Google+

Vanquish super review

AT A GLANCE
  • Ridiculously fast, sometimes to a silly degree
  • Continually springs cool new surprises on players
  • Relentlessly fun, even during "ordinary" firefights
  • Waiting for the suit to cool down
  • Heavy use of motion blur can make visuals look fuzzy
  • Over just a little too soon

If it were possible to make a game out of the phrase “F**K YEAH!!!,” with the three exclamation points and everything, it would probably come out looking a lot like Vanquish. At least, those are the words I wanted to repeatedly yell (sans asterisks) as I drilled apart Communist robot legions with an assault rifle, executed countless rocket-powered knee-slides to escape massive chainsaw-shaped troop transports, and slowed time to gun down enemies as they roared overhead on an upside-down runaway monorail car. No other phrase quite captures the thrill of tearing ass through Vanquish’s overwhelming odds and smashing down robots dozens of times your size, unless maybe you throw in a few “grrrrs” and “rrggghs” for good measure.

If the above doesn’t paint a vivid-enough picture, Vanquish is fun. Ridiculously fun. A cover-centric, Gears of War-influenced shooter that pokes fun at that game’s grunting, gore-soaked manliness while melding it with a shiny, distinctly Japanese vision of the spaceship-and-robot-filled future, Vanquish distinguishes itself early on by being extremely fast and frantic, hurling dozens of enemies and bullets and huge, crashing set-pieces at you and daring you not to run for cover.


Knight in robot armor

At the same time, the game makes you feel like a genuine badass by putting you in control of Sam Gideon, a chain-smoking DARPA researcher who’s sent to help free an American space colony/city-microwaving superweapon after it’s conquered by an army of robots controlled by the newly restored, newly rogue Soviet Russia. In addition to being gravel-voiced and nearly unflappable, Sam’s in control of a robotic super-suit called the ARS, which enables him to soak up a ton of damage, punch through steel and perform high-speed rocket slides to get wherever he needs to go. It comes with a gun that can mimic the shape of any firearm, but can only carry three “blueprints” at a time (a convenient way of explaining where Sam keeps all his guns).

It can also slow down time to enable rapid movement and targeting, which is particularly handy if you’re trying to shoot down a volley of enemy missiles, or just hammer a huge, fast enemy’s weak spot before it can turn away. (It also kicks in automatically when you’re near death, an extremely useful feature that gives you the chance to run and heal behind cover, or to get in the last few crucial hits needed to kill your enemies.)


Above: A helpful diagram of Vanquish’s many onscreen elements 

Having all these cool tricks at your disposal means that, while the action can get intimidatingly thick, you’re able to charge through the danger, smash your enemies and turn their own huge turrets and vehicles against them before they even know what’s happening. It’s exhilarating, but there’s a catch: push the suit too hard, and it’ll overheat, at which point you’ll have to wait for its onboard reactor to vent and cool down. Rocket-boost for too long, or fail to disengage your bullet time before an onscreen meter runs out, and you’ll be vulnerable and weakened for a few crucial seconds. You’ll be in the same boat if you successfully punch anything, which is supremely irritating, but is probably in place to balance out the coolness of Sam’s one-hit melee kills.


Above: Still totally worth it 

So, that’s about the extent of the abilities you have at your disposal. Well, that and a handful of different gun types, which along with simple upgrades are scattered liberally throughout every battlefield. These range from shinier versions of conventional firearms, like assault rifles, shotguns and sniper rifles, to more futuristic weapons like a lock-on laser, an “LFE gun” that shoots huge energy balls and a seemingly crappy disk launcher that suddenly becomes amazing when you discover it can double as a close-quarters chainsaw. Oh, and you’ll also have access to two types of grenades: frag, which blow things up, and EMP, which hilariously paralyze your enemies and make them easy targets.

Finally, you can duck behind cover to dodge volleys of enemy fire (although you’ll learn early on that this won’t keep you safe from all attacks), and while you can’t blind-fire, you can pop up to squeeze off a few aimed shots at your enemies before ducking back down. And while you may be tough as nails, sometimes it’s better to hide let the game’s ever-changing group of friendly space marines (who fight independently of you and are led by the grizzled, bionic arm-toting, even-more-raspy Lt. Col. Burns, the closest thing Sam has to a constant sidekick) take a few lumps for you.


Above: See these men? Think of them as your personal bullet-sponges 


Plenty to see here

Vanquish isn’t a terribly complicated game from the perspective of what you’re able to do, but there’s a lot more to it than simple run-and-gun. Created by Platinum Games (the minds behind Bayonetta, MadWorld, Viewtiful Joe and Okami) and Resident Evil creator Shinji Mikami, Vanquish is a game that takes great pride in A) looking really pretty, B) mixing subtle parody with over-the-top ultraviolence, and B) throwing players into huge, world-shattering (sometimes literally) set pieces.

More Info

Release date: Oct 21 2010 - PS3
Oct 19 2010 - Xbox 360 (US)
Oct 22 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Platinum Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

81 comments

  • Sleuth - October 21, 2010 4:17 p.m.

    Looking forward to picking this up.
  • McNeelyJ - October 21, 2010 2:51 p.m.

    How is this game scoring so well? Is it better than the demo that was released on xbox live...because that left me very unimpressed.
  • InfinityPrimo - October 21, 2010 2:20 p.m.

