Google+

Portal 2 super review

Astonishing
Back to Article

43 comments

  • veryweirdguy - April 22, 2011 3:29 p.m.

    Reserving 10s for games with no flaws whatsoever is pointless - no game is perfect, therefore no game would ever get a 10, therefore 9 would be the highest score, making a 10 point scale worthless. Great review, btw. I completed the single player today, and loved it a great deal.
  • sexyman500 - April 22, 2011 1:39 p.m.

    ignore my earlier comment (merely an observation) but reading the review and seeing that it has some hiccups, i find it cantankerous (my opinion). A 10 should be given to game which has zero faults/hiccups (if there is any). Just saying.
  • FireIceEarth - April 22, 2011 12:34 p.m.

    @hoba Exactly, especially with a game which inherently has little or no replay factor; the main joy of the game is discovery, once you've played it once, do you need to play it again?
  • hoba - April 22, 2011 11:16 a.m.

    @FireIceEarth That's my main concern too. There's a part of me that likes playing games for the experience, regardless of how long it lasts. I really enojyed Vanquish, and didn't mind the fact that it only lasted about five or six hours. But there's also a part of me that thinks £40 might be too much for something I can apparently platinum over the bank holiday weekend. I suppose it largely depends on how flush I am feeling...
  • FireIceEarth - April 22, 2011 10:47 a.m.

    So, definitely a game to play, but with the length issues, would it be better to rent it than buy it?
  • Roofmonkey - April 22, 2011 10:30 a.m.

    @sexyman500 You sir are an imbecile. Return to your bridge at once.
  • sexyman500 - April 22, 2011 8:16 a.m.

    funny that the game is given 10/10 and the game itself sponsors the site itself.....interesting
  • totalweapon - April 22, 2011 7:02 a.m.

    i knew this would get a 10 before i looked at the review. what a surprise.
  • iFeastOnAntista - April 22, 2011 6:04 a.m.

    Great review, Tyler. I love this comment at the end. I see what you're doing here. You're funny. :) "Halo? Psh, that shit is too pedestrian to deserve comparison (I mean that facetiously... but not really). So there you go, Portal 2 is better than Limbo, not that anyone was asking. But they're both great."
  • Roofmonkey - April 22, 2011 5:43 a.m.

    I agree with the 10, it is a great game. I just hate the fact that I'm already done with the game, both single and multiplayer. =X Took me 3 days to get everything (including all the achievements). Thats the only thing I hate about the game, 60 bucks for 3 days of gameplay. :P Then again, I might as well play it again in a few weeks
  • Limbo - April 22, 2011 3:59 a.m.

    Just finished the single player and absolutely loved it, even more so than the first one. This one is much more interesting and the levels and tests are more varied. The new tools and tricks like the light bridge and colored gels were really fun to mess around with and kept it fresh the entire way. I only wish that it included some sort of challenge mode like the first one had. The advanced puzzles and portal/step/time challenges were really fun to try and beat on the original. Now I just need a co-op partner.
  • austincharlesbond - April 22, 2011 3:09 a.m.

    I enjoyed it more than the original :)
  • Z-man427 - April 22, 2011 2:26 a.m.

    Fully agree with the 10. I actually would rank this as one of my top 10 favorite games. And I really did not like the original Portal. That's how good this is.
  • BackwaterRifle - April 22, 2011 2:03 a.m.

    @ Pimpleinyouasstista Driving a lemon? make the call to 1 800 lemonlaw! @ mdiaz033 But on a serious note how the ef is a 10 making GR look bad. You dont deserve the sacrade number 33 in your name.
  • AlSwearengenHatesCocksuckers - April 22, 2011 2 a.m.

    @mdiaz033 Why would you give it a 9? Because even though it's better then the original game in almost every way, but it doesn't have that first time charm? That's ridiculous. The only complaint I had was the same as everyone else, that Cave Johnsons levels were more about finding a portal-able surface then any real puzzle solving. Other then that 30 minute segment the rest of the game was golden. I don't think I've ever seen a more deserving 10, other then the original. 10 does not mean perfect in EVERY way. It means perfect in all the RIGHT ways. Also, seriously GR, you want a community, but every time I make a comment I have to do this fucking captcha? Hypocrisy much? Make it like funnyjunk, do one captcha and your account is free to post for a week. No offense, but it's not like this site is SO POPULAR it's going to be bombarded by spam the minute the captcha disappears.
  • PimplesInYourAsstista - April 22, 2011 1:46 a.m.

    @mdiaz033 Well, first, get your head out of your ass, then actually pay attention to the review. If you actually played Portal 2, you'll most likely find the review pretty much spot on. Also, "readers beware of this review"? What, are reviews used vehicles now?
  • juicenpancakes - April 22, 2011 1:39 a.m.

    @mdiaz: Yep, GR giving a great game the score it rightly deserves makes them look bad.
  • mdiaz033 - April 22, 2011 1:21 a.m.

    i couldn't really focus on the review seeing as how gamesradar is too busy S-ing portal 2's D. I love portal but you rotten bastards are not helping. this sequel was as awesome as it could have been. i sure as hell can't think of a better way of approaching the sequel to a game that practically blew every gamer in existence away. but even so, i still think that it deserves a 9 at most and 8 at the lowest. a perfect ten only makes GR look bad. readers beware of this review.
  • AlSwearengenHatesCocksuckers - April 22, 2011 1:20 a.m.

    Awesome review. Portal 2 is hands down the funniest video game ever. GLaDos' constant, subtle, fat jokes. Cave Johnson. Wheatley and the birds. I was seriously smiling and laughing till I cried almost the entire way through it. It's good enough that I spent 10 minutes in front of a door listening to Wheatley try to hack a computer, and didn't even realize I was supposed to be doing stuff. I didn't realize it was placeholder dialogue, I thought it was legitimately part of the story XD It's also the only game that makes you feel like a retarded genius. The picture on the first page with the lasers (you give away a solution BTW) had me perplexed forever, until I finally realized, "OH! Put more then one laser through a Portal with the cubes!." So I did that, and then realized I still didn't think big enough. It's the only game I have played that makes you think, "Oh man, that is so fucking genius what I just did, but why the hell did it take me 15 minutes to figure it out?!" Seriously, anyone reading this comment, don't EVER, EVER, use a guide for this game the first time through. If you're ever really stuck, go run some errands, take a dump, jerk off, whatever, and just keep that test chamber in your mind. I guarantee that very soon after you start what your doing you will suddenly jump up and race back to the console to try out a solution. It's the best feeling of accomplishment from a game I have ever experienced. Even more so then Portal 1 since the new items and mechanics make some puzzles that put the best of Portal 1 to shame. Especially once it starts to combine more then one mechanic. Nuff said. We're done here.
  • Ganonpork - April 22, 2011 1:18 a.m.

    XD finished it last night, and i thought the song was actually better than still alive

Showing 21-40 of 43 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 19 2011 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Puzzle
Developed by: Valve
Franchise: Portal
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Fantasy Violence, Mild Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.