Google+

Splinter Cell: Conviction Super Review

Back to Article

116 comments

  • mEgAzD - April 14, 2010 2:04 a.m.

    Great review Mr. Antista who smells like pizza. It's nice that they kinda (emphasis on kinda) mixed the formula up. Why is this game exclusive at this time? Will they release for PS3 later? I'm not into console politics so someone fill me in.
  • FilthyKillz - April 14, 2010 1:24 a.m.

    It's pretty good. I wasn't planning ahead on buying or anything, but for some reason i just strolled into gamestop today and picked me up a copy of it. This review pretty much sums up the way i feel about it too. Definite rental but if you're a fan of the series, i think you should buy it. P.S. :Why are you still reading my pretty much pointless comment?
  • TDUBBS - April 14, 2010 12:07 a.m.

    I'll get it when it's thirty bucks. God I hate not having a job.
  • Caio - April 13, 2010 11:57 p.m.

    I played all of the PS2 Splinter Cell games and I sure did have a lot of fun with them. Hardly spectacular games, but interesting and clever, with some great gameplay and design choices. This one seems to be precisely that way, even if they changed it up a little. So yeah. If I had a 360 I'd definitely give it a try.
  • RogueRED - April 13, 2010 11:56 p.m.

    Played double agent and it was okay. Man, i was hopinf from a 10 for this. still might pick it up tho
  • EricBratcher - April 13, 2010 11:53 p.m.

    That's it. Everyone stop having opinions. Every review is a 6.5 from now on. Got it? In all seriousness, the point of a review is not to determine whether or not the reviewer liked the game. It is to determine whether you, the reader, would like the game. If you can learn that from this review, it doesn't matter if you agree with the author or not - he has still done his job. So relax, go grab the game if it sounds good to you, and love it if it earns your love. And give Chris a break. It's bad enough he smells like pizza.
  • Doctalen - April 13, 2010 11:42 p.m.

    I am thinking about getting this game but I have one question. I have only played Pandora Tomorrow and so I don't know the story. Do I need to know the backstory to enjoy this game or is it a one time story type of game?
  • CH3BURASHKA - April 13, 2010 11:10 p.m.

    Yes, Batman was pretty sweet. However, had this been a Batman clone, I think it would have been harmful to the game and the series. Though, as Chris says, there are clear reservations from previous games it does need to distinguish itself from other similar games.
  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 11:10 p.m.

    Ah, yes, thank you for your eloquent compendium of my opinions, I certainly must be the troll in this situation.
  • TFUPrivateIron - April 13, 2010 11:03 p.m.

    @michaelmcc827 Haha, yeah. I'm adding nothing. I'll sum up your argument in a few words; I AM BUTTHURT. That about right?
  • CreeplyTuna - April 13, 2010 10:52 p.m.

    i know ill be aweful at this, cuz i cant stand metal gear solid, but my little bro is amazing at these kinds of games, so hes prob getting it
  • D0CCON - April 13, 2010 10:50 p.m.

    @may.be.vital well said. Just remember, some people NEED something to complain about. It is part of who they are. It may be annoying as hell, but it can't be stopped. That's why we have fanboyism (not just gaming, look at Ford and Chevy) and that's why we have two political parties to rip each other apart. That's why at least 90% of wars happen. That's why there's an "The internet is serious F***ing Business" meme. It sucks, but it's life
  • speno93 - April 13, 2010 10:30 p.m.

    pity i was expecting a 9 or 10 but i might buy it anyway or wait for some other PC game
  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 10:18 p.m.

    @fanboyhunter Thank god, one of the people I'm supposedly talking about here.
  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 10:17 p.m.

    No, nothing you're ever doing in gaming actually accomplishes something; however, if you worked hard to do something, and it felt rewarding, then it "feels" like you're accomplishing something, and that feeling can vary depending on the type of gameplay. But by all means, post something "lengthy", because as I see it, everyone's determined to take the easy way out and call me a flamer, instead of point out how I'm apparently wrong.
  • Setre - April 13, 2010 10:16 p.m.

    I was all set to pick up Conviction after playing the demo but after reading your review Chris I'm not so sure. I've never played a Splinter Cell game before so I was interested but if the meat of the game comes from co-op fuck that noise. I don't have Live and don't plan on getting it anytime soon. Seems like a waste to put down $60 for a 5-7 hour game.
  • fanboyhunter - April 13, 2010 10:15 p.m.

    The original Splinter Cell and Chaos Theory were some of the best stealth action games on the market showcasing graphics on the xbox that no other console for that gen could match. Even so they were games of trial and error. What Ubi did was try to innovate and refresh the franchise after Double Agent but made it worse by alienating the hardcore fans and failing to impress would be newcomers. While I'm sad that the series is no longer something I look forward to I think it's time we all move on.
  • Chewrocka - April 13, 2010 10:12 p.m.

    Great gulf-war joke Antista! I would post something lengthy to mr. michaelmmc but you seem pretty determined to be pissed no matter what, so go play old splinter cell and drag bodies around to your bitter heart's content! All though I do take issue with the idea that you are "accomplishing something" in one game that you're not in another. You're not accomplishing anything in any game; you're (hopefully) having fun, experiencing a different world, and maybe unraveling an interesting story. Getting you're rocks off to pretend stealth is not "accomplishing" anything.
  • 435 - April 13, 2010 10:11 p.m.

    Good to see the game's worth playing.
  • may.be.vital - April 13, 2010 9:54 p.m.

    Truthfully ya I would, I would feel angry for a little while. Then I would realize it was the internet and nobody cares what I say so I shouldn't complain about shit.

Showing 61-80 of 116 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft, Ubisoft Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Mature