Google+

Aliens vs Predator review

AT A GLANCE
  • Looks and sounds authentic (mostly)
  • Shocking gore
  • Multiplayer will last
  • Single-player is short
  • Somewhat bland level design
  • Confusing Alien and Predator controls

Our favorite sound, probably out of all of them, is the ones made by aliens when they’re being horrifically slaughtered in their second film, Aliens. It is, we think, based on a heavily distorted recording of a trumpeting elephant, sped up to make it absolutely terrifying in a way only the panicked, high-pitched scream of a flailing pachyderm can be. 

In second place it’s the dense, tinny shred of a pulse rifle. Every Aliens vs Predator game has understood the importance of replicating the most aurally recognisable aspects of its characters, and this release mostly continues that tradition. It sounds incredible, although we were a bit disappointed that many of the Predator’s sound effects appear to have been taken from the AvP movie, as opposed to the original Predator film. It’s a small issue, and one that won’t bother many, but we’re particularly fond of the original Predator’s vision and vocal sounds, which were replicated perfectly in Aliens vs Predator 2 back in 2001, so it’s a bit weird that they went with many of the weaker, “updated” sound effects. We really missed the wonderful whip-crack sound of the Predator vision kicking in.

Still, the overall sound design is rich enough to make us want to say words like “aural soundscape” and “crunchy sonic feast”. Here’s a game that’s mostly about inflicting horrendous injuries on deserving creatures, and it’s one in which you’ll appreciate every sinewy crunch, gargled howl, bloody slosh and hollow snap. Aliens vs Predator is sickeningly violent – more so in one of the three campaigns than the others, admittedly – in ways that are borderline comical and dancing on the periphery of decency.

Lovely, spine-tearing, eye-socket spearing madness then. Where the films lost credibility the moment they went PG, Rebellion’s AvP wears its M-rating with pride. In the area of brutality and scariness, these are Schwarzenegger’s Predators and Ripley’s aliens. Sadly, these are the same one-dimensional barking space marines you’ve seen a thousand times before, but the point stands – this game doesn’t flinch in showing you brutality on a level not seen since the early films. The good ones.

Three campaigns straddle the same plot arc, giving you three perspectives from which to view the various goings-on, and three markedly different experiences. The Marine draws the short straw: a panicking, fleshy sack of prey permanently seconds from being scythed in two by a swishing xenomorph tail. It’s a campaign of fear, into which Rebellion stir a steady stream of ratcheted tension. The cautionary beeping of your motion tracker is such a recognisable device that it hardly needs explaining, but here you go: the closer a moving object is to you, the higher pitched and more rapid the beep. The thing generates fear, and sounds just as you remember from James Cameron’s Aliens.

Registering false positives in nearly every darkened corner, the environment takes pleasure in suggesting random shadows might contain dripping alien death. You’ll be yelping at vents, alarmingly shaped shadows and dangling bits of wire which, in a case of misjudged engineering, look identical to the tails of lackadaisical, ceiling-dwelling aliens.

The Alien campaign, on the other hand, is a reduced affair. Weapons are replaced by tooth and claw, and the unique ability to climb on any surface allows you to stalk marines from the darkness like a pervert Spider-man.

Behind door number three is the Predator campaign, starring a more technical character who boasts thermal optics, camouflage, a plasma cannon, proximity mines, a big spear and a sharpened Frisbee. He can leap great distances: holding down the focus button projects a cursor onto platforms you’re pointing at, and, if it’s a valid spot, hitting jump will cause him to leap like a badass. Some may find this mechanic restrictive or too compartmentalized, but we enjoyed the ease in which we jumped around the environment.

More Info

Release date: Feb 16 2010 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Feb 19 2010 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Rebellion
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes
PEGI Rating:
18+

17 comments

  • danny-stuivenberg - May 9, 2012 9:55 p.m.

    Deliciously bloody. ;-)
  • AlexMercer1337 - February 28, 2010 3:22 a.m.

    Did you see the 1UP review? They should be arrested. 2.5...
  • TestDDs - February 22, 2010 2:46 a.m.

