Star Wars Battlefront will ship with 12 maps

Star Wars Battlefront will have 12 battlefronts, to be specific. EA and DICE revealed the map count for the upcoming Star Wars shooter in an update to the official website detailing how they created the planet Sullust with the blessings of Lucasfilm and Disney.

All our Star Wars Battlefront details live here with everything we know so far.

DICE plans to entertain a variety of "battle fantasies" (DICE's unnerving choice of words, not mine) across those dozen maps. Some will be grand, open battlefields supporting modes like Walker Assault, while others will be smaller, denser settings for frantic firefights. The co-op friendly Battlefront Missions will take place across their own bespoke environments.

Apparently the Sullustan multiplayer maps will explore "a lava theme, sulfur theme, Death Star-inspired theme, and lastly a mine theme" - certain parts will look "almost as if the same architect who designed the Death Star left their mark" on Sullust's Imperial structures. The others will take place across Tatooine, Hoth, and Endor.

The planet Jakku, AKA that planet a Star Destroyer crashed into a few decades before Star Wars: The Force Awakens, will also appear in some free post-launch DLC.

Connor Sheridan

I got a BA in journalism from Central Michigan University - though the best education I received there was from CM Life, its student-run newspaper. Long before that, I started pursuing my degree in video games by bugging my older brother to let me play Zelda on the Super Nintendo. I've previously been a news intern for GameSpot, a news writer for CVG, and now I'm a staff writer here at GamesRadar.