Google+

Topics

deals

We Recommend By ZergNet

59 comments

  • shawksta - November 21, 2012 7:32 p.m.

    "You'll hate: That nothing takes full advantage of the system's power (yet)" Well duh, NEVER has a new console did its best job at launch. Great review, really nails the positives and negatives. The fact that the Wii U got almost perfect ports means its in high hopes for 3rd Party, now we just need devs to Fully utilize the Wii U's true potential. The Wii U's launch game is one of the better, and if your gonna complain about graphics, remember Call of duty 2 was a 360 Launch title, compare that game to now, its ugly plain and simple. The fact that the Wii U is on par to the 360 and PS3 at launch shows its off to a great start. Goddamn gamestops, hurry up and call me for my backorder!
  • garnsr - November 22, 2012 8:37 p.m.

    The fact that the system's only supposed to be a little more powerful than current consoles, and the ported games are from systems that have been improving for seven years means to me that the launch titles might be near the full advantage of the system. The fact that the Wii U is only on par with seven year old systems seems a little alarming to me.
  • shawksta - November 22, 2012 9:54 p.m.

    What do you expect? For the games to look crappier to mean its not used to its full potential? Really now. But I see where your coming from, patience, baby years are always filled with worries
  • LKJHGFDSA - November 24, 2012 7:16 p.m.

    Patience? They've had years already. Atleast give us a tech demo or some impressive preview footage.
  • shawksta - November 25, 2012 4:46 p.m.

    "tech demo or some impressive preview footage." 2011 Zelda said hi http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27Lf4uVuE50
  • FireIceEarth - November 29, 2012 12:16 p.m.

    That was just them trying to demo a HD Zelda to get people excited, they never said that was the same hardware, personally I think that was running on something a bit more souped up.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2012 9:01 p.m.

    They never said the Gamecube Tech demo was the same hardware and yet it was amazing and the Wind Waker became BETTER than it. The important factor in that Tech demo, is that it was INTERACTIVE and not just a simple tech demo, you were able to view different angles and change the lighting
  • Effinae - November 18, 2013 5:26 p.m.

    Honestly, I just thought it was awesome seeing an old school Mario game (NSMB WiiU) running in full HD. I really look forward to all the other Nintendo franchises coming to HD. The sharpness combined with the cartoony graphics doesnt need the extra horsepower and still looks awesome. I should also add that I mainly play games on the PC and I do have an inner graphics whore. So this isn't coming from someone who doesn't enjoy the realism approach to game graphics.
  • masterjoe123 - November 21, 2012 4:51 p.m.

    I'm just waiting for Pikmin 3.
  • Redeater - November 21, 2012 4:05 p.m.

    I'll admit I was very skeptical before its launch. After buying one and getting past some of the launch bugs I highly recommend anyone on the fence to get one. It's just so pleasant to see people having fun and posting optimistic upbeat comments and drawings. Enjoy it while it lasts people. This is a golden time when almost all of a community is positive and helpful before we have to suffer the trolls and every other kind of douche the Internet has spawned.
  • A000 - November 21, 2012 4:11 p.m.

    I've been meaning to ask people who actually own it what games they've got/recommend. I've got mine preordered for the UK launch with NSMBU and Nintendoland. I've also got ZombiU ordered but I'm considering changing it to something else. Any recommendations for alternatives if you have any games not mentioned? Or if you have ZombiU, how are you finding it? I think user opinions would be of more use to me than journalists reviews (they can almost never be trusted).
  • Redeater - November 22, 2012 12:03 a.m.

    Crap, sorry I hope you get this since I just got home and it's pretty late. I would hang on to ZombiU. It has gotten some negative reviews but I'm actually enjoying it quite a lot. It has a very old school brutality that I find quite endearing. If you have any doubts I suggest reading the Destructoid review of it. It pretty much sums up everything I like about the game.
  • Nexus_Infernum - November 30, 2012 6 a.m.

    ZombiU is AWESOME, the bad reviews it got were from people that don't remember the good old survival horror games of the PS1 days, give it a chance and ou won't regret it!
  • Rub3z - November 21, 2012 3:33 p.m.

    Two words, amigos: Rayman Legends. Also the Platinum Game that's coming out. And the whole Miiverse integration is awesome, as is using the gamepad, which i am using to type this. Well, time for Mario Bros. U.... :D
  • Moondoggie1157 - November 21, 2012 3:04 p.m.

    It's kind of silly to say that the WiiU is a next generation console while it is only keeping up with the power of current generation consoles (which was also implied). Once Rayman Legends and Bayonetta 2 are released I might look into it, but by then one of the newer consoles will likely take my attention. As much as I hate to say it (and I seriously do) I don't think Nintendo has their finger on the pulse of gamers... Not to say the Wii U won't be successful, I think it will dominate. But, it looks like instead of pushing the quality of gaming to the next level, Nintendo decided to stay safely on par with the current level while merely adding another novelty. You're better than this Nintendo, you won the console wars of the yesteryear, the long-long ago... I really hope i'm proved wrong, but yea, definitely hasn't happened yet.
  • A000 - November 21, 2012 3:45 p.m.

