Google+

Pokemon Conquest review

Back to Article

58 comments

  • FierceDeity - June 19, 2012 5:47 p.m.

    oh articuno, how I've missed you
  • tehtimeisnow - June 19, 2012 4:27 p.m.

    ha ah i new this stuped game would b bad pokaman is a horrable games and nitedno needs to stop makeing garbege like this and give up and admet that iphone beat them theirs no way to compete nitedno is a faleure of a company
  • christian-shaffer - June 19, 2012 4:47 p.m.

    You really need to take some basic english courses. Your spelling, grammar, and punctuation is atrocious.
  • BladedFalcon - June 19, 2012 4:50 p.m.

    You're wasting your breath, he's a painfully obvious troll.
  • Dadyo238 - June 19, 2012 8:39 p.m.

    You're onto something, but he should probably go to kindergarten first, though.
  • TheNumberT - June 19, 2012 5:20 p.m.

    Terrible Troll and a Terriable Speliar.
  • Tjwoods18 - June 19, 2012 7:36 p.m.

    Oh my god! You sire are the epidome of horrible. Seems like I am looking at a two year olds words.
  • garnsr - June 19, 2012 3:43 p.m.

    Do you still get to worry about giving your people rice, and make strategic marriages? I haven't played Nobunaga since the first one on NES, I wonder if it ever got any easier to deal with?
  • CrashmanX - June 20, 2012 12:28 a.m.

    Luckily no. It's not THAT complicated this time around. I've been just thinking of it more as Pokemon + Fire Emblem. It's really not TOO complex. I mean some rules are kinda over the top (Beat within 4 turns OR using the opposite type [super effective move] to defeat them OR not letting your allies get damaged to capture the other person), though it's pretty simple usually. I've clocked about 2 hours into the game so far so I can't say much but it's really fun and addictive.
  • ihopethisisnotantistasblood - June 19, 2012 3:26 p.m.

    unfortunately for me, i will have to wait around two weeks to get it
  • BladedFalcon - June 19, 2012 3:12 p.m.

    Awesome to see this game deliver! And quite honestly? it's the main reason I got a 3DS already instead of waiting a little longer. I love me some good Turn based Strategy games, and really, Pokemon actually works as a series that adds to the genre rather than take from it. Also, I'm a tad disappointed on how short this review was, since it doesn't go into detail about either story, or collecting stuff, which is something this actually does pretty well, by both encouraging you to collect not only all of the 150+ pokemon in the game, but ALL of the human characters that are attuned to each specific pokemon. I thought that was a cool feature and it's a bit weird to not see it mentioned.
  • RonnyLive19881 - June 19, 2012 7:42 p.m.

    I just hope it can hold its own against FF Tactics, Jeanne D'Ark and Metal Gear Acid!
  • BladedFalcon - June 19, 2012 8:45 p.m.

    Well, I don't expect it to be better than FF Tactics in terms of story, and perhaps it won't have the dept of the job system. However, I'm pretty sure this game has a chance to have a depth and addictiveness of it's own that FFT couldn't have. I liked Jeanne D'Ark a lot, but for me, the graphics alone of this game makes me like it so much better. To me, 2D sprites > 3D Polygons every single time, specially so if your game is in a 2d plane anyway. And to be honest? I never got into either of the Ac!d games, I can see the appeal, but to me the weird mix between turn base, cards and combat never really meshed enough to keep me hooked till the end.
  • RonnyLive19881 - June 19, 2012 9 p.m.

    I felt the same towards Valkyria Chronicles, I didn't like how you moved around freely and took aim. Plus I couldn't stand how they told the story. I do feel I didn't get it a fair try though, since the games are so affordable now I think I may give them a second chance sometime before the Wii U's launch.
  • BladedFalcon - June 19, 2012 9:36 p.m.

    You probably should, as should i as well, since I got the game gifted to me since last year, but haven't gotten time to touch it at all >>;
  • IceBlueKirby - June 19, 2012 2:56 p.m.

    I've started playing Pokemon Black and a bit of Rumble Blast, so I'm in the mood for more Pokemon, and this ought to fit the bill. I've played plenty of SRPGs but not really many straightforward strategy games, so getting used to this will probably be a challenge, but one that I don't think I'll mind spending a while to overcome.
  • onetimebuster - June 19, 2012 2:49 p.m.

    Well at least it works on the 3ds.
  • shawksta - June 19, 2012 2:46 p.m.

    Great Review, Pokemon was normally Deep to begin with, nice to see it transferring to Nobunaga awesomely, definitly gonna try it out. ”Despite cute characters, embraces deep aspects of the genre” Implying Pokemon already wasnt and Pikmin said hi, but I know you had to say it :P

Showing 41-58 of 58 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 18 2012 - DS (US)
Available Platforms: DS
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Koei
Franchise: Pokemon
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.