Google+

Sleeping Dogs review

Excellent
Back to Article

46 comments

  • KrazyGamer - August 14, 2012 2:43 p.m.

    I want this game, George St-Pierre helped with the fighting mechanics :D
  • ImmaChicken - August 14, 2012 4 p.m.

    I really really want this so bad, is it out yet?
  • Dante1924 - August 15, 2012 2:18 p.m.

    It's already out stateside, but comes out Friday in Europe.
  • minimaxi - August 14, 2012 7 p.m.

    Makes me wonder how many people will buy this thinking this was Ubisoft's Watch Dog....
  • zymn - August 15, 2012 12:37 a.m.

    Yeah. I got interested in this game because I thought it was Watch Dogs. Then yesterday after I pre-ordered it right before release so I could get bonus content I figured out it wasn't. but since Watch Dogs is a year away I got it anyways and it is pretty kickass!
  • rob619 - August 15, 2012 2:45 a.m.

    I knew this would be good, and it is! Sweet, first day purchase for me. An open world game, takes bits from Just Cause 2, Arkham City combat, great driving, Max Payne slow-mo bullets. It has only faults which all open world games have, abit of lag. Can't wait till friday.
  • Klodz - August 15, 2012 11:42 a.m.

    Well this is the first time that I've bought a game almost instantly based solely on a Radar review. Well done Cooper!
  • talleyXIV - August 15, 2012 12:52 p.m.

    This game looks like generic art trash. Just another game that says "Punch this guy, punch this guy, get the objective, go back, watch cutscene." A boring GTA with a new setting and fighting style to hide how not creative and unoriginal it really is.
  • Craza - August 15, 2012 3:18 p.m.

    "Tremendous amount of content through side-missions" but "Only a few of the missions are all that interesting". Hmmmmn...... "A compelling, interesting narrative" yet "The lack of charismatic, memorable characters". Hmmmmmn..... Soooooo, you're saying there's a lot to do, but you probably won't really WANT to do most of it, and there's a good story, but no good or even decent characters to deliver on that story. How is this a great? Really....please tell me. Let's even put aside how much this game is borrowing from GTA and True Crime.
  • MasterBhater - August 15, 2012 6:26 p.m.

    You DO know this game started out as True Crime: Hong Kong, right? The developers got canned from their publisher and when they were bought by Square Enix they did not have the rights to the "True Crime" franchise, so they had to rename it.
  • Craza - August 16, 2012 2:17 a.m.

    Actually, I didn't. I know about True Crime: Hong Kong, but I didn't know it had to be renamed due to publishing rights. Probably one of the articles I passed over while skimming the site. I apologize for the mistake, but I stand by the rest of my statement.
  • BladedFalcon - August 15, 2012 6:42 p.m.

    They are talking about the mission layout being kinda boring, but as I understand it, the gameplay itself is great, and most likely good enough to make even the samey mission objectives being fun to go trough. Something I a inclined to agree with since it combines the smooth fighting system of Arkham city with added brutality, the shooting of Max Payne 3, and the driving of just cause 2. Also, a good story can be told and delivered even if the characters aren't that memorable. So I'm not sure what you're having trouble understanding.
  • Craza - August 16, 2012 2:14 a.m.

    I was merely pointing out what I felt were contradictions in the review, namely, the "quick n dirty". They could be interpreted differently, but that's just how I saw it.
  • BladedFalcon - August 16, 2012 5:34 a.m.

    And I was merely pointing out that they really aren't contradictions at all. One point doesn't completely negate the other, it might subtract from it, but that is why they are different elements. A game can be enjoyable if one is executed greatly even if the other isn't as neat.
  • JSayonara - August 18, 2012 4:55 a.m.

    There is no way in Hell this game deserves a 4 1/2 star review. It's glitchy (Counters frequently fail, camera spins out when you're fighting allowing massive cheap shots, markers disappear when you're driving to locations) the driving is awful, the cars handle like they're on ice and repetitive to fuck. It's one of those game that's BRILLIANT for the first couple of hours..then, not so much. I'm going to be charitable and put the high score down to the summer drought, rather than all the fucking adverts plastered all over this site (Please get rid of these damn banner ad's, they slow my browser down to fuck when I'm zoomed). It's by no means a BAD game...but it ain't great. Seeing as GR work on a 5 star system, the score translates to a 90% plus. That puts this up with GTA, MGS, Zelda and the like. No way, it's a solid seventy % ish.
  • Stabby_Joe - August 19, 2012 7:17 a.m.

    Fair dos on your opinion although I wouldn't say that invalidates others people's opinions. So far I'm enjoying the game immensely.
  • Mcdeeman21 - August 21, 2012 6:22 p.m.

    Stop your bitching, gamesradar doesn't work to your demands. If the banner ads slow your computer down, you really need to get a better one. Keep in mind other peoples computers don't run on wood chippings. The driving in the game was fine, just harder than most sandbox games, as it should be. Also, the markers disappearing could literally be fixed by clicking the left stick in. I never encountered a problem with the camera and I think that problem is grossly exaggerated.
  • onetimebuster - August 19, 2012 5:38 p.m.

    My favourite character is the valet guy some of his lines are funny.

Showing 21-40 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 14 2012 - PS3, PC
Oct 14 2014 - PS4, Xbox One
Aug 14 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Square Enix
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.