!! Curses
  • PullinPower - October 14, 2011 11 a.m.

    Thank goodness for that, after playing through Arkham Asylum 3 times I'm glad to hear its predecessor has topped it. I know you only have so much space in one review but I would've liked to know if they handled the Detective mode better, as last time I found that I never turned it off. Other than that, brilliant review shall be playing as soon as possible.
  • PullinPower - October 14, 2011 11:02 a.m.

    Wait predecessor? Sorry wrong word there.
  • soulholders - October 14, 2011 3:28 p.m.

    The Machinima review covered that and said the Detective mode is improved--it's no longer a crutch that you turn on for the whole game--it's a tool used for select occasions.
  • TempariusMaximus - October 14, 2011 10:52 a.m.

    i know what i'm getting for Christmas!
  • Sjoeki - October 14, 2011 10:43 a.m.

    Cant wait for this game, and I feel sorry for you guys! How can you pick a Platinum challice winner when Portal 2, Batman Arkham City, Uncharted 3 and Deus Ex: Human Revolution come out in the same year?! And that's just some of the awesomeness that is 2011, I'm guessing there is going to be a big fight when you're making that list.
  • Brett35 - October 14, 2011 1:36 p.m.

    Do not forget about Skyrim
  • SunniDee - October 14, 2011 3:44 p.m.

    This is going to be the best holiday release of video games ever. And picking a winner for best game will be the toughest ever
  • Evanesco - October 14, 2011 10:25 a.m.

    Can't wait to get this monday night. I woke up early just to read reviews today.
  • Corsair89 - October 14, 2011 10:17 a.m.

    Okay, I need to buy Batman this week, Battlefield 3 next week, Uncharted 3 the week after, Skyrim and Super Mario 3D Land a week and a half later, and Skyward Sword the week after that. The next 6 weeks are going to be insane.
  • Plan10FromOuterSpace - October 14, 2011 10:41 a.m.

    I feel your pain, I have no money at all right now....so many games :/
  • Plan10FromOuterSpace - October 14, 2011 10:14 a.m.

    Im overjoyed to hear how good this game is, but it breaks my heart... there's just no way Im going to be able to afford it when it comes out, knowing how good some of the pre-order offers are makes this even worse! Ill play it for sure, once the price comes down...I have Deus Ex at the minute anyway. As for a sequel judging from your response this will be almost impossible to top, personally id like to see Rocksteady take their skills to other franchises, superman or spiderman maybe? Or there own new IP's, Im feeling Rocksteady have a hell of a lot to give us.
  • Evanesco - October 14, 2011 10:23 a.m.

    Regardless of what the last page of this interview says, take Deus Ex out of the disc tray, place it in the box, bid it farewell, and trade it in for a 25 dollar discount on one of the best games ever made. You won't ever look back.
  • Plan10FromOuterSpace - October 14, 2011 10:41 a.m.

    I wont lie, its so tempting...ive been Majorly disappointed by Deus Ex so far, if I could get the rest of the money it totally do it :'(
  • Ravenbom - October 14, 2011 10:08 a.m.

    Pre-ordered from Best Buy already. I really wanted The Dark Knight Returns skin, but I'll get that on DLC later. I figured with 3 Robin skins more challenge maps and a different play style with Robin that it was the best buy. (Pun intended)
  • inconceivable - October 14, 2011 10:06 a.m.

    "Yet from the moment we started Arkham City, all we could think was: Arkham Asylum was practice." My jaw dropped when I read that. I was excited about this game, but I never thought it would be able to top Arkham Asylum, especially that dramatically. I'm getting Uncharted 3 and this around the same time; how do I decide which to play first?!
  • idlemindkiller - October 14, 2011 10:06 a.m.

    So, I was thinking of watching some porn. Then I saw this review. Same result achieved. Midnight release can't happen soon enough! Great review of what looks to be my game of the century.

Showing 61-80 of 118 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 18 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Oct 21 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: Rocksteady Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco, Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending