Skip to main content

Black Swan wins big at the Independent Spirit Awards

There's still time to cram in one more lot of awards before the movie calendar's main event, the Oscars, takes place tonight.

The Independent Spirit Awards were handed out yesterday, and Darren Aronofsky's Black Swan was the big winner, scooping four awards including Best Feature, Best Director and Best Actress for Natalie Portman.

Oscar host James Franco was named Best Actor for his performance in 127 Hours , and Banksy's Exit Through the Gift Shop won Best Documentary (though the elusive artist apparently didn't turn up to collect the award).

The full list of winners is as follows:

Feature: Black Swan

Best Director: Darren Aronofsky ( Black Swan )

Best Screenplay: Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko ( The Kids Are All Right )

Best Male Lead: James Franco ( 127 Hours )

Best Supporting Male: John Hawkes ( Winter’s Bone )

Best Female Lead: Natalie Portman ( Black Swan )

Best Supporting Female: Dale Dickey ( Winter’s Bone )

Best Cinematography: Matthew Libatique ( Black Swan )

Robert Altman Award: Please Give

Best First Screenplay: Lena Dunham ( Tiny Furniture )

Best First Feature: Get Low

Best Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop

Best Foreign Film: The King’s Speech

John Cassavetes Award (best feature made for under $500,000) : Daddy Longlegs

Piaget Producers Award: Anish Savjani ( Meek’s Cutoff )

Someone To Watch Award: Mike Ott ( Littlerock )

Truer Than Fiction Award: Jeff Maimberg ( Marwencol )

After the Oscars are handed out tonight, expect things to go quiet on the movie awards front for the next 10 months or so.