Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks Super Review

Back to Article

37 comments

  • crumbdunky - December 8, 2009 2:34 a.m.

    Obviously this is a must-was always going to be a great reason to play something other than the slew of great JRPGs we get on both handhelds. However, I don't think the Hunters comparison is fair. F'rinstance, where's the bloody multiplayer to compete with the only great shooty mp on the DS? Hunters is also granite hard at times and relies more on it's shooting than any other Metroid(prime or 2D)and is a far bigger series departure than ST was ever going to be. And, yes, there's NO better looking DS fame even now(same goes for me with MP3 on the Wii whic I think still endges out the likes of MH3 and SMG with genius mood setting, dynamic lighting-cel shading done with the mere power of a DS can't compete(whereas a more stained glass approach as seen in WW itself on a more powerful console might have). Or maybe I'm just such a sad Metroid/Samus fanboy that even Zelda can't besmirch the name of my favourite series? God, I wish the hackers hadn't killed Hunters MP so thoroughly. All you needed to do to make everyone happy about this review, though, was "it's a bit better than PH cos it's controls are better and there's way less retracing your steps" and that's all. Didn't you guyas also give PH a 9/10 though? And is this a better DS representation of it's series as the woefully selling, but GTA4 and SA beasting, CW? Whatever, it'll do, along with CCCB, to tide us over til we finally hear news of a true Wii Zelda(rather than a GCN game slanted a little and given vague waggliness). Good review though guys.
  • nik41507 - December 8, 2009 1:02 a.m.

    To bad my brother broke the 3 DS's I owned over the course of my life
  • Romination - December 8, 2009 12:42 a.m.

    Uuugh so much blowing...I'm frikkin asthmatic. Don't tell me it's too much for that... stupid wind stuff... Also, why am I the only one wondering if it's fair to compare this to metroid? Recaptcha- Deifying Dave. Thought you might like that, Meeks ;)
  • ZombieAmmy - December 7, 2009 11:06 p.m.

    Random "hot teacher" in my GamesRadar review? Only if it is by the UK staff.
  • DeathandBlackMetal4 - December 7, 2009 11:05 p.m.

    I swore this game was a april fool's joke, My girlfriend tricked me!!!!
  • AyJay - December 7, 2009 11:05 p.m.

    @lovinmyps3: I think your mum is kinda lame. Great reveiew, btw. Will definitely be getting this, thank God for no time limits.
  • lovinmyps3 - December 7, 2009 10:47 p.m.

    I still think the train is kinda lame.
  • Yeager1122 - December 7, 2009 10:31 p.m.

    To bad i sold my ds.
  • johnthe5th - December 7, 2009 10:11 p.m.

    I'm really excited! I'm really behind on my ds games so this might get me back into playing it and buying new ones! Plane rides just aren't the same without it... and you can only beat Super Mario 64 so many times lol Recaptcha: trust ed
  • michaelmcc827 - December 7, 2009 10:09 p.m.

    The review read like a 10, but what they hey, sounds like a pretty awesome game. My only qualm would be how constantly blowing on the ds in public would look, but if it's fun enough I'd try it.
  • Pfargtl - December 7, 2009 9:42 p.m.

    I. Need. This. Game. Also, I had absolutely no problem with the time limit in Phantom Hourglass. Made the whole temple more enjoyable in my opinion.
  • Conman93 - December 7, 2009 8:54 p.m.

    Yes. Cant Wait!!!! Ill be playing this all christmas day
  • Pyroco101 - December 7, 2009 8:53 p.m.

    did anybody else acually have a problem with the time limit in PH? cause i hardly ever had a problem with that. the only time i clocked out was when i wanted to see wat would happen. i died, of course. captch: $50,000 trolled, lulz
  • TomMishkin - December 7, 2009 7:55 p.m.

    My first Zelda game ever was the first one on the NES, which my parents bought me when I was 6 or something, so we're talking 1989 I guess. I never lost one since then, so I got the game the moment it was out in the stores and have been playing it ever since. I'm finding it consistently funnier and more solid than PH, be it the cinematic feel of every single cutscene which enhances the drama (or whatever you call a story involving a green-clad midget), the subtle tweakings in the control system or the cleverer puzzles. I'm also finding the world of Hyrule more fascinating and, well, alive than the one in PH, so well, who cares about 2D textures when you have a funny old man who wants to start a Cuckoo farm? @emiserry: it depends on your feeling towards Zelda. Chinatown Wars is longer, wider, deeper, huger and x-er than Zelda, and will keep you busy for countless hours. It has a lot of charm to it, too, but is no match for Zelda. So if you're a Zelda fan go for ST first, but rest assured: Chinatown Wars won't disappoint you, not even a wee bit. @Dave: I almost completely agree with your review; as for the DS getting covered in dust, I found that the best way to avoid this nuisance is retrogaming. NESDS, SNEmulDS, Lameboy... wouldn't it be nice to write a feature about that? I guess lots of people would enjoy playing Solstice and Faxanadu on their way to work. Personally, I do.
  • erreip199 - December 7, 2009 7 p.m.

    @emiserry: no way get china town wars FIRST
  • emiserry - December 7, 2009 6:18 p.m.

    Finally, I really did not like the whole temple mechanic of the first game, where you needed to backtrack and beeing constantly bothered with a time limit. It seems that nintendo listens to its fans after all. But, should I buy it instead of Chinatown Wars?
  • garnsr - December 7, 2009 6:02 p.m.

    I was disappointed when he said ass instead of arse, but then late he mentions anoraks and trainspotting. I didn't like the stylus controls in Phantom Hourglass that much. I made it about halfway through the game, and had to go back to that retarded labyrinth again, and never got back into it, and since you have to remember the symbols you draw on the doors, I don't think it's possible to go back again. Zelda's lost its hold on me, I think. I don't feel the need to get this one.

Showing 21-37 of 37 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: DS
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.