Google+

XCOM: Enemy Unknown review

Excellent
Back to Article

23 comments

  • Darkhawk - June 20, 2013 12:29 p.m.

    Reminds me a lot of the board game Pandemic - you spend all this time balancing resource development, deploying specialists across a world map... and ultimately you lose. (Seriously, you lose about 75% of the time you play Pandemic, but it's still fun.)
  • neosapien - October 27, 2012 8:45 a.m.

    Well, to be honest i've heard of this game when i was like 7 or 8 years old, but i was too young, so i usually played mario and zelda, i played the demo of XCOM on the Xbox 360, it was pretty good!!
  • talleyXIV - October 21, 2012 10:06 a.m.

    This game is amazing.
  • Rhymenocerous - October 10, 2012 10:51 a.m.

    So do we only have one base then? I think you could have about 8 on the PS1/PC version, if I remember rightly.
  • winner2 - October 9, 2012 3:27 p.m.

    I haven't been paying much attention to this, mostly because I never played the original. But this looks pretty awesome, so I think my christmas list just got one item longer. Gonna to go into battle with Tim Wilson, Ron White, James Gregory, and Rodney Carrington.
  • GoldenEagle1476 - October 9, 2012 2:15 p.m.

    Never payed much attention to this game, but I'm really thinking of getting this now.
  • avantguardian - October 8, 2012 5:12 p.m.

    gets here tomorrow. love it when my preorders don't let me down.
  • BladedFalcon - October 8, 2012 5:03 p.m.

    Wow... Hrm, so i hadn't been paying attention to this one at all. But I mean... A good Turn Based Strategy games AND that plays well on consoles? I can't say no to that!
  • brickman409 - October 8, 2012 4:58 p.m.

    looks pretty good, although I kinda miss that fps X-com game
  • Viron - October 8, 2012 11:47 a.m.

    Thank god I forgot about this, now my week looks 500% better. More games need to sneak up in their releases, pleasant surprises are the best kind.
  • Fitter89 - October 8, 2012 11:04 a.m.

    You mentioned that it sometimes feels like the odds are against you, but I like the idea of knowing that if I just sent in some elite troops then it's not going to be an easy win. Saying that, if they get a pot shot at my Chuck Borris, then I am going to go ape ****.
  • jimbobmcclan - October 8, 2012 10:33 a.m.

    What? No building your own Bases?
  • 7-D - October 8, 2012 10:27 a.m.

    Wow, this one snuck up.
  • Stabby_Joe - October 8, 2012 6:09 a.m.

    I'm glad this is getting very positive reviews so far, it pretty much goes to show that you can take an old genre and keep it fresh without changing everything for the sake of "broad appeal". *cough* XCOM FPS *cough* HOWEVER, how is the interference between console and PC?
  • ObliqueZombie - October 9, 2012 9:24 a.m.

    Slightly faster with the running, reduced loading times, *slightly* better graphics, etc. etc.
  • Bossco - October 8, 2012 6:04 a.m.

    I loved this on the PS1 so I'll be purchasing a copy. Does it play OK on PS3 or is is better to get the PC version?
  • Exiousa - October 8, 2012 7:51 a.m.

    Game play is pretty much identical no matter what version, the interface on the PC is tweaked a little and a few small nudges in the PC's to fans of the original game. It really comes down to what you are most comfortable gaming on, perhaps even if you want the multi-player side too, how many friends you have either on PS3 or PC and have this game. Cannot go wrong with any version of this :) As far as I have read a lot of reviewers on early builds of the games have all enjoyed grabbing a game pad on PC to play it like a console too, but even the PS3 and Xbox versions people have played very smoothly with no problems! So just get the version you feel most comfortable with :D If it helps there is a online video showing you the Interface differences of the PC one if that helps sway your decision! Just do a search for "XCOM PC Interface" ;)
  • taokaka - October 8, 2012 5:40 a.m.

    This review just made me want to go back and finish valkyria chronicles, I might get this some time down the line because this year and early next is fully booked out.

Showing 1-20 of 23 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 09 2012 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: iPad, PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Strategy
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Firaxis Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.