    IGN is gay, they gave this game a 7! Gamesradar as the balls to say "this is a good game." I have this game and it feels more of an 8.5. IGN is runned by a bunch of transsexuals that had to much brain damage from fucking themselves in the ass by there own reviews. What i'm tring to say is Gamesradr is an 8. And IGN is the F-ing 7.
  • danny-stuivenberg - May 9, 2012 9:57 p.m.

    'Xcuse me? A game receiving 7 is overall a good game. Gamesradar is one of the few sites to still give games fair ratings though. Most sites give 9s and 10s way too quickly.
  • idlemindkiller - February 21, 2010 9:26 p.m.

    Now I don't know what to think of this game. So many other sites and mags say this game blows hard. I played the demo and came away unimpressed, but I don't know how close that translates into the retail game. If any other GR staff would like to throw in their two cents it would be greatly appreciated. Ive loved both franchises since I was a kid way back in the 80's. Too bad Hollywood blew it with the Vs films. Thanks in advance.
  • GwaR - February 18, 2010 10:33 p.m.

    I wanted to take a moment to thank GR for actually reviewing the game in its entirety. Most of the review sites out there (Game Spy, Game Informer, Gamespot, etc.) seem to focus in on the Single Player campaign and completely ignore the most important aspect of the game, the multiplayer. Just wanted to throw out a quick kudos to GR for actually playing the WHOLE game before posting a review.
  • The_Tingler - February 18, 2010 2:55 p.m.

    True guys, but when I wrote that comment it was ONLY in the 360/PS3 section and not in the PC bit at all! I see that it's corrected now. Good.
  • jackthemenace - February 18, 2010 10:45 a.m.

    must. Buy. NOW. i really want the play.com version with teh awesome looking skins :D i love GR, they always release their reviews just in time for the UK to still pre-order
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - February 18, 2010 12:43 a.m.

    I played through the entire game on 360 and compared my experience to this writer's and found it to be the same. We always check different platforms against each other, as we are very aware that console and PC versions can be very different. In this case, they are not.
  • farsided - February 17, 2010 9:50 p.m.

    great review...much better than the whiny IGN one (seriously, it sounded like the guy played on multiplayer match as an alien, got his ass handed to him, and rage-quit) I'd give this game an 8.5: worthy of a buy if you can afford it...and rent it for a fun night with a couple of friends if you can't.
  • jar-head - February 17, 2010 8:40 p.m.

    Mr. Tingles, i Highly doubt the PS3/Xbox/Pc version of this game are Any different, besides the never ending battle of graphics. Why would a Reviewer piss his time to review(and purchase0 the same game, to only find the Smallest of details? Great review, you've purchased another winner GR!
  • oryandymackie - February 17, 2010 7:32 p.m.

    This sounds like a great game. It may be linear, but stalking terrified Marines as they quiver with their puny assault rifles sounds like a whole lot of fun. Unfortunately, I don't have Live and I'm not keen on multiplayer anyway so this is going to have to be a cheap pick-up.
  • The_Tingler - February 17, 2010 3:14 p.m.

    Um, guys? This is a PC review. It clearly says "PC Zone" at the top. What's it doing in the PS3/360 reviews section?
  • AlexMercer1337 - February 17, 2010 6:56 a.m.

    Wow, you guys are hard- ass. All the other sites are complaining about the "buggy" control system and such.
  • Yeager1122 - February 17, 2010 3:23 a.m.

    I might get this when the price drops theres to many other games i have to get before this but it sounds awsome online sounds really fun and diffrent.
  • rockzombie - February 17, 2010 2:14 a.m.

    This game is pretty good. I have played all three campaigns, and they are all different experiences. I would say the only downside right now is that not may people are online yet. If you are a fan of Aliens or Predator than you should definently get this game. GR's review is good, but I think some of the lower reviews from other sites are a little bias.
  • Metroidhunter32 - February 17, 2010 1:31 a.m.

    I. Want. This. Game. But I don't have a PS3 or and Xbox, and my computer lacks the power to run it. I must come up with something to let me get it.

Showing 1-17 of 17 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000