Google+

The Conduit review

AT A GLANCE
  • A Wii game with challenging difficulty
  • Incredible roster of online options
  • Customizable everything
  • The bland environments online and off
  • Talented voice cast squandered on ho-hum plot
  • Far Cry Vengeance (trust us)

If you’re reading this than we’ll assume you’re a seasoned gamer who knows his or her shit. As such, you’d be completely within your right to say that most third party Wii developers have all but abandoned fulfilling the needs of traditional gamers, and left the console an exclusive dumping grounds of dog-and-pony fashion shows, talking candy, and Majesco.

Above: Killing Mama 

But remember: The Wii had always promised a different experience, one free of complicated button interfaces and the latest processers, so as to melt our faces off with something we’ve never seen before. Like it or not Johnny Hardcore, Nintendo has - to some extent - delivered on that promise. However, there was an indirect assurance made towards a specific genre that has gone woefully unfulfilled.

Not only had the Wii Remote and Nunchuk seemed poised to revitalize the console First-Person Shooter, some of us thought this was our chance to finally tell the PC mouse-and-keyboarders to STFU… Yet here we stand nearly three years later with nothing but a single FPS worth recommending and that genre seemingly having thrown in the towel. Then, there was Conduit.

“It’s pretty good… for a Wii game.” That’s a qualifier we’re sick of hearing, yet one that’s nearly impossible to escape when talking traditional Wii offerings. Luckily, it’s one we don’t really need to apply to here, since Sega and High Voltage appear to have nominated themselves as the Wii’s hardcore torchbearers. It feels great to say it: The Conduit is fun, controls well, and is, at times, quite beautiful… yes, for a Wii game.

Sure, the environments may come courtesy of the architectural design firm of Brown, Gray, and Blocky, but there are certain visual elements that can almost, sorta, kinda, trick you into thinking you’re playing a 360 game in standard def. The All-Seeing Eye for instance, the omniscient flashlight you use to unlock doors and reveal secrets, embodies textures and lighting effects just detailed enough so as not to let one get away with calling it “last-gen.” Additionally, of the healthy portion of weaponry, the alien variety in particular pops with bursts of luminescent beauty and advanced particle effects.

Same goes for (the handful of) enemies. Both humans and alien drones are animated with competent physics and personality that puts High Voltage Software’s Quantum3 engine outside the realm of the “GameCube 1.5” criticisms. Of course, you too will have plenty of time to notice such detail, since unfortunately enemies also react with relatively stupid AI, somewhat unbecoming of next-gen shooters.

More Info

Release date: Jun 23 2009 - Wii (US)
Jul 10 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Sega
Developed by: High Voltage
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence, Mild Language

70 comments

  • trode73 - January 15, 2010 5:38 a.m.

    I love the Conduit especially online send me your friend code
  • trode73 - January 15, 2010 2:56 a.m.

    i must compliment the grenades, they are awesome
  • sharklion - September 3, 2009 3:22 p.m.

    its this or 'troid prime trilogy
  • marluxia2500 - July 23, 2009 1:02 a.m.

    youll hate: Far Cry Vengance lol
  • OmegaRedHead - July 21, 2009 9:03 p.m.

    If you think this games story is genaric, check out this topic on the GamesFAQs Conduit board: http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/genmessage.php?board=947068&topic=50295705
  • Xeacons - July 1, 2009 1:59 a.m.

    Not bad. Gameplay-wise, the weapons have a Halo-feel (only a couple at a time; you get new guns/ammo mostly from dead, regen health) in a solitary environment with a if-it-breaths-kill-it objective. Not a lot of strategy. The plot and environments seem ripped-off Deus Ex. Agent hired by secret government agency gets hired and betrayed, and ends up working for the "terrorists" he thought were the enemy. Recognizable national landmarks torn by war make up most of the levels. Final assessment: Is this the "console-affirming" hardcore title that will prove the Wii's "superiority"? No. But it is a clear message to most 3rd parties who blame the shovelware (tossed out to fund their 360/PS3 projects) on the Wii's lack of hardware: Now there is NO EXCUSE for shovelware!
  • ChristianWitzel - June 30, 2009 2:58 p.m.

    This actually looks like a decent title, even if it is on a system that mimics the dinosaur era of gaming at times. The controls are solid, the gameplay is fair, and the online side is just plain fun!
  • TIEREN - June 27, 2009 4:26 a.m.

    It's a good game. FOR WII
  • Smash_Bro - June 26, 2009 3:19 a.m.

    Team Deathmatch, King of the Hill, Capture the Flag, Sci-Fi FPS with schweet multiplayer... So this is Halo Wii. Ossim. Why wasn't this shown at the E3 press conference??
  • sharker - June 26, 2009 1:21 a.m.

    the average mite can't jump over a 6 inch step
  • TheCommunist - June 25, 2009 6:58 p.m.

    This is how you make a first-shooter for the Wii. I hope more shooters like this come out for the Wii.
  • oscarpiggy - June 24, 2009 7:04 p.m.

    wow im actually going to buy a wii game or at least use my wii
  • Life - June 24, 2009 6:19 p.m.

    I think now all we need is a Metroid game with online multiplayer, Wiispeak, no friend codes, and done with Quantum 3 (done by Team Ninja of course), and I think you'll have the end all be all of Nintendo/Shooter fanboys.
  • thor0997 - June 24, 2009 5:51 p.m.

    And then a shining light of hope ignighted above the murky sea of sorrow that was Nintindo's stock of games. Pull back the hard core with quality and not quantity. Recaptch: courierjournal kinko (Longer ever)
  • xXHaloKillerXx - June 24, 2009 1:32 p.m.

    IGN gave this an 8.6 and now GR an 8.Is it me or do you think it could go even lower.
  • flyawave - June 24, 2009 1:03 p.m.

    cool, it gets 10 from me as i only have a wii and need better 3rd party shizz for wii
  • VikVik - June 24, 2009 8:46 a.m.

    now, its a plus 1 when you only have a wii, is it a -1 when u have the 360 and ps3, just asking????? lol, might wait on it and try to get it used
  • ChrisAntistaSmellsLikePizza - June 24, 2009 5:11 a.m.

    I might buy this even though I don't own a Wii. I can give it to my uncle; he'll enjoy it.
  • MotionlessxXx - June 24, 2009 5:10 a.m.

    This is a impressively written review! with out a doubt the best i have ever read. Who exactly wrote this? oh and my opinion on the game, by this review i would buy it and more than likely enjoy it... if i had money...
  • Gahmah - June 24, 2009 4:36 a.m.

    poor condi, woulda been pretty nice on the last gen by the sound of it. Not sure if it's just my screen, but it doesn't even seem to look as nice as hello deux. Seems like it should be fun though wiht some of the less intense fps crowd... or just me and my friends griefing new people.

Showing 1-20 of 70 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000