Google+

Prototype 2 review

Back to Article

44 comments

  • mbavalo - April 23, 2012 11:45 a.m.

    stupid game, i don't see why people even like it.. it all gets boring after an hours play but sure, there will be people all "I am ignorant, I am going to waste my money buying it" pity, prototype looks good in its trailers and box art but in my opinion, it is not a game i would really want to spend money on. and why is it called prototype? its not like he is a robot, just a disease that gives him dinosaur like arms
  • crsn891 - April 23, 2012 12:01 p.m.

    I would say the only thing ignorant here is your comment. If someone enjoys this game, what does it matter to you?
  • mbavalo - April 24, 2012 2:31 p.m.

    As I said below, the "ignorant people" part was accidental, and sorry about that. Now ending my polite words, prototype 2 looks like it is going to suck, i played 1 and i did not like it and as game trends go, they only improve a few things in the new one which still wont make it enough. Anyway that is my opinion so if you buy it to me it will look like your wasting your money.
  • Leroy_Jenkins - April 30, 2012 5:08 p.m.

    If you decide to comment, it looks like you're wasting your time on a game you care nothing for. Again; who are you to tell anyone they're wasting their money? In the 24 hours since I've bought it, I've managed to have a lot more fun than a lot of games I've played in a while. You might call it "ignorant". I call it "I sometimes don't want War and Peace in a game; I'm quite happy to indiscriminately murder people and do so in fun ways. Because I sometimes just want fun". I love me a good narrative in a game. But, I would rather gameplay any day of the year as, quite simply, that's why we buy them. To play it and have fun. Anyway...park your high horse outside and maybe you might actually enjoy yourself once in a while...
  • mbavalo - April 30, 2012 9:51 p.m.

    Wow, I said the "ignorant" part was accidental, and on the comment you replied to, reread my last statement, I said TO ME it will look like a waste of money, not to you, not to anyone else, okay? and fine if you enjoy mindlessly slashing through multitudes of people and nothing else, again, I (referring to me and no one else) find that monotonous. And I do enjoy myself with games I find entertaining, unfortunately prototype is not one of them
  • sutrebla15 - April 23, 2012 12:14 p.m.

    Obviously you don't know what a prototype is if you think it has to be a robot. You should think before being ignorant yourself.
  • mbavalo - April 24, 2012 2:23 p.m.

    ha ha, off course there is the meaning of the word but where mostly is it used? in machines!!!! and the game does not make sense to me at times, why is it that in !, you are the only infected guy and there are no others? and is the virus communicable? dude, this game fails to explain to you so many things at the beginning (Prototype 1 that is) I got to 5 hours of play and gave up, i am being given missions to do yet the plot is not being built effectively and with those powers at your disposal, you get bored! they should limit what you can do so that when you unlock something you have the sense of satisfaction!
  • Fetalspray - April 23, 2012 12:40 p.m.

    Another person who has an opinion on a game they haven't even played, they never realise that their opinion does't hold any weight if they haven't even played the game they're bitching about. In fact I don't even know why I wasted my time typing this.
  • Person5 - April 23, 2012 9:28 p.m.

    Thank you for informing me on this good sir, I wasn't aware I was ignorant because my opinion differed from yours, you are truly one of the greatest minds of this generation
  • mbavalo - April 24, 2012 2:13 p.m.

    sarcasm.. i see. as i have commented below, the line "ignorant people" came out accidentally, I did not intend of it. but still i dont really like prototype, not as good as people say it is
  • mbavalo - April 24, 2012 2:18 p.m.

    Yeah, opinions on games are what lead you to buying them genius. I have played prototype 1 and i did not like it. after 2 hours the game gets so repetitive that its actually boring, all that power you supposedly have yet you do not feel as powerful. Many games manage to make you work for you abilities and once you get them how they are portrayed gives you that sense of satisfaction and power but in prototype its like, "oh, i can cut a guy up like butter? tell me what else i already can do even if i have not unlocked it"
  • CevenKills - April 24, 2012 1:27 p.m.

    How could you even say that? the only reason people will buy is because they're ignorant? You do know there are people out there that will buy it for the simple reason that it's fun for them, which I will do. Everyone has a different opinion on things and different likes. So this includes video games (probably surprising to you.) Wow....im not even going to insult you for saying that haha that's just sad. Just go look up the word prototype and you'll understand.
  • mbavalo - April 24, 2012 2:11 p.m.

    Oh, sorry, i did not mean ignorant, that accidentally came out since i have been having to many Nintendo sucks debates of late... which it does! anyway, i was just expressing my opinion, i dont really like prototype because it is not a game that has that punch you should get from games of its nature. It gets too repetitive for you, but yeah, thats what i think, not you
  • ObliqueZombie - April 23, 2012 10:13 a.m.

    Wow, fantastic written AND video review. Lovin' the Chris Antista surprise. Alas, looks like I'll be passing up on this game.
  • BladedFalcon - April 23, 2012 9:36 a.m.

    First of, kudos for the awesome video review, and it was cool to hear that it was done with C. Antista! ^^ And well.. Yeah, I'll pass. The first one was fun enough, but marred with annoying flaws which this game doesn't seem to be able to properly fix.
  • FOZ - April 23, 2012 9:23 a.m.

    I wish the reviews would point out whether you should bother if you played the first one. This doesn't really look or sound very different.
  • 04whim - April 23, 2012 8:54 a.m.

    So, would you kindly tell me something? If I already have Prototype, is it worth buying Prototype 2? All I got in terms of differences from the first game was some new, less impressive areas to run around in, a scowlier protagonist and Bio Bombs. How much do you think the game's worth, really, when I've got both Prototype and Ultimate Destruction.
  • AfricanWoolf - April 23, 2012 8:40 a.m.

    I really enjoyed the video review. Might be a fun way to forget about varsity exams :P This is a glorious site.
  • inkyspot - April 23, 2012 8:09 a.m.

    Damn it I wish I didn't preorder this. I like the first one, but this sounds worst. I'll be optimistic, and if that doesn't work, I also preordered MAx Payne at the same time,
  • Bloodstorm - April 23, 2012 7:26 a.m.

    So, basically, it suffers from the same things that Prototype 1 did. Prototype 1 was fun to run around in and kill stuff, but repetitive missions and lack of a character you actually liked made the game loose it's steam half way through and made the second half a real bog to get through. Will just wait and get it when it goes down in price.

Showing 21-40 of 44 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Radical Entertainment
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language