Google+

Resident Evil Revelations review

Great
Back to Article

36 comments

  • therawski - January 30, 2012 9:37 p.m.

    Awesome job Henry, I'm glad to see that titles like this are possible and likable on 3ds, but I worry that the hardware just isn't up to the task of a online fps (like left4dead), I hope the demo is fun, but I'm waiting for an online coop experience to kill zombies handheld (psvita?) (Mario Kart is just racing, is it the only online offering?)
  • TwinHallow - January 30, 2012 9:42 p.m.

    i played the demo its good way better graphics then i expected
  • Cyberninja - January 31, 2012 3:51 a.m.

    you know that raid mode is online and that there was mercenaries in June that could do online right? so the experience you want is already here and works well.
  • TwinHallow - January 30, 2012 9:41 p.m.

    8 is good enough for me ima buy it still
  • Shazamin - January 30, 2012 10:24 p.m.

    Henry, it's a quality review, I'll definetly be picking it up from gamestop when it comes out. Question though, have you had a chance to play Metal Gear Solid 3DS, the other 3DS game I'm looking forward to?
  • GR_HenryGilbert - January 30, 2012 11:09 p.m.

    I will the second we get it, but we've yet to receive it. Hopefully we'll get it sooner rather than later.
  • RedHarlow - January 30, 2012 10:26 p.m.

    Does Jill have a plasma cutter on the main page screenshot?
  • marioman50 - January 30, 2012 10:38 p.m.

    Nice review, but I found 2 errors. "an abandoned cruise ships" "the way Revelations reuses of certain levels multiple times" I'm actually not certain that the second one is an error, but adding the word "of" makes the sentence sound awkward to me.
  • Darkhawk - January 31, 2012 7:33 a.m.

    You're right - these are both grammatical errors. Also I found misspelled legitAmate in the Verdict, and there are bound to be more given the poor quality of writing.
  • Hobogonigal - January 30, 2012 11:38 p.m.

    Excited to finally get this game, 8 is good for me and I enjoyed the demo that Nintendo put out over the e-shop. I was hoping the enemies would be a bit more varied though... Thanks for the review Henry!
  • nai1210 - January 31, 2012 1:15 a.m.

    8 is a good solid score,i'm about 6 hrs into it and really enjoying it also the minigame raid you unlock after you finnish the 3rd episode of the main game is pretty good fun aswell,can see myself playing the game a few times also i'm not playing with the circle pad pro,which i'll prob pick up for playing through on hell mode,but playing with default control's is very similar to the controls of resi 4.I would def recommend the game especially if your a fan of the series.
  • db1331 - January 31, 2012 5:09 a.m.

    Is the co-op local, or online?
  • GR_HenryGilbert - January 31, 2012 11:29 a.m.

    The co-op is local and over wi-fi
  • Darkhawk - January 31, 2012 7:25 a.m.

    "Auto Save Resident Evil." Four words I never thought I'd hear. No more typewriters!
  • TheVoid - January 31, 2012 10:42 a.m.

    Great review Henry, thanks! Curious - how's the 3D in the game? I'm a fan of 3D, although it seems like a lot of the GR staff suffers from it (especially if maxed out) or simply writes it off as an unnecessary gimmick. I don't have any physical/mental aversion ot it and as such usually play everything with the 3D full-on, only to find that in some cases it adds to the experience, while other times it takes away from it (just like 3D movies, which I find range from thrilling to distracting to "is it even there?"). My hope would be that a game like RER would take full advantage of the 3D and make very good use of it, especially with the claustrophic horror setting, but there's no mention of it whatsoever in the review, which was a bit surprising/disappointing, mainly because this isn't the first time a GR review of a 3DS game has sidestepped that aspect altogether, which strikes me as odd since a 3D experience is kind of the point with the 3DS. Unless of course you guys consider it a "given" at this point...
  • GR_HenryGilbert - January 31, 2012 11:29 a.m.

    The 3D wasn't spectacular to me, but it was as good as I expected. If you want to get the most out of it, keep the shooting in first person, though it still looks good in third person too.
  • 231231jimmy - March 3, 2012 12:18 p.m.

    great review! i bought this game its a reason to buy a 3ds

Showing 21-36 of 36 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 07 2012 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
Franchise: Resident Evil
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.