Google+

Sleeping Dogs review

Excellent
Back to Article

46 comments

  • wolfyman1000 - November 14, 2012 4:31 p.m.

    it my be late but i had to say sleeping dogs was a great game my only problem was it was sooooo short.i think its unfair to consumers that one of the greatest game companys square Enix would do this.i find myself to be very intelligent so when i saw the new DLC it was obvious.they were afraid of sleeping dogs not selling so that figured the audience that did love the game wouldn't mined buying more missions em em em smh.On a good note tho it had something gta 4 didn't offer..... partial realistic things.like washing blood from wei shens face. interchangeable outfits.also being able to pic up many items to fight with.hopefully a sleeping dogs 2 is in the making.plz make the game longer lol
  • TURbo - August 19, 2012 11:18 p.m.

    Activision canned True Crime Hong Kong because from their market research and development delays, it wasn't going to be worth it unless they sold some (something ridiculously high) 10 million + units which it probably wouldn't. Overall Sleeping Dogs uses so many mechanics well in an open world game. The collectibles have nice bonuses attached to them, and the skill trees are well used. Playing Sleeping Dogs reminded me of what I wished True Crime Streets of LA was. A more functional driving, shooting, melee combat system. Just Cause 2 is my favorite open world game this gen, but that could change. While Just Cause 2 for me had the best gameplay, the atmosphere and vibrancy was non existant. Panau was just a fun playground. Sleeping Dogs has a more lively city with pedesterians going about their business, and Cantonese pop and rap music on the radio is a nice addition for the atmosphere. Sleeping Dogs expands into new territory on what an open world game can do in both setting and gameplay. Thank you Square Enix.
  • onetimebuster - August 19, 2012 5:38 p.m.

    My favourite character is the valet guy some of his lines are funny.
  • JSayonara - August 18, 2012 4:55 a.m.

    There is no way in Hell this game deserves a 4 1/2 star review. It's glitchy (Counters frequently fail, camera spins out when you're fighting allowing massive cheap shots, markers disappear when you're driving to locations) the driving is awful, the cars handle like they're on ice and repetitive to fuck. It's one of those game that's BRILLIANT for the first couple of hours..then, not so much. I'm going to be charitable and put the high score down to the summer drought, rather than all the fucking adverts plastered all over this site (Please get rid of these damn banner ad's, they slow my browser down to fuck when I'm zoomed). It's by no means a BAD game...but it ain't great. Seeing as GR work on a 5 star system, the score translates to a 90% plus. That puts this up with GTA, MGS, Zelda and the like. No way, it's a solid seventy % ish.
  • Stabby_Joe - August 19, 2012 7:17 a.m.

    Fair dos on your opinion although I wouldn't say that invalidates others people's opinions. So far I'm enjoying the game immensely.
  • Mcdeeman21 - August 21, 2012 6:22 p.m.

    Stop your bitching, gamesradar doesn't work to your demands. If the banner ads slow your computer down, you really need to get a better one. Keep in mind other peoples computers don't run on wood chippings. The driving in the game was fine, just harder than most sandbox games, as it should be. Also, the markers disappearing could literally be fixed by clicking the left stick in. I never encountered a problem with the camera and I think that problem is grossly exaggerated.
  • Craza - August 15, 2012 3:18 p.m.

    "Tremendous amount of content through side-missions" but "Only a few of the missions are all that interesting". Hmmmmn...... "A compelling, interesting narrative" yet "The lack of charismatic, memorable characters". Hmmmmmn..... Soooooo, you're saying there's a lot to do, but you probably won't really WANT to do most of it, and there's a good story, but no good or even decent characters to deliver on that story. How is this a great? Really....please tell me. Let's even put aside how much this game is borrowing from GTA and True Crime.
  • MasterBhater - August 15, 2012 6:26 p.m.

    You DO know this game started out as True Crime: Hong Kong, right? The developers got canned from their publisher and when they were bought by Square Enix they did not have the rights to the "True Crime" franchise, so they had to rename it.
  • Craza - August 16, 2012 2:17 a.m.

    Actually, I didn't. I know about True Crime: Hong Kong, but I didn't know it had to be renamed due to publishing rights. Probably one of the articles I passed over while skimming the site. I apologize for the mistake, but I stand by the rest of my statement.
  • BladedFalcon - August 15, 2012 6:42 p.m.

    They are talking about the mission layout being kinda boring, but as I understand it, the gameplay itself is great, and most likely good enough to make even the samey mission objectives being fun to go trough. Something I a inclined to agree with since it combines the smooth fighting system of Arkham city with added brutality, the shooting of Max Payne 3, and the driving of just cause 2. Also, a good story can be told and delivered even if the characters aren't that memorable. So I'm not sure what you're having trouble understanding.
  • Craza - August 16, 2012 2:14 a.m.

    I was merely pointing out what I felt were contradictions in the review, namely, the "quick n dirty". They could be interpreted differently, but that's just how I saw it.
  • BladedFalcon - August 16, 2012 5:34 a.m.

    And I was merely pointing out that they really aren't contradictions at all. One point doesn't completely negate the other, it might subtract from it, but that is why they are different elements. A game can be enjoyable if one is executed greatly even if the other isn't as neat.
  • talleyXIV - August 15, 2012 12:52 p.m.

    This game looks like generic art trash. Just another game that says "Punch this guy, punch this guy, get the objective, go back, watch cutscene." A boring GTA with a new setting and fighting style to hide how not creative and unoriginal it really is.
  • Klodz - August 15, 2012 11:42 a.m.

    Well this is the first time that I've bought a game almost instantly based solely on a Radar review. Well done Cooper!

Showing 1-20 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 14 2012 - PS3, PC
Oct 14 2014 - PS4, Xbox One
Aug 14 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Square Enix
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.