Actors Guild ignores Brokeback...

As we enter the home stretch and the Oscars loom, there was a surprise in store for Brokeback Mountain at the Screen Actors Guild Awards last night. It didn’t win anything. But it didn’t go entirely empty handed this weekend: Ang Lee scooped the Directors Guild prize for his work on the drama.

Still, the Screen Actors Guild decided to focus on the likes of Philip Seymour Hoffman, who added a trophy to his Golden Globe for Capote, while Reese Witherspoon won Best Actress for Walk The Line and Rachel Weisz scooped Best Supporting Actress for The Constant Gardener.

Paul Giamatti was also gonged – he took Best Supporting Actor for Cinderella Man. And the Crash cast shared the Ensemble Award.

In the TV categories, Kiefer Sutherland had a much better day than Jack Bauer generally tends to, grabbing Best Actor In A Drama Series for 24, while Grey’s Anatomy’s Sandra Oh was another Globe winner who walked away with a Best Actress (TV Drama) SAG trophy.

Paul Newman and S Epatha Merkerson won Actor & Actress in the TV Movie/Miniseries, and Felicity Huffman kept on taking home awards as she won Best Actress (Comedy). Sean Hayes won Best Actor (Comedy) for his role as Jack on Will & Grace. Finally, the TV ensembles were – you guessed it – Lost (Drama) and Desperate Housewives (Comedy).

The Total Film team are made up of the finest minds in all of film journalism. They are: Editor Jane Crowther, Deputy Editor Matt Maytum, Reviews Ed Matthew Leyland, News Editor Jordan Farley, and Online Editor Emily Murray. Expect exclusive news, reviews, features, and more from the team behind the smarter movie magazine.