    In Japan right now playing Vanquish as it is already the 21st. Really fun but I'm going to be honest. This game absolutely needs multiplayer. I still can't believe it doesn't have it. In my mind its great. Good pace, fun to play, not very original but it hits the head on what videogames are meant to be at times, SIMPLY FUN. My only gripe is multiplayer. THATS IT
  • AngryScotsman - October 21, 2010 1:51 p.m.

    @GamesRadarMikelReparaz There actually is a tutorial in the demo, a very thorough one, in fact. I immensely enjoyed the demo and I'm sure that I will immensely enjoy the full experience, however I do not possess enough monies for which to trade at the electronic merchant stall. I may have to part with a sheep.
  • Cruddi - October 21, 2010 12:48 p.m.

    is that a mistake the double "b)" at the end of the first page?
  • TheCommunist - October 21, 2010 4:03 a.m.

    Lol killing commies is fun. This game looks amazing as well
  • 19Pakk99 - October 20, 2010 11:57 p.m.

    I have no idea how the word "Impowdy" got inserted into my post. It must have been the wine.
  • 19Pakk99 - October 20, 2010 11:55 p.m.

    Played the demo. This game blows. The cover system is broken. The player model seems detached from the game world. The animations are horrendous.Impowdy If your idea of a great game is a mindless shoot-a-thon, then you'll love Vanquish. Maybe the full game is better than the demo, but I doubt it.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - October 20, 2010 10:14 p.m.

    At the risk of sounding like an ass, are those of you who think the demo's boring sure you're playing it right? Have you tried rocket boosting, shooting while boosting, or aiming in the middle of a dodge roll to manually enter bullet time? I just worry maybe some of you aren't taking full advantage of everything you can do, especially since I understand there's no tutorial in the demo. Or that maybe you're playing too cautiously, when you're supposed to be balls-out reckless. If you've done all that stuff and you still think it's dull, then I don't know what to tell you. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree.
  • Pruman - October 20, 2010 8:32 p.m.

    After playing through the demo four times last night, this has gone from "wait and see" to "buy it NOW!!!!!" for me. It feels like Crysis mixed with Contra (which is the first thing I thought of when I saw the boss's glowing weak spot), except that you have all of the suit powers at once.
  • blakebeauchamp - October 20, 2010 8:17 p.m.

    vanquish is awesome, the controls are tight, visuals and setpieces are just straight out awesome and the boss fights are challenging but not ridiculously hard.
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - October 20, 2010 5:32 p.m.

    @n00b - if you've been playing it since it's come out, chances are you don't suck ;D I need this game. And the free time to play it. And I STILL haven't picked up 3D Dot Heroes yet :( And I wanna pre-order LBP 2. ARRRGH *ragequit*
  • marioporfirio - October 20, 2010 5:18 p.m.

    this is awesome. great review.
  • EdDeRs1 - October 20, 2010 2:19 p.m.

    well the ammount of cash i need for christmas just keeps growing
  • Syncmaster - October 20, 2010 1:14 p.m.

    this is better than gears2 single player? pff. no way. this game is too mindless for me
  • crumbdunky - October 20, 2010 9:36 a.m.

    I don't get all the Gears comparisons in the review myself. Just playing the demo shows you that playing Vanquish as you would Gears would be useless, dull and totally frustrating. You're so overpowered for that role it's ridiculous and to enjoy the game you have to use all the available things Sam can do. Once you're powersliding around at mach2, squeezing in and out of bullet time to attack huge robotic things before getting up close to bosh them with one hit the game makes so much more sense. Cover is there opnly for when you run out of suit gas whereas in Gears it's the main strategic point of combat-and, tbh, Gears didn't invent that either but rather almost perfected it. No, Vanquish is about the pace and variety of combat allied to amazing bosses and set pieces and makes up for lack of MP replay value by being old school high score minded. A lot of reviewers either missed the point and cried about it's length or misse the point and wanted toi play it like a normal cover shooter. If you don't make those mistakes Vanquish is an amazingly fresh breat of gaming air and well worthy of a place in your colection. There's nothing quite like it.
  • TheWebSwinger - October 20, 2010 7:39 a.m.

    No really, this game is amazing, bases solely on the demo. It's that good and I want this game SO BAD.
  • Lionzest7 - October 20, 2010 6:30 a.m.

    So for anyone wondering if you should buy this. Now that I've started playing and am throughly enjoying it, I'd recommend it to anyone. It's a lot of fun, I'm even doing it hard mode first shot just because some people have mentioned the length to be an issue. Playing it on hard mode is certainly taking a lot more effort/time. Personal bias section: Buy this because there isn't going to be any other game like it. It feels way better than gears and more rewarding, the gameplay is not only picked up in pace, but everything is just more fun to do in general. Buy it at full price to support games that platinum make, so we don't have to rely on the big names to make games for us to play. I like sequels too, but we need some variety in our gaming.
  • abbottfrizzell - October 20, 2010 5:17 a.m.

    enslaved..Fable 3...Black ops.....AC: BrotherHood and now this. ugh so many games, good thing I make bank
  • AGENTJORRRG - October 20, 2010 4:53 a.m.

    Holy hell, a 9?? Thats a damn high score. The demo was aaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwful, so I am suprise.

Showing 1-20 of 81 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000