Google+

The Last of Us review

Astonishing
Back to Article

96 comments

  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 8:18 a.m.

    5/5. gee, I never would have guessed that. It seems every high profile release must be given a top score. Bioshock Infinite was riddled with flaws and this likely is too. Time to wait for some unofficial reviews.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 8:32 a.m.

    And yet, Dead Space 3 didn't get a top score, Sim City Didn't get a top score, Tomb Raider didn't quite get a top score either. So your over-generalization seems a bit off. Also, official or unofficial, reviews are always the opinions of other people. And while unofficial reviews might lack the perceived "corporal bias" you see to believe professional reviews have. Unofficial ones are always much more unreliable and hyperbolic anyway. Just get the damn game and judge for yourself. It's what you always end up doing anyway :P
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 8:39 a.m.

    It was obvious that Dead Space 3 wasn't going down well with people long before it was released so it's not surprising that journalists cater to that audience in their reviews. TLoU had people calling it the best game ever after only just seeing 5 minutes of footage in trailers. Tomb Raider got a higher score than it deserved if you ask me too. The storytelling in the game was a mess. Yes but people who aren't getting paid are likely to be more honest in what they say, as they won't feel the need to cater to any specific audience, they just say what they feel. I have been reading reviews for a very long time and over time I've come to realise this. Unnoficial ones often go into more detail and highlight the clear flaws that games might have more so than official ones. I will be getting it. That is likely the only way I'll know for myself. There's no denying that. I don't even think it will be bad but I very highly doubt it will be worthy of the top scores it's getting, just like the Uncharted series.
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 11:13 a.m.

    It depends on who they are but they are definitely not all like you described. There are a number of you tube reviewers that I have come across lately that give detailed and honest synopses of games. Bioshock Infinite was a game I felt that several non journalist reviewers did a far better job at describing. Yes but communication skills don't really have anything to do with what they actually say about a game, just how they say it. Most journalists might be very proficient in writing but they may not know much about games. I don't think a lot of journalists even like games that much. I've been reading games magazines for a very long time and it's easy to tell when some of them just lack the enthusiasm. I don't believe I said they write what the publishers want at all. I don't think that happens, at least not much, but what does clearly happen is that journalists tend to follow the general trend of what their audience wants. I'd imagine most would be scared shitless about giving a game like TLoU a low score because of the fear of the backlash. Gamespot already gave it an 8/10 and they received a load of hate. That review was very poor though, whatever way you look at it.
  • ObliqueZombie - June 5, 2013 9:37 a.m.

    5/5 or 10/10 or whatever doesn't mean "flawless." In fact, that's just a gauge for how well the reviewer liked it. Usually, "perfect score" games just mean the reviewer found the game so immensely fun and/or emotionally affecting at any flaws or problems are minuscule and can be overlooked. You see, the score is a gauge for people who don't read the reviews. Take the time to read the extensive reviews across all sights, and you can get a feel for how much you may or may not enjoy a game. Not all games have to be Indie and low-profile to be enjoyable.
  • TheMcFinder - June 5, 2013 7:57 a.m.

    that was an intense review. it actually makes me want a ps3, a feeling that is completely foreign to me.
  • Bloodstorm - June 5, 2013 7:56 a.m.

    Why did it have to be good? Now it is going to torture me even more that I can't get it right away. Needs money! Can. Not. Wait. First $60 I get my hands on is going to this.
  • Vordhosbn - June 5, 2013 7:54 a.m.

    I've been ignoring this game for ages, but having read this review I guess it's time to be excited, it does sound like one hell of a game.
  • BlueScorpion91 - June 5, 2013 7:48 a.m.

    I'm so sad that I sold my PS3(it was on it's way out) and now can't play this game. Sounds brilliant. And I must say I thought that the actual review was a great read. No spoilers or comparing it to other games, you just reviewed what was there as apposed to what should/shouldn't be there. 5 stars to you, David.
  • Rhymenocerous - June 5, 2013 7:48 a.m.

    GREAT review. I'm genuinely excited for this game, and I haven't felt like this for quite some time. Also, does anyone else think this like a more "gamey" (I don't mean that derogatory at all) Walking Dead? Joel and Ellie's relationship is VERY similar to Lee Everett and Clementine, is it not?
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 8:02 a.m.

    Not necessarily. I mean, for one, Clem was what... 9-10 years old? Ellie is 14, and I think that DOES change the interaction with the kid a great deal. Because Clem retains more of an innocence and fright that a 14 year old would no longer have, she also is far more vulnerable, because up until the very end, Clem really wasn't capable of defending herself, understandably so. There's also the difference in context. Both Lee and Clem are survivors in a world that JUST went straight to hell. Both still are adapting and coping in their own way with the loss of the life they use to have. In contrast, Joel has been thoroughly changed after living the 20 years that have passed since hell broke loose, While Ellie seems to have grown up both accustomed BUT also sheltered from the full reality of the world around her. I can definitely see where you draw the comparison though, but if anything, Joel and Ellie's interaction kinda reminds me more of Booker and Elizabeth's in Bioshock Infinite, and even THAT is a wildly different kind of relationship on it's own.
  • Rhymenocerous - June 5, 2013 11:49 a.m.

    Ok yeah, good point(s). I haven't played Infinite yet though - waiting for it to be cheap. The Last of Us takes priority, and also I don't think the "early steep learning curve" is a bad thing either.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 1:07 p.m.

    Yeah, I also agree that doesn't sound like a negative thing at all. But y'know, warnings to casuals and such.
  • taokaka - June 5, 2013 7:47 a.m.

    I was definitely going to get this but now I'm going to have to rush over to the store as soon as possible and preorder a copy.
  • lilj805 - June 5, 2013 7:41 a.m.

    Day-one download for me!
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 7:31 a.m.

    ...Holy fuckballs! I was super excited about this game, I expected it to be fantastic, but that it's getting straight 10s across the board on the main sites I visit? that's fucking impressive! Not to mention that well, from the sound of it, it aces the most important things in a game to me: Story, Gameplay, and Atmosphere. Shit... now the wait to get it is going to be UNBEARABLE! Argh!
  • injustice45 - June 5, 2013 7:31 a.m.

    Five Stars! Wow! This may be the Game of the Year right here!
  • neoghio89 - June 5, 2013 7:09 a.m.

    Looking forward to this!

Showing 81-96 of 96 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 14 2013 - PS3 (US)
Q4 2013 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS4, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Naughty Dog
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.