Google+

Pokemon X and Y review

Great
Back to Article

48 comments

  • Doctalen - October 4, 2013 8:24 a.m.

    What kind of draw backs were you hoping for in mega-evolutions? I was under the impression that mega-evolutions were a new mechanics introduced to buff up some mid tier pokemon (except mewtwo I'm still baffled at that). Also were these frame rate drops in 3D mode or 2D? That sounds like somethin that never happens to a Nintendo game and I am giving a bias towards 3D mode causing it
  • GR HollanderCooper - October 4, 2013 8:25 a.m.

    For Mega Evolution, I was hoping for just something that would add a layer of strategy to them, since as is it's just a button you'll always hit to always make them always stronger. Frame rate drops were mostly in 3D, but I noticed them in 2D as well.
  • Doctalen - October 4, 2013 8:33 a.m.

    That sounds good, I doubt I'd ever use the 3D much. Have you been able to battle online? In game most mechanics don't make much of a splash against AI but online I can see megas being a major problem. Also hae you been able to determine if "hard mode" returns? I enjoyed that in Black and White 2
  • MrKart - October 4, 2013 9:37 a.m.

    This is a good review, and I'm sure during the story arc, that fact about always hitting the Mega Evolution is completely true. But in a competitive scene, it's going to be further from the truth. The competitive scene is completely made up of type matches and item holds, because it's usually 1 or 2 turns and your Pokemon is knocked out. In that sense, altering the type of your Pokemon with a Mega Evolution is not always going to be the most viable option, not to mention, having to have that stone equipped instead of Choice Scarf, Leftovers, or anything else is a HUGE hit. So I think from a competitive standpoint, it's a pretty huge new element of strategy.
  • BladedFalcon - October 4, 2013 8:22 a.m.

    Very nice review Coop, And I'm glad to hear the overall experience seems to deliver. And well- I always kinda disliked the idea of Mega-Evolutions, so I'm not disappointed to hear they are broken so much as I am annoyed, because that's what they felt they would going to be from the start. You didn't mention anything about the story though... Which I guess that in itself is telling, I'm assuming the whole plot is nowhere near worth talking about, eh? XD
  • winner2 - October 4, 2013 8:16 a.m.

    I'm kind if disappointed to hear about the lack of strategy with the megas and the technical issues, but oh well I guess.
  • ObliqueZombie - October 4, 2013 8:13 a.m.

    Third paragraph down, you have "in a in a". Anyway, good review Coop, very fair. When the core concept of a franchise doesn't change too much, it's hard to knock the game for it. But the only real "disappointment" for my is the technical issues. That doesn't sound too fun to experience. Alas, very excited for this game, if only to see every monster ever made in gorgeous 3D character models!
  • GR HollanderCooper - October 4, 2013 8:16 a.m.

    Fiiiiixed! And yeah, re: technical stuff, it's not frequent, but it's so rare to see a Nintendo-published game have ANY hiccups, let along graphical ones like this.

Showing 41-48 of 48 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 12 2013 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Nintendo
Franchise: Pokemon
ESRB Rating:
Everyone

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.