    The Wii was Nintendo's entry in this generation. The Wii U is their entry in the next generation. The 360/PS3/Wii and seventh generation. The Wii U (and MS's and Sony's next systems are eighth generation. It's that simple. I don't know why people have such a problem understanding that. I'm sure we'd all like it to be an absolute mind blowing absurd powerhouse, but thats just not the case. They could just re-release the the NES and it'd still be "next gen" as it would be their entry into the next generation. Also, I think we need to actually wait until we know the hardware specs of the Wii U before we condemn how close it is the 360/PS3. The only spec we know for sure is the RAM. 4X as much as the 360/PS3. Give developers some time, they'll make Wii U games the 360/PS3 wouldn't be capable of.
  • Moondoggie1157 - November 21, 2012 6:03 p.m.

    I get WHY it's called next gen. But shouldn't generations of consoles be determined by the tech. and advancements rather than what iteration of console it is? Like you said, they could re-release the NES and that would be next gen. But really... should a console be given that title even if it technically isn't anything new? I dunno, call me a cynic, but I don't think a touchscreen gamepad is enough of an innovation. But hey, I guess we'll see what's capable of, maybe we'll be surprised... Honestly though, I think it's gonna be the Wii all over again; current tech plus sparkly, novelty do-dads. And that isn't a bad thing for a lot of people.
  • A000 - November 22, 2012 1:04 a.m.

    No. If we used tech/power as the definition for "next generation" then the 3DS and Vita would be in different generations, which they are not. You could also argue that the PS2 and original Xbox were also different generations, considering that at the time, the power difference between the two was quite a bit. Though marginal by todays standards, back then, the difference was pretty big. Generations have to be based on time, its the most reliable method of doing it, otherwise you get situations like this where one company releases a console where the power might not be a huge leap, but its still going to compete with the other systems out later that will have a larger difference. We could say that the Wii U is next generation, and then when the next xbox and playstation come out, considering how much powerful they'll be, they could be yet another generation (ninth gen) ahead of the Wii U completely skipping eighth gen. And that would be a ridiculous thing to say. Generations have to be based on time rather than anything else, otherwise things stop making sense. You can be a cynic of the Wii U. I'm a bit worried about it myself. But it is what it is. A (probably) minor graphical upgrade with all the new tech and tricks of the gamepad. We'll just have to see what power developers can squeeze out of it in the coming months/years, and how they can put the gamepad to good use.
  • Effinae - November 18, 2013 5:29 p.m.

    Webster's. generation.
  • shawksta - November 21, 2012 7:35 p.m.

    Wii U is a different structure of a console, its using today's tech with improvements, however, the main focus isnt having super Powerful graphics and tech. And also, its LAUNCH so you cant expect the SUPER BEST USE of ANYTHING at Launch, so far the Wii U is doing great porting 360 and PS3 games almost flawlessly so we just wait to see devs take Full use of the system. Its innovation and true potential is the "Next Gen"
  • Moondoggie1157 - November 21, 2012 8:10 p.m.

    I get where you're going, shawksta... I just worry that this fad of focusing on novelty accessories instead of true innovation is going to spread console-wide. I mean the Move and Kinect are proof of this throughout the present gen. Can you imagine a whole generation of that crap? I know it's already here in a way, but it isn't the main focus yet. I worry that Nintendo is going to change that. I know it's too early to judge the Wii U, and I am still 50/50 about buying the console (Rayman legends and Bayonetta 2, fuck yea). But the Wii was such a huge success mostly based on novelty, why would Nintendo change their formula now? Anyways... I'm not going to bash any console over another, quality is quality. I really do hope that Nintendo proves me wrong.
  • TrAnMu - November 23, 2012 9:54 a.m.

    Right because the 360 at launch totally blew the PS2 at the end of its cycle out of the water. Go look at some gameplay of 360 launch games. They were pretty damn ugly by todays standards. No console at launch is fully utilized. To this day the PS3 doesn't get pushed to its limits because its easier for multiplatform releases to be programmed for the weaker of the consoles and just be ported over. This is almost certainly the case with the WiiU ports now. The games on par with current gen consoles because the were written for current gen consoles. So because of those reasons I think you need to give the system a bit more time than four days to prove its worth and strength. :/
  • SanicFast - December 1, 2013 1:13 p.m.

    See, the thing that's unique about Nintendo is that they don't rely on graphics and being "Next Gen" type. They rely on their gameplay. Which I think is quite unique. I get bored of all the good titles for other games being either multi-platform or just a generic FPS. Not saying all their games are... But most.
  • richy-rich- - November 21, 2012 2:48 p.m.

    is it worth 400 bucks to play nintendo land or new suoer mario brothers?
  • Z-man427 - November 21, 2012 2:44 p.m.

    I'm waiting until I know what other consoles will be like.

Showing 41-59 of 59 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.