Google+

Pokemon X and Y review

Great
Back to Article

48 comments

  • JarkayColt - October 4, 2013 11:50 a.m.

    Slightly disappointed by this, but great review nonetheless. I mean, it's a good score and I was going to buy this anyway, but I was expecting this to be the best Pokémon released yet. If there are still aspects that haven't been improved sufficiently then it sounds like a missed opportunity. Also I don't like the sound of the framerate drops. Pokémon games, minor glitches aside, have generally ran flawlessly. I wanted to see a game as smooth as Gen III but it would seem to have gone in the opposite direction. And I'm kind of upset that Mega Evolutions only seem to be available for a handful of Pokémon and that they sound slightly broken. It might put me off competitive play a bit. But maybe once I play it myself I'll probably change my mind. Still, I can't believe they didn't release a demo!
  • Cyberninja - October 4, 2013 12:17 p.m.

    I don't know I don't think any pokemon game has gotten more then a four/8 out of 5/10
  • BladedFalcon - October 4, 2013 10:42 p.m.

    Didn't Black a White get a 4.5 out of 5 in this site?
  • Cyberninja - October 4, 2013 11:19 p.m.

    You are right, B/W was the exception to the GR gave every other mainline pokemon game an 4 I just checked
  • BladedFalcon - October 5, 2013 5:38 a.m.

    Yeah, I did have that impression because I had been listening to old talkradar episodes, and in one of them they had mentioned the score. And see, I don't really agree with that one being the pokemon game that gets a higher score, but *shrugs* Then again, it was reviewed by Carolyn Gudmunson, who is most likely the biggest pokemon fan/Nerd that has ever set foot in the Future Publishing building XD And I get the feeling she would have probably given this one a 4.5 as well :P
  • Cyberninja - October 5, 2013 9:55 a.m.

    I miss Carolyn she gave us free rare pokemon, a I can believe she would give this a 4.5 if not a 5.
  • BladedFalcon - October 4, 2013 10:46 p.m.

    If you are disappointed that a game got an 8, Eight being a pretty damn good score. Then you probably either have your expectations set way too high, or a skewed view of what scores mean XD If you want my five cents, I'd suggest that no matter how much you might look forward to a game, always try and set lower expectations, or at least have a "If it gets at least an 8, it means it succeeded!" kind of mentality. Since in my experience, pretty much any game scored even with an 8 is very much worth playing, and sure to please already fans of a series. If the game gets a 9 or a 10, then you can feel even more happy and surprised! ^^
  • JarkayColt - October 5, 2013 9:19 a.m.

    You're absolutely correct. My problem is not with the score, I even said that 4 stars was a good score. I'm disappointed by the fact that the game doesn't seem to innovate as much as everyone was being led to expect. I other words, I acknowledge that it's still going to be a great game, but that there is also a small amount of wasted potential. It's not really overexpectation on my part; I didn't want to hear things like the game having small technical hiccups, brain dead AI and that Megas are unbalanced and aren't available for all FE Pokémon, despite all the hype being thrown behind this idea. I mean, it's not like I was actually expecting the game to get a 5 at all. From what I've read, it's not quite the leap forward people had anticipated, so it's still possible to feel a bit disappointed even if the overall game is good. I'll still play the hell out of this game anyway, and besides, there are still plenty of unknowns regarding X & Y, so maybe they'll make up for it when I play myself.
  • larkan - October 4, 2013 11:26 a.m.

    So grind grind grind button button button pretty much, just in 3D.
  • 8bitBaby - October 4, 2013 11:19 a.m.

    wait... how long have you guys been doing video reviews? neat. this looks like a nice, well rounded and full pokemon game. really excited.
  • shawksta - October 4, 2013 10:37 a.m.

    Great review coop its nice to see Pokemon step it up and I'm excited to get on and collect new Pokemon. The mega's come more into play in the competitive scene and even then, their pretty awesome on a Pokemon. The 12 cant come soon enough
  • Zepaw - October 4, 2013 10:01 a.m.

    Glad to have a reason to care about the series again. I got so bored Black/White 2 is the first in the series I didn't even bother playing. I've got my Pokemon 3ds xl, I'm ready!
  • slimjim441 - October 4, 2013 9:53 a.m.

    Great review. Good to see improvements have been made. Unfortunately, the pokemon series has ALWAYS lacked in reinventiveness. Improvements and new features out the wazoo, but actual reinventing of gameplay mechanics? Never. Maybe one day, we'll see some real evolution in the Pokemon franchise. Still leaves me with one question: are there any notable differences between the versions aside from the version exclusive pokemon/legendaries?
  • Arobadope - October 4, 2013 10:17 a.m.

    Let's be honest...what the hell else could they do? The strategy of the game is set and pretty solid, the flow of it is more or less about as close to perfect you can get, outside of doing a pokemon game on console that plays out something similar to the TV shows/Comics, I really can't imagine what else they could do to the actual portable pokemon games and still keep the same feeling alive.
  • C.King - October 4, 2013 9:26 a.m.

    are there any streetpass features?
  • SpadesSlick - October 4, 2013 8:43 a.m.

    The drawbacks to mega evolutions will be seen in competitive battling where you have to forgo a choice scarf or leftovers for the stone. That is a pretty big drawback in itself.
  • Doctalen - October 4, 2013 9:02 a.m.

    For a venasuar I'd think its worth it to use a mega stone Mega-Venasuar: Sunny Day Synthesis Solarbeam/Sludge bomb Poison powder/ Reflect That sound like a decent set up
  • SpadesSlick - October 4, 2013 9:06 a.m.

    I'm not saying that it won't be worthwhile in competitive battling, as the whole point of mega evolutions are to make old pokemon that are popular competitively viable again. Bu t the inability to use any other item and being limited to only one are drawbacks. You just aren't going to see these when going up against dumbfuck bug catcher in the forest.
  • Arobadope - October 4, 2013 10:18 a.m.

    Personally, I always figured that's what the mega evolutions were for, the competitive scene of pokemon, not just playing through the game.
  • bobob101 - October 4, 2013 7:09 p.m.

    All I can say is that no review would matter to me, I planned to get this game during the announcement back in February. But I have to ask, will you be able to keep doing X and Y weekly continuing onwards. Maybe you should start a week or two after the game is released to talk about all the features.
  • shawksta - October 4, 2013 10:35 a.m.

    Frankly its for balance, it makes it tough to choose if its worth going mega, I wouldn't call it a drawback but basically a trade off one should think about
  • Y2Ken - October 4, 2013 8:35 a.m.

    Nice review Coop. I'm very much looking forward to it, glad to hear it's made a pretty smooth transition. Shame to hear about the frame-rate drops but I've well-established that I have the blessing of an almost blindness to low framerate. So that shouldn't bother me too much.

Showing 21-40 of 48 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 12 2013 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Nintendo
Franchise: Pokemon
ESRB Rating:
Everyone

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.