Google+

Spore review

Back to Article

64 comments

  • xVFx Velli - September 5, 2008 6:10 p.m.

    I want to play this really bad... HolyDiver and purpleshirt, wanna rob a bank with me so we can all get enough money to buy a decent computer? (Mine's so old it's made of rocks and sticks haha)
  • _jon - September 5, 2008 8:07 a.m.

    I'm glad I updated my computer. I'll buy my entry ticket into the land of cock-monsters at lunchtime (if it ever stops raining).
  • jackf-11 - September 5, 2008 1:38 a.m.

    My computer is such a piece, not only will it not play the creature creator, it just broke down (I'm using somebody else's).
  • purpleshirt - September 5, 2008 12:04 a.m.

    i completely agree holy driver my computer is a flyig peice of shit but i think this game is too massive to run on annything but a pc it would be sick to play on a 360 though
  • Holy Diver - September 4, 2008 11:11 p.m.

    I wish my computer didnt suck. I really want to play this game. I will pray to Odin that they port it to the 360
  • Squidmonk3j - September 4, 2008 4:17 p.m.

    Yay i got the Galactic Edition, they only got 2 from where i bought it . and 10 seconds later someone else bought the last one
  • Z-man427 - September 4, 2008 7:21 a.m.

    holy hannah this game looks awesome.
  • poshaa08 - November 2, 2008 2:08 a.m.

    hey will this come to aussie town (AUSTRALIA)
  • RawOysters - October 29, 2008 3:59 a.m.

    I was very disappointed in this game. The heavy handed DRM aside, it was very simplistic and somewhat childish. I expected a much more scientific based game that would be a challenge. Instead I got a kids game that was boring as hell. Felt like I wasted $50. Would not ever consider wasting money on an expansion. Gave it to my 10 year old nephew.
  • punkerjam - October 7, 2008 9:07 p.m.

    You stole your reveiw from PC gamer almost word for word
  • Goshorj - September 27, 2008 4:57 a.m.

    Has anyone heard about this? This would have been nice to know in advance. 'Spore' Hijacks Computers, Class Claims http://www.courthousenews.com/2008/09/23/_Spore_Hijacks_Computers_Class_Claims.htm Is this what causing the end game play to crash to the desktop with an exception error of access rights? It says it attaches itself at a level that requires reformatting to remove. Would some protection software see this as a rootkit virus?
  • wiggy09 - September 22, 2008 2:10 p.m.

    afther a long w8 tbh its not even that gd gets boring afther a few hours in space stage :(
  • crazyqazqaz - September 21, 2008 11:19 a.m.

    Many people have complained about the security system on spore, only allowing you to upload it three times. I am disappointed that you have not enlightened me on this subject and because EA seem to have put in a major fault which may well cost Spore it's rightful place in the history books
  • Crashman - September 17, 2008 6:15 p.m.

    Dan's comment at the end is not to be taken lightly. This game is NOT for everyone. Casual gamers will almost certainly love it but hardcore gamers will likely be disappointed in gameplay that is often too simplistic and predictable.
  • KruelDeath - September 11, 2008 11:38 a.m.

    Spore will probably never be ported to anything other than crappy version on the ds and iphone/ipod touch so youll need a pretty basic gaming pc to play it properly which isnt very hard
  • Thequestion 121 - September 10, 2008 8:29 p.m.

    I want this game so bad!!!
  • lordkemo - September 10, 2008 7 p.m.

    Although, i'm a bit angry with the spore and mass effect reviews as well as the red alert preview not saying anything about DRM, I still think that PC Gamer is a great mag and i look forward to it every month. It's got ad's... so what. You pay 20 bucks for 12 mag's How do you think they pay the bills. next your going to tell me that TV is a sham and Going to pro sporting events is a sham, Or driving down the highway is a sham. Just turn the pages and keep on reading. If not, save your 20 bucks and eat a couple of cheeseburgers i guess.
  • anduin1 - September 10, 2008 6:32 p.m.

    and btw PC Gamer is a sham of a magazine, anything that is hyped gets a great score regardless of whether it deserves it or not. A magazine filled with 120 pages and a good 25-40% is ads, you pay premium dollars for ads ? Uh, I thought that's supposed to drive the costs DOWN.
  • anduin1 - September 10, 2008 4:25 p.m.

    It's apt that someone who doesn't really play strategy games reviews a game that tries so hard to be one. With all the stuff they said would be in the game, it sure fell short of expectations. The initial cell/creature stage are probably the best part of the game and its where you get to design goofy looking monsters and then either kill or befriend everything. Everything after that is a mess of extremely simplified game play. Send a unit to attack a village, village taken, do it again x 6, level up to the next stage. There's nothing in between that makes you want to keep playing. 91% is being generous, I think its more of a 85% based on the concept and early delivery but falls way flat in the end.
  • MegaGamer1000 - September 10, 2008 2:45 a.m.

    maybe ill get this next year but its totally on my list

Showing 21-40 of 64 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 07 2008 - DS (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox, PSP, DS, PS2, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii
Genre: Strategy
Published by: EA GAMES, Electronic Arts
Developed by: Maxis
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending