Google+

Pokemon X and Y review

Great
Back to Article

49 comments

  • midnaazusa - July 4, 2014 12:19 p.m.

    This game was hyped up way too much, in my opinion, because it wasn't that great. I hated having Shauna dragging me all over the place, and I feel like they were so focused on the Mega Evolutions that the Pokemon Company just didn't make many new Pokemon this time. I mean, we got around 70, along with all those Mega Evolutions. To top it all off, I'm not sure if this has been a problem in earlier games with the GTS, but there are some Pokemon I can't trade in the GTS, specifically ones my sister sent me that she got out of her XD and Colosseum games. I can understand that you wouldn't be able to trade event Pokemon (which is still stupid, but I'll ignore that one), but these things were obtained legitimately in a game that allowed trade with other games. Why can't I trade that stupid Zapdos from Pokemon XD? Besides that, I was hoping that I would be able to ride on Gogoat in more than just that one city, and I wasn't expecting it to be a paid service, however cheap. There was also very little in way of post-game.
  • Killerwolf - December 30, 2013 12:59 p.m.

    Personally...this game was a disappointment.... The starts were as ugly as can be and as they evolved they just got worse. Not that looks are everything but still, the game is aimed for young children and yet the starters creeped out my young cousin... I mean I had such low expectations for this game and I still disliked it. The main reason I even bought it was because you could ride on pokemon, then I find out only specific pokemon can be ridden. Not to mention the Mega-evolutions... They pretty much ruined just about all ones they mega-evolved. I would never recommend this game, it was a waste of money...
  • artexplosion - April 25, 2014 4:36 p.m.

    Ah, I see. You're one of those many people who stopped playing after gen II. If it's true, your opinion doesn't really count. As a competitive player, I and many others found this game amazing. I know you probably don't know how the competitive aspect of the game is, but trust me, the mega evolutions didn't ruin anything at all. They and the new fairy type changed everything, and it's always cool to see big changes (the reviewer probably doesn't know anything about the metagame, though). But anyway, you seriously didn't enjoy the game because the starters were ugly and you could only ride specific pokémon? What about the gameplay, the story? The other little things that make you enjoy the game more? If you're going to criticize something, at least do it correctly.properly. Still, I'm enjoying this game as much as I enjoyed the first games, millions of other players are, too.
  • lizbeth-vivi-lara - April 26, 2014 4:35 p.m.

    I have to dessegree, pokemon is not freaky at at it. And when they evolve that makes them stronger but if you think they are ugly just click b and they won't evolve, it's no waste of money they actually rated it 4/5 stars which is a lot better then regular games. It also has really good graphics, but if your talking about the first generation it was a little rusty. Anyway there are a lot of fans that love it like me. I am sorry but in my POV I think it's great
  • donna-wright - October 22, 2013 4:55 p.m.

    question - I have the roller skates and can't use them. Why?
  • erikah-s-walton - November 23, 2013 10:23 a.m.

    you have to equip them first. then you can use your rollerskates by using the D-pad. once you equip them (if you often use your d-pad more than the other buttons below to walk/move around), they'll be stuck on your feet. But you can use the lower pad to get off of your roller-skates and walk/run around. So technically, once you equip them you use them with the D-pad. and if you don't want to use them and you want to walk, use the pad below it.
  • tjd120 - January 20, 2014 5:07 a.m.

    Did you try using the circle pad.
  • shawksta - October 6, 2013 6:42 p.m.

    I just realized you can have various teams with 1 Pokemon from each gen Aw yes
  • codystovall - October 4, 2013 1:29 p.m.

    So spoiler, how many megas are there, not counting duplicates for both x/y versions
  • GR HollanderCooper - October 4, 2013 2:27 p.m.

    There are at le--*dart flies out of nowhere, hits Coop in the neck*
  • BladedFalcon - October 4, 2013 10:41 p.m.

    Man, dem Nintendo hitmen must be paid really well...
  • Cyberninja - October 4, 2013 11:14 p.m.

    or Sophia is just good at what she does.
  • GR_SophiaTong - October 17, 2013 1:18 p.m.

    :D
  • shawksta - October 6, 2013 6:49 p.m.

    It's really hard for them to keep Pokemon on 1 release worldwide Heck, one of the leakers had a Nintendo representative sent to his area's gamestop and he had to give his copy away so his friend who works there doesn't get fired.
  • Frieza - October 6, 2013 12:35 p.m.

    It you look around the Internet, there have been a lot of leaks of the Mega Evolutions. Mild spoiler alert, but I found the mega evolutions leaked to be... Disappointing.
  • shawksta - October 6, 2013 6:44 p.m.

    Eh, no matter what your expectation is, it's never going to happen. So you cant really be disappointed. My only grudge that I really don't mind is that the idea can apply to underrated Pokemon yet we have Garchomp and Lucario getting them instead of Pokemon that use the boost, like delibird, Dunsparce, farfetch etc.
  • JarkayColt - October 4, 2013 11:50 a.m.

    Slightly disappointed by this, but great review nonetheless. I mean, it's a good score and I was going to buy this anyway, but I was expecting this to be the best Pokémon released yet. If there are still aspects that haven't been improved sufficiently then it sounds like a missed opportunity. Also I don't like the sound of the framerate drops. Pokémon games, minor glitches aside, have generally ran flawlessly. I wanted to see a game as smooth as Gen III but it would seem to have gone in the opposite direction. And I'm kind of upset that Mega Evolutions only seem to be available for a handful of Pokémon and that they sound slightly broken. It might put me off competitive play a bit. But maybe once I play it myself I'll probably change my mind. Still, I can't believe they didn't release a demo!
  • Cyberninja - October 4, 2013 12:17 p.m.

    I don't know I don't think any pokemon game has gotten more then a four/8 out of 5/10
  • JarkayColt - October 4, 2013 12:39 p.m.

    Yeah, Pokémon games do tend to score in the 8 or 9 region; I didn't really have a problem with the score this one received, rather the things Coop and other reviewers have been saying about it in regards to slightly wasted potential. In other words, this should have been the game to bring the series closer to that final star, but whatever, it doesn't really matter at the end of the day.
  • Cyberninja - October 4, 2013 1:36 p.m.

    Honestly the score doesn't matter to me pokemon is the series I always have the most fun with so score doesn't matter to me at all since I would probably give it a perfect 10 everytime

Showing 1-20 of 49 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 12 2013 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Nintendo
Franchise: Pokemon
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief, Mild Cartoon Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.