Google+

Aliens: Colonial Marines review

Mediocre
Back to Article

52 comments

  • PowZee - February 14, 2013 11:08 a.m.

    I'm almost through the campaign (solo) and I hope it's OK to say that I've been having a great time playing it and the story is pretty good too. The guns are fun and a lot of the action is too but you must play it in harder modes to get the intensity happening. Most reviewers who are bored with the action are probably playing it in the easiest mode. Yes, the graphics are dated / 2009 but it does not ruin the experience at all. But I agree that Gearbox should have done better. AvP a few years back had better graphics and was more intense, and you could play complete campaign as Marine, Xeno, and Predator . . . but if you love the Alien Universe you can enjoy this game. If you don't care at all about the Alien Universe games, then stick with Dead Space and Mass Effect and pass this one up.
  • interasteral7 - February 13, 2013 6:45 p.m.

    Has there been any good Predator video games?
  • frankenfurter - March 10, 2013 12:45 a.m.

    Yup, the original AvP and AvP2 on the PC.
  • interasteral7 - March 10, 2013 12:43 p.m.

    I meant any Predator video game that is not a crossover?
  • Spiderman - February 13, 2013 10:43 a.m.

    Yeah, I've played through the first few missions, tried the multiplayer. I'm not finding it to be offensively terrible or anything, it just sort of makes me shrug and play something else. Which is disappointing, but it happens. This is a good review, in my mind.
  • lewis-barclay - February 13, 2013 7:15 a.m.

    industries. sorry
  • lewis-barclay - February 13, 2013 7:07 a.m.

    That SUUUUUUCKS. I had high hopes for this too. They can pull off dead space but not aliens? First off don't give the license to gearbox. I'd give it too EA or capcom (jk about capcom) but maybe epic games or 343 studios?
  • Pruman - February 13, 2013 5:15 a.m.

    The sad thing is, I love Aliens so much that I will probably still pick this up at some point in the future, probably after it drops to $20 or less on Steam.
  • ultimatepunchrod - February 12, 2013 9:54 p.m.

    You'd think it wouldn't be that difficult to make a good game out of the Aliens or Predator license, but no one seems to be able to pull it off since AVP2 on the PC.
  • talleyXIV - February 12, 2013 4:42 p.m.

    In the review you said something about James Cameron directing the films. Ridley Scott directed Alien and that is the more influential, as James Cameron's Aliens would not even exist if not for Alien. "...there's really nothing fun about Colonial Marines." This quote should single-handedly make the game a 0.
  • GR HollanderCooper - February 13, 2013 9:32 p.m.

    Most of the things gaming has taken from the franchise came from Aliens, which Cameron directed.
  • metalgatesolid - February 12, 2013 1 p.m.

    Borderlands is one of the best FPS franchises on multi systems. How Gearbox can create a great FPS experience but stuff up possible great games, DN Forever could have been great. I say it alot on FPS reviews but BulletStorm shows how to create a new feeling FPS and make it the most fun FPS since Timesplitters 2.
  • Bloodstorm - February 12, 2013 3:38 p.m.

    To be fair, Gearbox had DNF for like, 4 months after getting the rights from 3D Realms. You can't blame all of DNF on Gearbox, just the facts that they actually released it.
  • kyle94 - February 13, 2013 10:39 a.m.

    Yea. Unless I'm remembering incorrectly, Gearbox just took what 3D Realms did, tried to patch up any major holes and quickly complete any unfinished sections, and then released it as quickly as possible.
  • Fox_Mulder - February 13, 2013 1:48 p.m.

    I'm with you, GearBox should stick to making original IPs, it seems those are the only ones worth a damn.
  • Redeater - February 12, 2013 12:45 p.m.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JBsimDxMRw Watch the video and then read the description. I just about died laughing because I didn't get it at first.
  • Nick_Pino - February 12, 2013 12:34 p.m.

    Bummer that the game's not great, but thankfully knowing ahead of time that it's not worth my time means it can avoid the backlog entirely and go straight to the closet.
  • shawksta - February 12, 2013 12:32 p.m.

    Dammnit gearbox, why do you suddenly make great games but then fall short out of nowhere, Oh well.
  • EAC73 - February 12, 2013 2:06 p.m.

    seems like gearbox can only do their original IPs great, not that other projects like the half life mods they took on early were bad, but BL and Brothers in Arms were perfected while DNF and apparently Aliens were very mediocre.
  • slimjim441 - February 12, 2013 10:56 a.m.

    Comparable to Aliens: Resurrection? That's harsh. To be honest, previews and trailers and such have been rather lackluster, but I guess I just really wanted this game to be good. I guess I'll be getting MGR for sure now. I just have to convince my pals to get Dead Space 3 for co-op instead of getting this.

Showing 1-20 of 52 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 12 2013 - PS3, Wii U, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Wii U, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Gearbox
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.