Google+

Shank review

Decent
Back to Article

22 comments

  • GamesRadarCarolynGudmundson - August 25, 2010 10:51 p.m.

    @xpert434 The truck boss wasn't that bad for me - I think the biggest tip for that one is to make sure that when the truck is far away, you throw your grenades while jumping, and when it's close just throw the grenade without jumping. For me (and Brett) the first boss of the multiplayer campaign was wayyyyy more difficult. Like seemingly impossible at first, and even when you figure out what you're supposed to do it's still incredibly difficult and cheap.
  • xpert434 - August 25, 2010 10:20 p.m.

    I hate this game so much, the trial was fun so i thought i would grab it. First off, the cheivo for getting 20 kills glitched for me, yet i got the one for getting 100 kills. The loading screen takes about 7-10 mins so i have to wait that long whenever i want to load up a game. The opening cinematic also lags for some magical reason. Lastly, the second boss, the truck one is nigh impossible. Dont buy this horrible game, dont make the same mistake I did.
  • HotCyder - August 25, 2010 1:30 p.m.

    Woah Woah Woah. You give this game an article every other month and then it ends up being a let down? Just goes to prove the point - you can't have games without great gameplay.
  • Baron164 - August 25, 2010 1:26 p.m.

    Well this is a disappointment, this game looked very promising. I'll try the demo but I think I'll be sticking with Scott Pilgrim this week. Even if it doesn't have online coop.
  • Valntyne - August 25, 2010 12:31 p.m.

    :( This game looked good... Oh, well. There's always Castle Crashers...or Dishwasher Dead Samurai.
  • philipshaw - August 25, 2010 11:40 a.m.

    Great review. This is a shame because I was looking forward to this,every review seems to be saying the same thing that the game has a uneven difficulty and the controls aren't great. I will stick to Scott pilgrim vs the world for now
  • Zodiax - August 25, 2010 7:37 a.m.

    I hate these kind of flash graphics. They look so cheaply made.
  • ThatGuyFromTV - August 25, 2010 4:21 a.m.

    It's too bad, this looked like it had potential. Though I kind of saw this coming after looking at the trailer. It just didn't look that deep. Even Castle Crashers, simple as it was, had a little bit of depth and strategy to it.
  • DLSemen - August 25, 2010 2:46 a.m.

    DAMMIT!!!!!!
  • ice_sneasel - August 25, 2010 2:39 a.m.

    dang i was looking forward to this
  • Aeshir - August 25, 2010 2:06 a.m.

    @felipe222 That's because it's the full game. They give you the full game so if you wanna buy it, it just unlocks and you can play it right away.
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - August 25, 2010 1:44 a.m.

    I'm a huge 2D fan and have no problem with challenging games. Yet, playing Shank's co-op made me so frustrated that I lost all interest in playing after the third level. It's all over the place. Yeah the combos and blood are cool and you can get some good links with a friend, but I didn't think it was "excellent" at all. It's OK. Promising developer, looking forward to whatever's next. Contra IV was good hard. This was bad-design hard.
  • felipe222 - August 25, 2010 1:39 a.m.

    And did you saw the Demo file size for Shank on PSN? 2 fu***** Gb! FOR A DEMO!
  • felipe222 - August 25, 2010 1:37 a.m.

    yeah, Im getting Castle Crashers...
  • kit07 - August 25, 2010 1:12 a.m.

    thought about picking this up today. but think i may wait till its on sale in a couple months o well.
  • nicholasbianco - August 25, 2010 1:11 a.m.

    http://arstechnica.com/gaming/2010/08/while-my-uzi-gently-weeps-ars-reviews-shank.ars Everyone read the review here. There's no number scale and it's complete opinion, I think you'll all change your mind, because this game is excellent!
  • CountFenring - August 25, 2010 1:08 a.m.

    Well dang. I was hoping it would a companion of sorts to Machete, but alas... I'll still try the demo.
  • Corsair89 - August 25, 2010 1:04 a.m.

    I am sad face. I was hoping it would be really good.
  • oufour - August 25, 2010 1:03 a.m.

    NO! WHY!? the first time i saw this i thought "FINALLY! the 2D PLAYABLE CARTOON I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR!" but now those dreams are shattered...*sniff*
  • batmanboy11 - August 25, 2010 12:54 a.m.

    Too bad, although I wasn't really looking foward to this.

Showing 1-20 of 22 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.