Google+

The Last Remnant review

Great
AT A GLANCE
  • Original and brilliantly tactical battles
  • Streamlined traditional RPG elements
  • A massive amount to it
  • Not Square-Enix's best-looking game
  • Not really user-friendly
  • Some bits are rock hard

Ouch! This was supposed to be Square Enix’s attempt to make a truly global RPG. Not so much a Japanese RPG, more an Everywhere-RPG. So why is the opening hour so utterly confusing and unwelcoming? An unfamiliar battle system, all stats and weird terminology and with not much in the way of a helping hand. We can’t think of an RPG that starts this badly.

Give Remnant a few hours though and things do pick up. You see, it’s not your usual RPG fare. The overworld is essentially a big menu that allows you to travel to different areas. Caves, ruins, dungeons and open-air locations provide the monster-battling challenges, while cities (which themselves have a menu-map to navigate) give the bulk of the quests and plot-furthering cutscenes. Outside of this somewhat claustrophobic approach to exploration, it’s the battles that provide the main draw.

Rather than the usual battle lines trading blows, Last Remnant requires you to recruit leaders and soldiers and create your own ‘unions’ – groups of units that share an HP pool and can be configured into different formations. In battle, using these formations to the best of your ability, targeting the right enemies and using the best attack types is the order of the day – all of which requires some serious tactical thinking to survive.

Despite the ludicrously steep learning curve (it’s easy to get annihilated if you’re not careful – so save often!) it’s an interesting approach to battling, and there’s as much fun to be had tinkering with your unions to maximize their potential as there is taking to the battlefield. A word of warning though, this isn’t an RPG for everyone, as it was intended to be. It’s often brutally tough, inaccessible and a massive grind. But, if you have the patience, at a whopping 80 hours of play, you’ll find plenty to enjoy!

Dec 2, 2008

More Info

Release date: Mar 24 2009 - PC
Nov 20 2008 - Xbox 360 (US)
Mar 20 2009 - PC
Nov 20 2008 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Square Enix
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

We Recommend By ZergNet

18 comments

  • Japanjack - January 8, 2009 5:31 a.m.

    Not that I am not accepting his opinion but as a professional columnist the loading times of burning and death should of taken a chunk out of the score quite honestly.
  • IslanderSwagg - January 17, 2009 5:01 a.m.

    I bought "Infinite Undiscovery" a few days before this came out cause i couldnt wait to play new game.WORST DECISION EVER. I really want this game but battling does look too complicated.
  • timedude187 - February 2, 2009 7:14 p.m.

    this review is bull okay in order to make a review you need to play the game i have the game and it is amazing sure there is more loading than there should be but other than that its an amazing game
  • Moogtropolis - February 8, 2009 11:04 p.m.

    I bought this game and then infinite discovery a day or so after. If you've been around the final fantasy series at all, it really isn't that complicated during battles. I do agree on the loading times BUT that is worth the sacrifice for what is a fun game.
  • Moogtropolis - February 8, 2009 11:07 p.m.

    If any downfalls to this game it is this, when i had bought it a week ago i had a 30" regular old tv. The words were hard to read in menus and anything outside of ingame communicating. And 2 days ago I bought a 32" samsung class c 720p hdtv and the game is alot better to see. But I had alot of issues reading prior to it.
  • Skarin12 - February 15, 2009 11:03 p.m.

    ThIs gAmE Is tHe cOllEsT gaME EvEr if u like these kind of games!!!!!! if u do get this game !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • SergeTheGhost - May 9, 2009 4:57 a.m.

    .> I spy a troll responding Yay you just made my day Rofl.
  • SergeTheGhost - May 9, 2009 4:56 a.m.

    Personally I believe aswell that the individual that typed the review was biased because his "learning curve" is subpar, I bought this game two days and I have found it to be simple to understand if you read the instruction manual like any half way decent gamer does when he gets a game. And so far I have yet to find a flaw in this game... as for all the loading screens all i have to say is that all of you gamers always cry for better graphics and then complain about loading screens....oxymorons yay!, But anyway indeed a unique experience, but for only gamers who have plenty of time to devote to it otherwise you'll end up only getting half of the possible game done, Ah 3 unions full of expert classes in 12 hours What a truely easy rpg.
  • SergeTheGhost - May 10, 2009 7:43 a.m.

    24 hours in and the only flaw so far in the gameplay is that the attack options seem to be random.... Full Ap, enough items to heal any size of army and im low health....why cant i heal
  • Craza - May 25, 2009 11:56 a.m.

    I played a demo of this through Steam, but it was with a 360 controller. I think I'll grab it for 360. Anyways, I really like the game. There was a lot of texture popping, but that was in the demo. The combat was actually fun, and I usually don't like turn-based combat. Honestly, I'm pretty patient, so I hardly noticed the load times and I was looking forward to just playing it again. I liked it, so Ima grab me a copy.
  • Conco - December 2, 2008 8:11 p.m.

    The remnants look interesting, but i dont think ill be getting this, looks 2 complicated:P
  • Japanjack - December 3, 2008 2:16 a.m.

    Incorrect review, I think you were supposed to play the game first.
  • Akiira - December 3, 2008 7:20 a.m.

    i love you gr but i have a feeling u didnt even play the game.
  • Akiira - December 8, 2008 5:15 a.m.

    lol elbo444 getting angry on the internet and throwing out insults, perhaps im not the one that needs to grow up a little? or atleast not the only one hehe
  • Kattleox - December 3, 2008 12:57 p.m.

    I would say that they hadn't played it first too, if it weren't for the fact that all the other reviews say the same thing. Others were a bit harsher, though.
  • sprog - December 6, 2008 2:25 p.m.

    i'm an rpg sado-masochist so i may pick it up in the future. this is the great thing about the 360 though, loads of genre variety, whether you like it or not
  • Elbo444 - December 7, 2008 10:44 p.m.

    why would you think he hasn't played it? just because he doesn't like that means he hasn't played it? wtf guys learn to accept opinions that are different from your own, grow up a little
  • OnyxOblivion - April 18, 2010 11:16 a.m.

    ITS AN 8 AND YOU GUYS ARE COMPLAINING?! AN 8 IS GOOD!

Showing 1-18 of 18 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.